Caduceus parameters

News and discussion of the PC port of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

Alex
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Caduceus parameters

Post by Alex »

Hi Commanders,
I was wondering if anyone could tell me what the parameters for the turret guns are about.
<key>subentities</key>
<array>
<string>caduceusturret 8.5 -0.2 46.6 1 0 -1 0</string>

I guess the first are XYZ coordinates for fied of fire?? maybe. but the last 2 or is it 4? (1 0 -1 0) Think it's 4 coz the spaces.

I'm a total newbe at playing around with the code so any help would be great.

Happy Hunting
Al
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid

Post by Thargoid »

First three are its position on the model (relative to the model's centre) and the last four are a quaternion indicating which way it should face.

Further reading (on the wiki):

Subentities.
Quaternions.

plus a whole host of web pages on the latter (Google is your friend).

Enjoy ;)
Diziet Sma
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Post by Diziet Sma »

Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied
Alex
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Post by Alex »

Err... Thanks Commanders,
Thought I was done with calculus 20 years ago.
Wonder if I still have they old text books?
I'll give the stuff you put me on to a read through and see how much I've forgot.

Happy hunting
Al
Commander McLane
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Post by Commander McLane »

However, the most important link would be to the documentation of shipdata.plist:

http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/Shipdata.plist

which doesn't only tell you what the seven numbers are for, and links you to understanding what vectors and quaternions are, but also answers all your other question about anything you find in shipdata.plist. :wink: