Join us at the Oolite Anniversary Party -- London, 7th July 2024, 1pm
More details in this thread.

Newbie and OXPs

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

Commander Adams
Average
Average

Newbie and OXPs

Post by Commander Adams »

Hello,JUST downloaded the game and am in TOTAL retroheaven...I had Elite on the Electron,and feel 7 years old again.

Im trying to install the oxps and am having difficulty,as the add ons folder says it cant be modified or somthing,Im not a IT expert by a LOOOOOOOOOng shot,Im a thickie when It comes to techie stuff. (Hey Im a musician,if it has strings,I can play it for you!)

clear help needed please,the Black Monks oxp,looks great fun!

(loving how this game has grown in the 20 years since I 1st played it!..any chance it will become online?) :D
LittleBear
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Location: On a survey mission for GalCop. Ship: Cobra Corvette: Hidden Dragon Rated: Deadly.

Post by LittleBear »

Are you on the Mac?

Sorry I'm on the PC, but there can be a problem on the Mac installing your first OXP, due to some Mac-ish OS settings thing! Go to the bottom of the OXP page on the Wiki and there are some trouble shooting instructions.
Last edited by LittleBear on Sun Sep 02, 2007 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OXPS : The Assassins Guild, Asteroid Storm, The Bank of the Black Monks, Random Hits, The Galactic Almanac, Renegade Pirates can be downloaded from the Elite Wiki here.
Commander Adams
Average
Average

Im on a Mac running OSX 10.4.10
Disembodied
Jedi Spam Assassin
Jedi Spam Assassin

Post by Disembodied »

Hi Commander, and welcome! You can find some troubleshooting tops on the OXP Wiki page. It sounds like you're having a Mac problem: the tip on the page reads: