Join us at the Oolite Anniversary Party -- London, 7th July 2024, 1pm
More details in this thread.

Veteran or Newbie

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

How well do you know this game?

Total Newbie to this type of game
No votes
Played games sort of like it
7%
Elite? What's that?
No votes
Tried Oolite.. Too hard
No votes
Elite/Oolite.. Addicted
32%
Veteran Addicted
36%
Veteran. Addicted and write code
25%

Total votes: 44

Alex
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Veteran or Newbie

Post by Alex »

I was just wondering how many members are new to the space lanes compared to the ones that control them.
By control them I mean fly well enough to make your above average pirate wish they had stayed home with mother.

I first heard of Oolite from my younger brother. He sent a link to 1.65 with the addage
"Don't loose your mind in this game like you did with Elite"

48 Hours later.. E-mail back to him;

"Too Late"

"Addicted again"
LOOK OUT!!!
OOPS..
"Press Space" Commander
If you do not see "Press Space" more often than you want.. Your not trying!
Commander McLane
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Re: Veteran or Newbie

Post by Commander McLane »

Some options missing. What about those of us who create OXPs? (Creating OXPs and writing code—which I interpret as game code—are two vastly different things IMO.) I have created a fair share of OXPs, but never once written one line of Obj C code for the underlying game mechanics.

Also, what about the newbies who have already released an OXP or two? One of the great things about Oolite's expandability is that you don't need to be a veteran, and indeed don't need to know the first thing about the game's code itself, in order to produce OXPs. :D
ClymAngus
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Post by ClymAngus »

I took writing code to mean, looking under the hood even if you take 2 pre-made wires and connect them backwards for s**ts and giggles.