Turning off space dust

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

FlyingDeath
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless

Turning off space dust

Post by FlyingDeath »

Im sure this question has been asked countless times, but there's like a zillion threads to look through so...

How do I turn off the space dust? I think it's not really needed, all that matters in space is your speed with respect to other things(though oospace works a little differently I know) and it's just way more atmospheric without space dust. As a side issue there should be a thread search bar(if it already exits, sorry, guess im a noob, please tell me where it is.)

And I would like to add on an unrealated note that using the soma fm drone zone radio whilst playing oolite is way cool(obviously turn off ingame music if you try this.)
JazHaz
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Post by JazHaz »

Don't think you can. Space dust is useful as you can see how fast you are moving.
JazHaz

Gimi wrote:
drew wrote:
£4,500 though! :shock: <Faints>
Cheers,
Drew.
Maybe you could start a Kickstarter Campaign to found your £4500 pledge. 8)
Thanks to Gimi, I got an eBook in my inbox tonight (31st May 2014 - Release of Elite Reclamation)!
FlyingDeath
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless

Post by FlyingDeath »

Oh well. I know space dust is a good indicator of speed, which is why i dont't want it. I prefer the feeling of disorientation that not knowing your speed gives. Also no space dust would make distant action clearer and more exieting to watch.

If there really is no way to turn off space dust with an oxp or something, then maybe the option could be added in future releases?
Kaks
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Post by Kaks »

If I remember to, I'll see if there's an easy way to enable space dust transparency settings! Wouldn't hold my breath though.. RL seems to stand for RelentLess atm...
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)
Diziet Sma