Join us at the Oolite Anniversary Party -- London, 7th July 2024, 1pm
More details in this thread.

autopackaged 1.72 "no text" issue

For test results, bug reports, announcements of new builds etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander, Getafix

mrflawed
Poor
Poor

autopackaged 1.72 "no text" issue

Post by mrflawed »

I was previously running the standard 1.65 version and updated to the beta release. the previous game was working quite well and then when i start the new version and text will start out fine. then it will disappear. as in all text in my hud, pause menu, the f2 menu, when the ship is docked.
i even noticed that large objects, such as a space station, will disappear (replaced by a black void).
i am new to oolite and i am also new to linux. so i would need instructions to give you some sort of debug report.

thanks !
mrflawed
Poor
Poor

Post by mrflawed »

also i am going to state that i have a crappy dell 700m with a integrated video card. i dont know if there was a difference between the 1.65 and the 1.72 versions as far as graphics go. but that might be the ball the pushed everything over the edge.

and i can see normal ships just fine
Screet
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Re: autopackaged 1.72 "no text" issue

Post by Screet »

Hello, and welcome to the board!
mrflawed wrote:
i even noticed that large objects, such as a space station, will disappear (replaced by a black void).
I'm not sure if that accounts for all your problems...but if that black void is shootable, then you might want to try the "shaders off" setting. That can be found in the game options menu (f2).

Hope it helps...I'm not to sure because of the text problems you also mentioned.

Screet
mrflawed
Poor
Poor

Post by mrflawed »

i ran the game again. the text works for a little bit and then it goes away again. also, if i click my mouse anywhere the text will disappear.