Join us at the Oolite Anniversary Party -- London, 7th July 2024, 1pm
More details in this thread.

Multi Planet systems, moons and prettier backgrounds.

An area for discussing new ideas and additions to Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

RustiSwordz
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 4:49 am
Location: Woking - UK
Contact:

Multi Planet systems, moons and prettier backgrounds.

Post by RustiSwordz »

Hiya, im an Elite Vet and just discovered this game in the past week literally!

Thanks for all the hard work its brill.

Now i like the later Elite games (not the planet docking or real space physics forget those) But i like the idea of moons around planets and systems with up to two or three planets wit the occational moon around them, maybe even rings.

Perhaps this may not suit Oolite but it may be cool for an ex-pack. Whatcha think.

Also a few extra stars and more colourful backgrounds woulnt go amiss. :)

Keep up the cool work.
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 6580
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander »

It is already possible to add extra planets and moons in a system. Assassins is an example of an OXP that has this feature and there are also others around.

As for the more stars thing, your wish is already (partially) fulfilled. You can set the number of stars that will appear in interstellar space, but not in normal space. To do this, create an OXP folder in Addons containing a Config subfolder, e.g. AddOns\MyTooManyStarsInWitchspace.oxp\Config, copy the following and paste it into a file named planetinfo.plist, then put planetinfo.plist in the folder you created:

Code: Select all

{
	"interstellar space" =
	{
		sky_color_1 = (0, 1, 0.5);
		sky_color_2 = (0, 1, 0);
		sky_n_stars = 480;
		sky_n_blobs = 128;
	};
}
The sky_n_stars line is the one of interest. Adjust the 480 number to whatever you want, but be aware that the more stars you add, the more strain you put on the system, so you may experience framerate drop if you go too far. Test by executing a forced misjump (start hyperspace countdown, just before it reaches zero go to full pitch up). Maximum stars number that the game will see is 4800.

Oh, and remember, after each time you change the stars number, when you restart the game, hold down the Shift key to have Oolite regenerate the cache, or you may not notice any difference.

Edit: Modified path to use a Config subfolder.
Last edited by another_commander on Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
RustiSwordz
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 4:49 am
Location: Woking - UK
Contact:

Post by RustiSwordz »

Are there new planet textures, i read somewhere if you pause then press something the textures are changed?
User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

another_commander wrote:
As for the more stars thing, your wish is already (partially) fulfilled. You can set the number of stars that will appear in interstellar space, but not in normal space.
Er, wanna bet? :-) sky_n_stars works for normal systems too. planetinfo.plist keys for normal systems take the form "<galaxynumber> <systemnumber>", so to remove all stars in Lave you’d do:

Code: Select all

{
	"0 7" = { sky_n_stars = 0; };
}
I believe this will work in 1.65 – although the "interstellar space" key will not.
RustiSwordz wrote:
Are there new planet textures, i read somewhere if you pause then press something the textures are changed?
These are currently disabled.
User avatar
Lestradae
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 3095
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:30 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

:)

Post by Lestradae »

These are currently disabled.
:twisted: Told you so :twisted:

*sneaks away*
User avatar
Commander McLane
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 9520
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Contact:

Post by Commander McLane »

Ahruman wrote:
another_commander wrote:
As for the more stars thing, your wish is already (partially) fulfilled. You can set the number of stars that will appear in interstellar space, but not in normal space.
Er, wanna bet? :-) sky_n_stars works for normal systems too. planetinfo.plist keys for normal systems take the form "<galaxynumber> <systemnumber>", so to remove all stars in Lave you’d do:

Code: Select all

{
	"0 7" = { sky_n_stars = 0; };
}
I believe this will work in 1.65 – although the "interstellar space" key will not.
Remember, though, that according to some testing I did and some conversation we had about it some time ago, sky_n_stars and sky_n_blurs interfere with each other in some weird, buggy way, producing unwanted results. As far a I recall, this hasn't been fixed yet.
User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

Really? I have no memory of that. Possibly I said “meh, I’ll not make that mistake in the new sky implementation.” The one that’s not being used because it has bugs I can’t remember. I should do something about this memory stuff. :-)
User avatar
Lestradae
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 3095
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:30 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

Memory stuff

Post by Lestradae »

I should do something about this memory stuff.
I heard too much Benulobiweed can do that to you :twisted: * sneaks away * :lol:
User avatar
Commander McLane
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 9520
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Contact:

Post by Commander McLane »

Ahruman wrote:
Really? I have no memory of that. Possibly I said “meh, I’ll not make that mistake in the new sky implementation.” The one that’s not being used because it has bugs I can’t remember. I should do something about this memory stuff. :-)
About what...?

Anyway, it's here. Just for refreshing your memory. And it ended with you saying that you are going to re-write the whole sky-stuff anyway.
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 6580
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander »

I think I know what the buggy way they interfere with each other is. From SkyEntity.m, line 304 approx.:

Code: Select all

// Load star count
	n_stars = [systemInfo floatForKey:@"sky_n_stars" defaultValue:-1];
	if (0 <= n_stars)
	{
		n_stars = MIN(SKY_MAX_STARS, n_stars);
	}
	else
	{
		n_stars = SKY_MAX_STARS * 0.5 * randf() * randf();
	}
	
	// ...and sky count. (Note: simplifying this would change the appearance of stars/blobs.)
	n_blobs = [systemInfo floatForKey:@"sky_n_blurs" defaultValue:-1];
	if (0 <= n_blobs)
	{
		n_blobs = MIN(SKY_MAX_BLOBS, n_stars);
	}
	else
	{
		n_blobs = SKY_MAX_BLOBS * 0.5 * randf() * randf();
	}
The line n_blobs = MIN(SKY_MAX_BLOBS, n_stars);, should be
n_blobs = MIN(SKY_MAX_BLOBS, n_blobs);, right?
User avatar
Kaks
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 3009
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Big Smoke

Post by Kaks »

Doh! Yep, it looks like a 'mistooked' cut'n'paste...
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)
User avatar
Captain Hesperus
Grand High Clock-Tower Poobah
Grand High Clock-Tower Poobah
Posts: 2310
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 1:10 pm
Location: Anywhere I can sell Trumbles.....

Post by Captain Hesperus »

Ahruman wrote:
I should do something about this memory stuff. :-)
What, for Oolite's or yours? ;)

Captain Hesperus
The truth, revealed!!
Image
User avatar
Lestradae
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 3095
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:30 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

@RustiSwordz: Kindly have a look here

Post by Lestradae »

https://bb.oolite.space/viewtopic.ph ... ar+systems

Can you script this legacy thingy or better even, with Java Script? Then PM me ...

8)

L
User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

another_commander wrote:
I think I know what the buggy way they interfere with each other is.
...
The line n_blobs = MIN(SKY_MAX_BLOBS, n_stars);, should be
n_blobs = MIN(SKY_MAX_BLOBS, n_blobs);, right?
D’oh. Imagine how many bugs I’d find if I looked for them in the obvious place…
Captain Hesperus wrote:
Ahruman wrote:
I should do something about this memory stuff. :-)
What, for Oolite's or yours? ;)
Yes.
User avatar
TGHC
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2157
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 4:16 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK

Post by TGHC »

half past three!
The Grey Haired Commander has spoken!
OK so I'm a PC user - "you know whats scary? Out of billions of sperm I was the fastest"
Post Reply