Join us at the Oolite Anniversary Party -- London, 7th July 2024, 1pm
More details in this thread.

Flasher setting causing a CTD on windows (solved)

For test results, bug reports, announcements of new builds etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander, Getafix

Post Reply
User avatar
Frame
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1477
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Witchspace

Flasher setting causing a CTD on windows (solved)

Post by Frame »

I tried to use a colors array for flashers like this on 1.75.3

Code: Select all

{
				type = flasher;
				size = 30;
				colors = ("1,1,1,1","1,1,1,1","1,1,1,1");
				frequency = 1;
				phase = -10;
				position =(-55.161,449.19,1201.008);
			}
That however will crash Oolite.. I Tried shifting it its position in the subentity list in the shipdata.plist file but with the same result..

Now before i go post it as a bug, is it me that is setting up the array wrong ?

Cheers Frame...

EDIT

Found my error, been starring at it for an hour, and just after the post i saw it

Code: Select all

colors = ("1,1,1,1","1,1,1,1","1,1,1,1");
should be

Code: Select all

colors = ("1 1 1 1","1 1 1 1","1 1 1 1");
Last edited by Frame on Sun Jul 17, 2011 12:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
Bounty Scanner
Number 935
User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Flasher setting causing a CTD on windows 1.75.3(and 1.75

Post by JensAyton »

Frame wrote:
Now before i go post it as a bug, is it me that is setting up the array wrong ?
Yes; it should be an array of arrays of numbers (or other colour specifiers), not an array of strings. Of course, it shouldn’t crash whatever you give it.

Edit: fixed in r4582.
User avatar
Frame
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1477
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Witchspace

Re: Flasher setting causing a CTD on windows 1.75.3(and 1.75

Post by Frame »

Ahruman wrote:
Frame wrote:
Now before i go post it as a bug, is it me that is setting up the array wrong ?
Yes; it should be an array of arrays of numbers (or other colour specifiers), not an array of strings. Of course, it shouldn’t crash whatever you give it.

Edit: fixed in r4582.
Ninjaed :-)
Bounty Scanner
Number 935
User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Flasher setting causing a CTD on windows 1.75.3(and 1.75

Post by JensAyton »

Ahruman wrote:
Of course, it shouldn’t crash whatever you give it.
I’d like to emphasise this once again: if your plists or scripts crash the game, don’t try to work around it. Report a bug. Always.
Post Reply