Installer based on svn rev 457 now available

News and discussion of the PC port of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

milinks
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 9:19 pm

Post by milinks »

In relation to displaying the planet, i take it this is from the descriptions.plist

Code: Select all

	<!-- background scenes for GUI screens -->
	<key>gui-scene-show-planet</key>
	<string>target-planet	120 80 640</string>
I have built from the latest svn but the planet doesnt show up, is there something more specific that is required to display the planet? Would be cool to see.
User avatar
aegidian
Master and Commander
Master and Commander
Posts: 1161
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 10:46 pm
Location: London UK
Contact:

Post by aegidian »

milinks wrote:
In relation to displaying the planet, i take it this is from the descriptions.plist

Code: Select all

	<!-- background scenes for GUI screens -->
	<key>gui-scene-show-planet</key>
	<string>target-planet	120 80 640</string>
I have built from the latest svn but the planet doesnt show up, is there something more specific that is required to display the planet? Would be cool to see.
If you have the latest SVN then the planet should show up on the f7 screen but only when you are docked.
"The planet Rear is scourged by well-intentioned OXZs."

Oolite models and gear? click here!
milinks
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 9:19 pm

Post by milinks »

Scratching my head now.... got the latest SVN 462, built fine, game runs fine, but no planet picture. There is no mention of it at all in the stderr.txt, any ideas please?
User avatar
aegidian
Master and Commander
Master and Commander
Posts: 1161
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 10:46 pm
Location: London UK
Contact:

Post by aegidian »

I suspect there may be a coordinate problem between the OS X version and the SDL version. Has anyone with the SDL version got this working?

Could you try

Code: Select all

   <!-- background scenes for GUI screens --> 
   <key>gui-scene-show-planet</key> 
   <string>target-planet   120 80 -640</string>
and see if that makes a difference?
"The planet Rear is scourged by well-intentioned OXZs."

Oolite models and gear? click here!
dajt
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 7:05 am
Location: Orange, NSW, Australia

Post by dajt »

I have the planet showing fine, using the code:

Code: Select all

   <key>gui-scene-show-planet</key>
   <array>
      <dict>
         <key>conditions</key>
         <array>
            <string>status_string equal STATUS_DOCKED</string>
         </array>
         <key>do</key>
         <array>
         	<string>local-planet   125 125 560</string>
         </array>
      </dict>
   </array>
I just took those numbers from the code you posted to show the ship in the status page. See the screenshots on Oolite-PC.
Regards,
David Taylor.
milinks
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 9:19 pm

Post by milinks »

Hi Giles, i have tried the alteration with no joy, sorry. The stderr.txt, if it is of any help is,

Code: Select all

2006-04-15 21:00:05.000 oolite.exe[1032] initialising SDL
2006-04-15 21:00:06.000 oolite.exe[1032] init: numSticks=0
2006-04-15 21:00:06.000 oolite.exe[1032] CREATING MODE LIST
2006-04-15 21:00:06.000 oolite.exe[1032] Unknown architecture, defaulting to 1024x768
2006-04-15 21:00:06.000 oolite.exe[1032] Added res 800 x 600
2006-04-15 21:00:06.000 oolite.exe[1032] Added res 640 x 480
2006-04-15 21:00:06.000 oolite.exe[1032] Added res 512 x 384
2006-04-15 21:00:06.000 oolite.exe[1032] Added res 400 x 300
2006-04-15 21:00:06.000 oolite.exe[1032] Added res 320 x 240
2006-04-15 21:00:07.000 oolite.exe[1032] drawRect calling initialiseGLWithSize
2006-04-15 21:00:07.000 oolite.exe[1032] Creating a new surface of 1024 x 768
2006-04-15 21:00:07.000 oolite.exe[1032] no universe, clearning surface
2006-04-15 21:00:08.000 oolite.exe[1032] ---> searching paths:
(oolite.app/Contents/Resources, AddOns,)
2006-04-15 21:00:08.000 oolite.exe[1032] DEBUG ** no cache exists - yet **
2006-04-15 21:00:09.000 oolite.exe[1032] Vertex Array Range optimisation - not supported
2006-04-15 21:00:09.000 oolite.exe[1032] DEBUG creating octree cache......
2006-04-15 21:00:14.000 oolite.exe[1032] set docking port for <StationEntity Coriolis Station 0 (coriolis station) (rotating)> to 
<ShipEntity Docking Slit 0 (docking-slit)  BEHAVIOUR_IDLE on target 0 // (nil)> dimensions ( 192.00, 64.00, 250.00)
2006-04-15 21:00:14.000 oolite.exe[1032] Populating a system with economy 5, and government 3
2006-04-15 21:00:14.000 oolite.exe[1032] ... adding 3 trading vessels
2006-04-15 21:00:14.000 oolite.exe[1032] ... adding 0 sun skimming vessels
2006-04-15 21:00:14.000 oolite.exe[1032] ... adding 3 pirate vessels
2006-04-15 21:00:14.000 oolite.exe[1032] ... adding 0 sun skim pirates
2006-04-15 21:00:14.000 oolite.exe[1032] ... adding 1 law/bounty-hunter vessels
2006-04-15 21:00:14.000 oolite.exe[1032] ... adding 0 sun skim law/bounty hunter vessels
2006-04-15 21:00:14.000 oolite.exe[1032] ... adding 0 Thargoid warships
2006-04-15 21:00:14.000 oolite.exe[1032] ... adding 4 asteroid clusters
2006-04-15 21:00:14.000 oolite.exe[1032] ... for a total of 11 ships
2006-04-15 21:00:16.000 oolite.exe[1032] OPENGL_DEBUG GL_ERROR (1280) 'invalid enumerant' in: Universe before doing anything
2006-04-15 21:00:19.000 oolite.exe[1032] set docking port for <StationEntity Coriolis Station 0 (coriolis station) (rotating)> to 
<ShipEntity Docking Slit 0 (docking-slit)  BEHAVIOUR_IDLE on target 0 // (nil)> dimensions ( 192.00, 64.00, 250.00)
2006-04-15 21:00:20.000 oolite.exe[1032] SCRIPT debug messages ON
2006-04-15 21:00:20.000 oolite.exe[1032] SCRIPT debug messages OFF
2006-04-15 21:00:22.000 oolite.exe[1032] 

***** Encountered localException during initialisation in [Universe update:] : NSInvalidArgumentException : GSCSubString(instance) does not recognize count *****

2006-04-15 21:00:22.000 oolite.exe[1032] *** NSTimer ignoring exception 'NSInvalidArgumentException' (reason 'GSCSubString(instance) does not recognize count') raised during posting of timer with target 0x6043988 and selector 'pollControls:'
2006-04-15 21:00:23.000 oolite.exe[1032] SCRIPT debug messages ON
2006-04-15 21:00:23.000 oolite.exe[1032] SCRIPT debug messages OFF
2006-04-15 21:00:26.000 oolite.exe[1032] Found mode {Height = 768; RefreshRate = 0; Width = 1024; }
milinks
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 9:19 pm

Post by milinks »

Apologies, i had the code read target-planet, not local planet, which, when swapped gives me the rotating planet. many thanks Giles and Dajt. :oops:
User avatar
aegidian
Master and Commander
Master and Commander
Posts: 1161
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 10:46 pm
Location: London UK
Contact:

Post by aegidian »

target-planet should give you the planet that's the hyperspace target, local-planet only shows the planet outside the station.
"The planet Rear is scourged by well-intentioned OXZs."

Oolite models and gear? click here!
Post Reply