[Release] Coluber HUD No. 1
Moderators: winston, another_commander
- Captain Beatnik
- Deadly
- Posts: 154
- Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:15 pm
- Location: Eastern Bavaria (Average Agricultural Confederacy)
[Release] Coluber HUD No. 1
Coluber works and shipyards proudly presents the new Coluber HUD No.1. The Coluber HUD No.1 is a fully featured HUD with individual scales for each gauge and additional control lights for important equipment.
This HUD has individual crosshairs with long guidelines. Up to 6 MFD´s are avaliable. On red alert, the gauges for shields, energy, weapontemperature, the control lights for injectors, E.C.M. and escapepod and the weapon display are grouped around the crosshairs.
Download link: https://app.box.com/s/q9chv7w2q85wzdwmko77
If you find any bugs, please report them.
Best regards
C.B.
I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by. (Douglas Adams, 1952 - 2001)
You have to try the impossible to achieve the possible. (Emil Sinclair, 1877 - 1962)
You have to try the impossible to achieve the possible. (Emil Sinclair, 1877 - 1962)
- Diziet Sma
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 6312
- Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
- Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"
Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1
Wow.. VERY impressive.. might even draw me away from the NumericHUD.
One suggestion, if you haven't already done so.. please make it compatible with the HUD Selector.. it's only a handful of lines of code, and doesn't affect the normal HUD operation if someone doesn't have HUD Selector installed.
One suggestion, if you haven't already done so.. please make it compatible with the HUD Selector.. it's only a handful of lines of code, and doesn't affect the normal HUD operation if someone doesn't have HUD Selector installed.
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied
- Smivs
- Retired Assassin
- Posts: 8408
- Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
- Location: Lost in space
- Contact:
Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1
Nice HUD. Complex but clear and not fussy.
Just one minor point <pedantic nerd mode> but you have calibrated the temperature gauges in Kelvins, and Kelvins don't have a 'degree' symbol. Zero degrees Celcius are 273 kelvins, not 273 degrees Kelvin.
Just one minor point <pedantic nerd mode> but you have calibrated the temperature gauges in Kelvins, and Kelvins don't have a 'degree' symbol. Zero degrees Celcius are 273 kelvins, not 273 degrees Kelvin.
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.
Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1
[mode="even more pedantic physicist"]273.15K=0 degrees C, to be even more of a pedantic science nerd.
But it is indeed an absolute scale, not a degree one so has no degree symbol in it as Smivs rightly says.[/mode]
But it is indeed an absolute scale, not a degree one so has no degree symbol in it as Smivs rightly says.[/mode]
My OXPs via Boxspace or from my Wiki pages .
Thargoid TV
Dropbox Referral Link
Thargoid TV
Dropbox Referral Link
Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1
DAT crosshair. Love it!
- Redspear
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2685
- Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:22 pm
- Location: On the moon Thought, orbiting the planet Ignorance.
Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1
That is a nice looking HUD...
Does the crosshair always extend to the screen edges?
Does the crosshair always extend to the screen edges?
- Captain Beatnik
- Deadly
- Posts: 154
- Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:15 pm
- Location: Eastern Bavaria (Average Agricultural Confederacy)
Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1
Ooops... I will delete the degree-symbol in the next version.Thargoid wrote:[mode="even more pedantic physicist"]273.15K=0 degrees C, to be even more of a pedantic science nerd.
But it is indeed an absolute scale, not a degree one so has no degree symbol in it as Smivs rightly says.[/mode]
That´s a good suggestion, I will try to implement compability in the next version. But I have no experience with JS-coding, so I might need some help with that. I have read the Hud-Selector requires to rename the hud.plist. If I do so, how does the HUD work if someone doesn't have HUD Selector installed?Diziet Sma wrote:One suggestion, if you haven't already done so.. please make it compatible with the HUD Selector.. it's only a handful of lines of code, and doesn't affect the normal HUD operation if someone doesn't have HUD Selector installed.
Yes, this is intended. If you want shorter guidelines, the length can easily be adjusted. You only have to change four values in the "Guidelines" section of each crosshair. E.g. ChangingRedspear wrote:Does the crosshair always extend to the screen edges?
Code: Select all
//Guidelines
(0.30, 0.000, 9.000, 0.30, 0.000, 1.300),
(0.30, 0.000, -5.000, 0.30, 0.000, -0.100),
(0.30, 13.200, 0.000, 0.30, 0.100, 0.000),
(0.30, -13.200, 0.000, 0.30, -0.100, 0.000),
Code: Select all
//Guidelines
(0.30, 0.000, 1.800, 0.30 0.000, 1.300),
(0.30, 0.000, -1.800, 0.30, 0.000, -0.100),
(0.30, 1.800, 0.000, 0.30, 0.100, 0.000),
(0.30, -1.800, 0.000, 0.30, -0.100, 0.000),
I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by. (Douglas Adams, 1952 - 2001)
You have to try the impossible to achieve the possible. (Emil Sinclair, 1877 - 1962)
You have to try the impossible to achieve the possible. (Emil Sinclair, 1877 - 1962)
- Norby
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2577
- Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
- Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
- Contact:
Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1
Following the descriptions in the wiki (right below the screenshots) you put a worldscript into your package which will set the hud at startup if HUDSelector is not installed.Captain Beatnik wrote:how does the HUD work if someone doesn't have HUD Selector installed?
Rename your hud.plist to coluberhud.plist and make a script.js file in your Config folder with this content:
Code: Select all
this.name = "coluberhud";
this.startUp = function () {
player.ship.hud = this.name + ".plist";
var h = worldScripts.hudselector;
if( h ) h.$HUDSelectorAddHUD("Coluber HUD", this.name);
}
I do not see any bugs in your code but I have suggestions:
- your console and comms show very few information, wider ones would be better,
- the identifier in manifest.plist should not contain the version number (cause problems later),
- if you plan to make some widescreen support then you can align the MFDs to the sides using x_origin=1 and -1.
Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1
PPP, like!
- Captain Beatnik
- Deadly
- Posts: 154
- Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:15 pm
- Location: Eastern Bavaria (Average Agricultural Confederacy)
Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1
Thanks for the code Norby, it works perfect! I made the console and comms a bit wider and have aligned the MFDs to the sides using x_origin=1 and -1 as you have suggested. Works fine! The "1" in the identifier is not the version number but part of the HUDs name so it will not change in later versions.Norby wrote:Rename your hud.plist to coluberhud.plist and make a script.js file in your Config folder with this content:Test with and without HUDSelector. Done!Code: Select all
this.name = "coluberhud"; this.startUp = function () { player.ship.hud = this.name + ".plist"; var h = worldScripts.hudselector; if( h ) h.$HUDSelectorAddHUD("Coluber HUD", this.name); }
I do not see any bugs in your code but I have suggestions:
- your console and comms show very few information, wider ones would be better,
- the identifier in manifest.plist should not contain the version number (cause problems later),
- if you plan to make some widescreen support then you can align the MFDs to the sides using x_origin=1 and -1.
Thanks to Diziet Smas All-in-One Guide to OXZ Packaging and Distribution and with help from Maik I also managed it to set up a wiki page and make the HUD downloadable via the OXP-manager.
I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by. (Douglas Adams, 1952 - 2001)
You have to try the impossible to achieve the possible. (Emil Sinclair, 1877 - 1962)
You have to try the impossible to achieve the possible. (Emil Sinclair, 1877 - 1962)
- ffutures
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2172
- Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:34 pm
- Location: London, UK
- Contact:
Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1
How do I change the scanner to non-linear? I took a look at the OXZ file, but I'm seeing gibberish.
Would it be possible to add in something to the game that would let users configure stuff like this from the F4 menu while docked?
Would it be possible to add in something to the game that would let users configure stuff like this from the F4 menu while docked?
- Norby
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2577
- Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
- Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
- Contact:
Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1
Put the followings into the coluber_hud_ch01.plist, either right after the first { or just before the last } but not within any other brackets:ffutures wrote:How do I change the scanner to non-linear?
Code: Select all
scanner_non_linear = yes;
scanner_ultra_zoom = yes; //if you want 16x zoom also
- ffutures
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2172
- Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:34 pm
- Location: London, UK
- Contact:
Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1
Can't find coluber_hud_ch01.plist at all. I'm assuming it should be in oolite/00lite.ap/resources/config but it isn't showing up on a search anywhere else either.
- Norby
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2577
- Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
- Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
- Contact:
Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1
Find within the .oxz: if you downloaded from the box url in the first post then Coluber_HUD_No.1_v1.0.0.oxz, if you downloaded within the game then oolite.oxp.captain_beatnik.coluber_hud_ch01.oxz. Unzip, edit, zip, rename to oxz, put into the AddOns. If you know Total Commander or Midnight Commander then you can edit files within an oxz (enter to step into then F4).