How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place?
Moderators: winston, another_commander
- RyanHoots
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 958
- Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 8:10 pm
- Location: Nowhere
- Contact:
How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place?
I would like to make a station that stays in one system and, if possible, is always there like Lave's moon in the Lave OXP. I have never made or attempted a dockable OXP. I plan to use the Dodecahedron design. Thanks.
- Eric Walch
- Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
- Posts: 5536
- Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
- Location: Netherlands
Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place
You might look inside asteroidStorm.oxp. And more specific in the file: planetinfo.plist. There a specific station is defined for a specific system. You could do something similar to create your station.RyanHoots wrote:I would like to make a station that stays in one system and, if possible, is always there like Lave's moon in the Lave OXP. I have never made or attempted a dockable OXP. I plan to use the Dodecahedron design. Thanks.
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions
- DaddyHoggy
- Intergalactic Spam Assassin
- Posts: 8515
- Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
- Location: Newbury, UK
- Contact:
Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place
The Tionisla Graveyard always spawns a station amongst the tombs.
Oolite Life is now revealed hereSelezen wrote:Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
- RyanHoots
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 958
- Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 8:10 pm
- Location: Nowhere
- Contact:
Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place
I'm going to make a company like Griff Industries that will "build" my OXP ships and station in a shipyard. FIrst project is a station to act as HQ for the company.
- Killer Wolf
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2278
- Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:38 pm
Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place
The Sothis OXP (and Wasps.OXP) has a pseudorandom seed that places a station in certain systems - it means they don't appear in every system but they will appear consistently in the ones they're selected to
- RyanHoots
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 958
- Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 8:10 pm
- Location: Nowhere
- Contact:
Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place
Thanks for the tip, I'll look at those.Killer Wolf wrote:The Sothis OXP (and Wasps.OXP) has a pseudorandom seed that places a station in certain systems - it means they don't appear in every system but they will appear consistently in the ones they're selected to
- Eric Walch
- Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
- Posts: 5536
- Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
- Location: Netherlands
Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place
And since 1.75 is scrambledPseudoRandomNumber part of oolite code and you don't need to write it yourself like Killer Wolf had to do.RyanHoots wrote:Thanks for the tip, I'll look at those.Killer Wolf wrote:The Sothis OXP (and Wasps.OXP) has a pseudorandom seed that places a station in certain systems - it means they don't appear in every system but they will appear consistently in the ones they're selected to
Last edited by Eric Walch on Tue Jun 07, 2011 8:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions
- RyanHoots
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 958
- Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 8:10 pm
- Location: Nowhere
- Contact:
Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place
How would I edit the model to use my textures?
Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place
I presume you plan to retexture a copy of new-dodo.dat (found in ...\Oolite\oolite.app\Resources\Models) with your own texture(s)?RyanHoots wrote:How would I edit the model to use my textures?
If you open the yourstation.dat (copy of new-dodo.dat) in a decent text editor (like Notepad++, WordPad will also do, if you're a Win user), you see lots of lines like:
Code: Select all
TEXTURES
bottom_metal.png 256 256 49.152000 0.000000 256.000000 157.696000 128.000000 256.000000 # rear ring top 3 pentagons
bottom_metal.png 256 256 49.152000 0.000000 206.848000 0.000000 256.000000 157.696000
These are quite sel-explanatory, just change all bottom_metal.png 's to yournewfancydodecbottom.png (or whatever you have named the texture), and the same for all others.
...and keep it under lightspeed!
Friendliest Meteor Police that side of Riedquat
Far Arm ships
Z-ships
Baakili Far Trader
Tin of SPAM
Friendliest Meteor Police that side of Riedquat
Far Arm ships
Z-ships
Baakili Far Trader
Tin of SPAM
- JensAyton
- Grand Admiral Emeritus
- Posts: 6657
- Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Contact:
Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place
Don’t do this. If all you want to do is change the texture, use a material entry in the shipdata.plist entry:Zieman wrote:These are quite sel-explanatory, just change all bottom_metal.png 's to yournewfancydodecbottom.png (or whatever you have named the texture), and the same for all others.
Code: Select all
model = "new-dodo.dat";
materials =
{
"bottom_metal.png" = "yournewfancydodecbottom.png";
};
E-mail: [email protected]
- RyanHoots
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 958
- Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 8:10 pm
- Location: Nowhere
- Contact:
Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place
ThanksAhruman wrote:Don’t do this. If all you want to do is change the texture, use a material entry in the shipdata.plist entry:Zieman wrote:These are quite sel-explanatory, just change all bottom_metal.png 's to yournewfancydodecbottom.png (or whatever you have named the texture), and the same for all others.Code: Select all
model = "new-dodo.dat"; materials = { "bottom_metal.png" = "yournewfancydodecbottom.png"; };