Multi Planet systems, moons and prettier backgrounds.
Moderators: winston, another_commander
-
- Dangerous
- Posts: 117
- Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 4:49 am
- Location: Woking - UK
- Contact:
Multi Planet systems, moons and prettier backgrounds.
Hiya, im an Elite Vet and just discovered this game in the past week literally!
Thanks for all the hard work its brill.
Now i like the later Elite games (not the planet docking or real space physics forget those) But i like the idea of moons around planets and systems with up to two or three planets wit the occational moon around them, maybe even rings.
Perhaps this may not suit Oolite but it may be cool for an ex-pack. Whatcha think.
Also a few extra stars and more colourful backgrounds woulnt go amiss.
Keep up the cool work.
Thanks for all the hard work its brill.
Now i like the later Elite games (not the planet docking or real space physics forget those) But i like the idea of moons around planets and systems with up to two or three planets wit the occational moon around them, maybe even rings.
Perhaps this may not suit Oolite but it may be cool for an ex-pack. Whatcha think.
Also a few extra stars and more colourful backgrounds woulnt go amiss.
Keep up the cool work.
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6682
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
It is already possible to add extra planets and moons in a system. Assassins is an example of an OXP that has this feature and there are also others around.
As for the more stars thing, your wish is already (partially) fulfilled. You can set the number of stars that will appear in interstellar space, but not in normal space. To do this, create an OXP folder in Addons containing a Config subfolder, e.g. AddOns\MyTooManyStarsInWitchspace.oxp\Config, copy the following and paste it into a file named planetinfo.plist, then put planetinfo.plist in the folder you created:
The sky_n_stars line is the one of interest. Adjust the 480 number to whatever you want, but be aware that the more stars you add, the more strain you put on the system, so you may experience framerate drop if you go too far. Test by executing a forced misjump (start hyperspace countdown, just before it reaches zero go to full pitch up). Maximum stars number that the game will see is 4800.
Oh, and remember, after each time you change the stars number, when you restart the game, hold down the Shift key to have Oolite regenerate the cache, or you may not notice any difference.
Edit: Modified path to use a Config subfolder.
As for the more stars thing, your wish is already (partially) fulfilled. You can set the number of stars that will appear in interstellar space, but not in normal space. To do this, create an OXP folder in Addons containing a Config subfolder, e.g. AddOns\MyTooManyStarsInWitchspace.oxp\Config, copy the following and paste it into a file named planetinfo.plist, then put planetinfo.plist in the folder you created:
Code: Select all
{
"interstellar space" =
{
sky_color_1 = (0, 1, 0.5);
sky_color_2 = (0, 1, 0);
sky_n_stars = 480;
sky_n_blobs = 128;
};
}
Oh, and remember, after each time you change the stars number, when you restart the game, hold down the Shift key to have Oolite regenerate the cache, or you may not notice any difference.
Edit: Modified path to use a Config subfolder.
Last edited by another_commander on Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Dangerous
- Posts: 117
- Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 4:49 am
- Location: Woking - UK
- Contact:
- JensAyton
- Grand Admiral Emeritus
- Posts: 6657
- Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Contact:
Er, wanna bet? :-) sky_n_stars works for normal systems too. planetinfo.plist keys for normal systems take the form "<galaxynumber> <systemnumber>", so to remove all stars in Lave you’d do:another_commander wrote:As for the more stars thing, your wish is already (partially) fulfilled. You can set the number of stars that will appear in interstellar space, but not in normal space.
Code: Select all
{
"0 7" = { sky_n_stars = 0; };
}
These are currently disabled.RustiSwordz wrote:Are there new planet textures, i read somewhere if you pause then press something the textures are changed?
E-mail: [email protected]
- Commander McLane
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 9520
- Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
- Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
- Contact:
Remember, though, that according to some testing I did and some conversation we had about it some time ago, sky_n_stars and sky_n_blurs interfere with each other in some weird, buggy way, producing unwanted results. As far a I recall, this hasn't been fixed yet.Ahruman wrote:Er, wanna bet? sky_n_stars works for normal systems too. planetinfo.plist keys for normal systems take the form "<galaxynumber> <systemnumber>", so to remove all stars in Lave you’d do:another_commander wrote:As for the more stars thing, your wish is already (partially) fulfilled. You can set the number of stars that will appear in interstellar space, but not in normal space.I believe this will work in 1.65 – although the "interstellar space" key will not.Code: Select all
{ "0 7" = { sky_n_stars = 0; }; }
- JensAyton
- Grand Admiral Emeritus
- Posts: 6657
- Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Contact:
Really? I have no memory of that. Possibly I said “meh, I’ll not make that mistake in the new sky implementation.” The one that’s not being used because it has bugs I can’t remember. I should do something about this memory stuff. :-)
E-mail: [email protected]
- Lestradae
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 3095
- Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:30 pm
- Location: Vienna, Austria
Memory stuff
I heard too much Benulobiweed can do that to you * sneaks away *I should do something about this memory stuff.
- Commander McLane
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 9520
- Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
- Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
- Contact:
About what...?Ahruman wrote:Really? I have no memory of that. Possibly I said “meh, I’ll not make that mistake in the new sky implementation.” The one that’s not being used because it has bugs I can’t remember. I should do something about this memory stuff.
Anyway, it's here. Just for refreshing your memory. And it ended with you saying that you are going to re-write the whole sky-stuff anyway.
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6682
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
I think I know what the buggy way they interfere with each other is. From SkyEntity.m, line 304 approx.:
The line n_blobs = MIN(SKY_MAX_BLOBS, n_stars);, should be
n_blobs = MIN(SKY_MAX_BLOBS, n_blobs);, right?
Code: Select all
// Load star count
n_stars = [systemInfo floatForKey:@"sky_n_stars" defaultValue:-1];
if (0 <= n_stars)
{
n_stars = MIN(SKY_MAX_STARS, n_stars);
}
else
{
n_stars = SKY_MAX_STARS * 0.5 * randf() * randf();
}
// ...and sky count. (Note: simplifying this would change the appearance of stars/blobs.)
n_blobs = [systemInfo floatForKey:@"sky_n_blurs" defaultValue:-1];
if (0 <= n_blobs)
{
n_blobs = MIN(SKY_MAX_BLOBS, n_stars);
}
else
{
n_blobs = SKY_MAX_BLOBS * 0.5 * randf() * randf();
}
n_blobs = MIN(SKY_MAX_BLOBS, n_blobs);, right?
- Captain Hesperus
- Grand High Clock-Tower Poobah
- Posts: 2310
- Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 1:10 pm
- Location: Anywhere I can sell Trumbles.....
What, for Oolite's or yours?Ahruman wrote:I should do something about this memory stuff.
Captain Hesperus
The truth, revealed!!
- Lestradae
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 3095
- Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:30 pm
- Location: Vienna, Austria
@RustiSwordz: Kindly have a look here
https://bb.oolite.space/viewtopic.ph ... ar+systems
Can you script this legacy thingy or better even, with Java Script? Then PM me ...
L
Can you script this legacy thingy or better even, with Java Script? Then PM me ...
L
- JensAyton
- Grand Admiral Emeritus
- Posts: 6657
- Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Contact:
D’oh. Imagine how many bugs I’d find if I looked for them in the obvious place…another_commander wrote:I think I know what the buggy way they interfere with each other is.
...
The line n_blobs = MIN(SKY_MAX_BLOBS, n_stars);, should be
n_blobs = MIN(SKY_MAX_BLOBS, n_blobs);, right?
Yes.Captain Hesperus wrote:What, for Oolite's or yours? ;)Ahruman wrote:I should do something about this memory stuff. :-)
E-mail: [email protected]