How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place?

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

Post Reply
User avatar
RyanHoots
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 8:10 pm
Location: Nowhere
Contact:

How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place?

Post by RyanHoots »

I would like to make a station that stays in one system and, if possible, is always there like Lave's moon in the Lave OXP. I have never made or attempted a dockable OXP. I plan to use the Dodecahedron design. Thanks.
Image
User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place

Post by Eric Walch »

RyanHoots wrote:
I would like to make a station that stays in one system and, if possible, is always there like Lave's moon in the Lave OXP. I have never made or attempted a dockable OXP. I plan to use the Dodecahedron design. Thanks.
You might look inside asteroidStorm.oxp. And more specific in the file: planetinfo.plist. There a specific station is defined for a specific system. You could do something similar to create your station.
User avatar
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 8515
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Newbury, UK
Contact:

Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place

Post by DaddyHoggy »

The Tionisla Graveyard always spawns a station amongst the tombs.
Selezen wrote:
Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here
User avatar
RyanHoots
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 8:10 pm
Location: Nowhere
Contact:

Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place

Post by RyanHoots »

Thanks, I'll look at those. :)
Image
User avatar
RyanHoots
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 8:10 pm
Location: Nowhere
Contact:

Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place

Post by RyanHoots »

I'm going to make a company like Griff Industries that will "build" my OXP ships and station in a shipyard. FIrst project is a station to act as HQ for the company.
Image
User avatar
Killer Wolf
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2272
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:38 pm

Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place

Post by Killer Wolf »

The Sothis OXP (and Wasps.OXP) has a pseudorandom seed that places a station in certain systems - it means they don't appear in every system but they will appear consistently in the ones they're selected to
User avatar
RyanHoots
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 8:10 pm
Location: Nowhere
Contact:

Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place

Post by RyanHoots »

Killer Wolf wrote:
The Sothis OXP (and Wasps.OXP) has a pseudorandom seed that places a station in certain systems - it means they don't appear in every system but they will appear consistently in the ones they're selected to
Thanks for the tip, I'll look at those.
Image
User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place

Post by Eric Walch »

RyanHoots wrote:
Killer Wolf wrote:
The Sothis OXP (and Wasps.OXP) has a pseudorandom seed that places a station in certain systems - it means they don't appear in every system but they will appear consistently in the ones they're selected to
Thanks for the tip, I'll look at those.
And since 1.75 is scrambledPseudoRandomNumber part of oolite code and you don't need to write it yourself like Killer Wolf had to do.
Last edited by Eric Walch on Tue Jun 07, 2011 8:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
RyanHoots
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 8:10 pm
Location: Nowhere
Contact:

Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place

Post by RyanHoots »

How would I edit the model to use my textures?
Image
User avatar
Zieman
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 680
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 11:55 pm
Location: in maZe

Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place

Post by Zieman »

RyanHoots wrote:
How would I edit the model to use my textures?
I presume you plan to retexture a copy of new-dodo.dat (found in ...\Oolite\oolite.app\Resources\Models) with your own texture(s)?

If you open the yourstation.dat (copy of new-dodo.dat) in a decent text editor (like Notepad++, WordPad will also do, if you're a Win user), you see lots of lines like:

Code: Select all

TEXTURES
bottom_metal.png	256 256	49.152000 0.000000	256.000000 157.696000	128.000000 256.000000	# rear ring top 3 pentagons
bottom_metal.png	256 256	49.152000 0.000000	206.848000 0.000000	256.000000 157.696000
etc.

These are quite sel-explanatory, just change all bottom_metal.png 's to yournewfancydodecbottom.png (or whatever you have named the texture), and the same for all others.
...and keep it under lightspeed!

Friendliest Meteor Police that side of Riedquat

[EliteWiki] Far Arm ships
[EliteWiki] Z-ships
[EliteWiki] Baakili Far Trader
[EliteWiki] Tin of SPAM
User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place

Post by JensAyton »

Zieman wrote:
These are quite sel-explanatory, just change all bottom_metal.png 's to yournewfancydodecbottom.png (or whatever you have named the texture), and the same for all others.
Don’t do this. If all you want to do is change the texture, use a material entry in the shipdata.plist entry:

Code: Select all

model = "new-dodo.dat";
materials =
{
    "bottom_metal.png" = "yournewfancydodecbottom.png";
};
User avatar
RyanHoots
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 8:10 pm
Location: Nowhere
Contact:

Re: How do I make a dockable station that stays in one place

Post by RyanHoots »

Ahruman wrote:
Zieman wrote:
These are quite sel-explanatory, just change all bottom_metal.png 's to yournewfancydodecbottom.png (or whatever you have named the texture), and the same for all others.
Don’t do this. If all you want to do is change the texture, use a material entry in the shipdata.plist entry:

Code: Select all

model = "new-dodo.dat";
materials =
{
    "bottom_metal.png" = "yournewfancydodecbottom.png";
};
Thanks
Image
Post Reply