[Release] Coluber HUD No. 1

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

User avatar
Captain Beatnik
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:15 pm
Location: Eastern Bavaria (Average Agricultural Confederacy)

[Release] Coluber HUD No. 1

Post by Captain Beatnik »

Image

Coluber works and shipyards proudly presents the new Coluber HUD No.1. The Coluber HUD No.1 is a fully featured HUD with individual scales for each gauge and additional control lights for important equipment.

This HUD has individual crosshairs with long guidelines. Up to 6 MFD´s are avaliable. On red alert, the gauges for shields, energy, weapontemperature, the control lights for injectors, E.C.M. and escapepod and the weapon display are grouped around the crosshairs.

Download link: https://app.box.com/s/q9chv7w2q85wzdwmko77

If you find any bugs, please report them.

Best regards

C.B.
I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.
(Douglas Adams, 1952 - 2001)
User avatar
Diziet Sma
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 6310
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"

Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1

Post by Diziet Sma »

Wow.. VERY impressive.. might even draw me away from the NumericHUD. :shock: 8)

One suggestion, if you haven't already done so.. please make it compatible with the HUD Selector.. it's only a handful of lines of code, and doesn't affect the normal HUD operation if someone doesn't have HUD Selector installed.
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied
User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Lost in space
Contact:

Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1

Post by Smivs »

Nice HUD. Complex but clear and not fussy.
Just one minor point <pedantic nerd mode> but you have calibrated the temperature gauges in Kelvins, and Kelvins don't have a 'degree' symbol. Zero degrees Celcius are 273 kelvins, not 273 degrees Kelvin.
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.
User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5525
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1

Post by Thargoid »

[mode="even more pedantic physicist"]273.15K=0 degrees C, to be even more of a pedantic science nerd.

But it is indeed an absolute scale, not a degree one so has no degree symbol in it as Smivs rightly says.[/mode]
Zireael
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1396
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:44 pm

Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1

Post by Zireael »

DAT crosshair. Love it!
User avatar
ClymAngus
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2508
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:31 am
Location: London England
Contact:

Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1

Post by ClymAngus »

Ooooo that's very clean.
User avatar
Captain Beatnik
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:15 pm
Location: Eastern Bavaria (Average Agricultural Confederacy)

Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1

Post by Captain Beatnik »

Thargoid wrote:
[mode="even more pedantic physicist"]273.15K=0 degrees C, to be even more of a pedantic science nerd.

But it is indeed an absolute scale, not a degree one so has no degree symbol in it as Smivs rightly says.[/mode]
Ooops... :oops: I will delete the degree-symbol in the next version.


Diziet Sma wrote:
One suggestion, if you haven't already done so.. please make it compatible with the HUD Selector.. it's only a handful of lines of code, and doesn't affect the normal HUD operation if someone doesn't have HUD Selector installed.
That´s a good suggestion, I will try to implement compability in the next version. But I have no experience with JS-coding, so I might need some help with that. I have read the Hud-Selector requires to rename the hud.plist. If I do so, how does the HUD work if someone doesn't have HUD Selector installed?


Redspear wrote:
Does the crosshair always extend to the screen edges?
Yes, this is intended. If you want shorter guidelines, the length can easily be adjusted. You only have to change four values in the "Guidelines" section of each crosshair. E.g. Changing

Code: Select all

//Guidelines
		(0.30,   0.000,   9.000,	0.30,  0.000,  1.300),
		(0.30,   0.000,  -5.000,	0.30,  0.000, -0.100),
		(0.30,  13.200,   0.000,	0.30,  0.100,  0.000),
		(0.30, -13.200,   0.000,	0.30, -0.100,  0.000),
to

Code: Select all

//Guidelines
		(0.30,   0.000,   1.800,	0.30  0.000,  1.300),
		(0.30,   0.000,  -1.800,	0.30,  0.000, -0.100),
		(0.30,  1.800,   0.000,	0.30,  0.100,  0.000),
		(0.30, -1.800,   0.000,	0.30, -0.100,  0.000),
will cause the guidelines to start just outside the outer 16-sided-figure.
I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.
(Douglas Adams, 1952 - 2001)
User avatar
Norby
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2577
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Contact:

Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1

Post by Norby »

Captain Beatnik wrote:
how does the HUD work if someone doesn't have HUD Selector installed?
Following the descriptions in the [EliteWiki] wiki (right below the screenshots) you put a worldscript into your package which will set the hud at startup if HUDSelector is not installed.

Rename your hud.plist to coluberhud.plist and make a script.js file in your Config folder with this content:

Code: Select all

this.name = "coluberhud";
this.startUp = function () {
   player.ship.hud =  this.name + ".plist";
   var h = worldScripts.hudselector;
   if( h ) h.$HUDSelectorAddHUD("Coluber HUD", this.name);
}
Test with and without HUDSelector. Done! ;)

I do not see any bugs in your code but I have suggestions:
- your console and comms show very few information, wider ones would be better,
- the identifier in manifest.plist should not contain the version number (cause problems later),
- if you plan to make some widescreen support then you can align the MFDs to the sides using x_origin=1 and -1.
Knotty
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 11:22 pm

Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1

Post by Knotty »

PPP, like!
User avatar
Captain Beatnik
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:15 pm
Location: Eastern Bavaria (Average Agricultural Confederacy)

Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1

Post by Captain Beatnik »

Norby wrote:
Rename your hud.plist to coluberhud.plist and make a script.js file in your Config folder with this content:

Code: Select all

this.name = "coluberhud";
this.startUp = function () {
   player.ship.hud =  this.name + ".plist";
   var h = worldScripts.hudselector;
   if( h ) h.$HUDSelectorAddHUD("Coluber HUD", this.name);
}
Test with and without HUDSelector. Done! ;)

I do not see any bugs in your code but I have suggestions:
- your console and comms show very few information, wider ones would be better,
- the identifier in manifest.plist should not contain the version number (cause problems later),
- if you plan to make some widescreen support then you can align the MFDs to the sides using x_origin=1 and -1.
Thanks for the code Norby, it works perfect! I made the console and comms a bit wider and have aligned the MFDs to the sides using x_origin=1 and -1 as you have suggested. Works fine! :D The "1" in the identifier is not the version number but part of the HUDs name so it will not change in later versions.

Thanks to Diziet Smas All-in-One Guide to OXZ Packaging and Distribution and with help from Maik I also managed it to set up a wiki page and make the HUD downloadable via the OXP-manager.
I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.
(Douglas Adams, 1952 - 2001)
User avatar
ffutures
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2121
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:34 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1

Post by ffutures »

How do I change the scanner to non-linear? I took a look at the OXZ file, but I'm seeing gibberish.

Would it be possible to add in something to the game that would let users configure stuff like this from the F4 menu while docked?
User avatar
Norby
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2577
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Contact:

Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1

Post by Norby »

ffutures wrote:
How do I change the scanner to non-linear?
Put the followings into the coluber_hud_ch01.plist, either right after the first { or just before the last } but not within any other brackets:

Code: Select all

scanner_non_linear = yes;
scanner_ultra_zoom = yes; //if you want 16x zoom also
User avatar
ffutures
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2121
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:34 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1

Post by ffutures »

Can't find coluber_hud_ch01.plist at all. I'm assuming it should be in oolite/00lite.ap/resources/config but it isn't showing up on a search anywhere else either.
User avatar
Norby
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2577
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Contact:

Re: [Release] Coluber HUD No. 1

Post by Norby »

Find within the .oxz: if you downloaded from the box url in the first post then Coluber_HUD_No.1_v1.0.0.oxz, if you downloaded within the game then oolite.oxp.captain_beatnik.coluber_hud_ch01.oxz. Unzip, edit, zip, rename to oxz, put into the AddOns. If you know Total Commander or Midnight Commander then you can edit files within an oxz (enter to step into then F4).
Post Reply