Scooped cargo mistally & odd debug log msgs

For test results, bug reports, announcements of new builds etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander, Getafix

Post Reply
User avatar
SgtSchultz
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 7:52 am
Location: Left Coast, USA
Contact:

Scooped cargo mistally & odd debug log msgs

Post by SgtSchultz »

I hope I'm not repeating an earlier bug report here, I've looked over the most recent "page" of reports and did not see any mention of the two problems I'm about to report, so here goes...

These reports refer to the windoz version, 1.69.1

1. Scooped cargo & cargo space mistally

I was docked at a station and did a few trades, winding up with a cargo of 30t furs and various small amounts of gold, platinum and gemstones (sorry, can't recall which station it was at, not to far from Lave, communist, Reiorte or something like that). Anyway, I launched and did a leisurely cruise out to the witchpoint, looking for flotsam, jetsam and trouble. I was too late in coming for the latter, but I did run into the scene of a recent battle, with all sorts of cargo containers floating around just waiting to be scooped up. In the process of my scooping, I acquired two 1t cannisters of various stuff, along with one cannister each of gold, platinum and gemstones. Upon picking up the last (gemstones, I think) I was notified that my cargo holds were full - when in actuality I was only carrying 32t (35t limit in my CM3) plus assorted "lightweight" cargo. A quick inventory check (F5 x 2) proved my recollections correct - the status display claimed I had 35t, but a sum of the cargo I was actually carrying totaled to 32t + light cargo. I then hypered out to another nearby system (again, can't say which one offhand) and docked at the station there by my most expedient means, as I was now on a bug-hunt rather than a bounty hunt. After docking, I checked the trade screen [F8] and my cargo loadout and tally were now correct - 32t of massy cargo plus the light stuff.

This leads me to conclude that there is something buggy in the cargo mass tallying code, at least with regards to scooped cargo.

Note: I'm using the cargo_wrecks_teaser OXP, and I've not tried repeating the sequence with it disabled.

2. LARGE number of OpenGL "invalid enumerant" messages appear in debug log

I am seeing a LARGE number of messages in this form in the debug log (stderr.txt in ./oolite.app):

Code: Select all

2007-08-23 22:39:23.000 oolite.exe[2928] [dataCache.willWrite]: About to write data cache.
2007-08-23 22:39:23.000 oolite.exe[2928] [dataCache.write.success]: Wrote data cache.
2007-08-23 22:39:23.000 oolite.exe[2928] [rendering.opengl.error]: OpenGL error: "invalid enumerant" (1280), context: Universe before doing anything
2007-08-23 22:40:17.000 oolite.exe[2928] [rendering.opengl.error]: OpenGL error: "invalid enumerant" (1280), context: SkyEntity after drawing <SkyEntity 0x10ca0028>{173 position=(-51252.8, 63531.6, 543459) scanClass=CLASS_NO_DRAW status=STATUS_EFFECT}
2007-08-23 22:40:17.000 oolite.exe[2928] [rendering.opengl.error]: OpenGL error: "invalid enumerant" (1280), context: SkyEntity after drawing <SkyEntity 0x10ca0028>{173 position=(-51250.8, 63529.2, 543463) scanClass=CLASS_NO_DRAW status=STATUS_EFFECT}
Note: I'm running in800x600 windowed mode

I included the messages pertaining to the cache so you can see in what context the "invalid enumerant" error messages start. There are literally thousands, if not 10's of thousands of such messages in sequence, all regarding the same SkyEntity but at slightly different coordinates. I can't help but suspect that this may have something to do with the frequent number of game crashes I've been experiencing since I moved from v1.65 to v1.69.1.

There appear to be approx. 30 such messages emitted per second as the game runs.

I admit that I'm using a fair number of OXPs (as I did when using v1.65, same ones). Here's the list as taken from the debug log:

Code: Select all


2007-08-23 22:39:06.000 oolite.exe[2928] [searchPaths.dumpAll]: ---> OXP search paths:
(oolite.app/Resources, AddOns, AddOns/AsteroidStorm.oxp, AddOns/BlackMonks.oxp, AddOns/Cargo_wrecks_teaser.oxp, AddOns/Commies.oxp, AddOns/custsounds.oxp, AddOns/deposed.oxp, "AddOns/Dictators v1.2.oxp", AddOns/Diso.oxp, AddOns/Dr_HUD.oxp, AddOns/Dr_HUD_CMkIII.oxp, AddOns/ettBeaconLauncher.oxp, "AddOns/Fuel Tank v2.0.oxp", AddOns/globestations.oxp, AddOns/gwxstations.oxp, AddOns/hOopyCasino.oxp, AddOns/Lave.oxp, AddOns/longway.oxp, AddOns/military.oxp, AddOns/monument.oxp, AddOns/nuke.oxp, "AddOns/OO-Haul.oxp", AddOns/Ore_processor.oxp, AddOns/outrider.oxp, AddOns/pelamis.oxp, AddOns/ringpod.oxp, AddOns/RoC.oxp, AddOns/Rock_Hermit_Locator1.1.oxp, AddOns/spyhunter.oxp, AddOns/taranis.oxp, AddOns/tesoura.oxp, AddOns/tori.oxp, AddOns/transhab.oxp, "AddOns/UPS-courier.oxp", AddOns/YOUR_AD_HERE.oxp)
2007-08-23 22:39:10.000 oolite.exe[2928] [script.load.world.listAll]: Loaded 33 world scripts: "asteroids_add_the_rocks", "asteroids_brief", "asteroids_check_if_player_runs_away", "asteroids_give_coward_brief", "asteroids_give_tried_and_succeeded_brief", "asteroids_give_tried_but_failed_brief", "asteroids_player_docked_in_storm", "asteroids_remove_station_if_destroyed", "asteroids_reset_toldoff", "black_monks", "casinoship_appearance", "casinoship_revisit", "communist_population", "deposed", "dictatorship_population", "elite_monument", "hoopy_casino", "long_way_round", "lord-of-the-rings", "military_fiasco", "OO-Haul Escort", "oolite-cloaking-device" 1.69.1, "oolite-constrictor-hunt" 1.69.1, "oolite-nova" 1.69.1, "oolite-thargoid-plans" 1.69.1, "oolite-trumbles" 1.69.1, "Pi-Forty-Two Con stores", "spy_hunter", "taranis_one", "ups_container", "ups_docs", "ups_parcel", "ups_sun"
I have made some very small changes to a few of the above, but only for the purpose of correcting errors that would show up in the debug log. For example, the original "cargo_wrecks_teaser" OXP makes reference to a nonexistent model file "nubarrel.dat" in the shipdata.plist file. I also recall finding a few minor problems with the BlackMonks OXP. I'll post a list of problems I found with various OXP's I've tried (all of which were obtained from the Elite Wiki) in a later post.

I'll also try selectively removing OXPs to see if one of those is responsible for generating the voluminous error messages mentioned above. I would note that these errors did NOT appear in the debug logs for v1.65 - In fact, the debug logs from v1.65, using the same OXPs, are entirely clear of error messages except for references to unknown DTD's that did not appear to affect gameplay (and do not show up in v1.69.1).
In an ally, considerations of house, clan, planet, race are insignificant besides two prime questions, which are:
1. Can he shoot?
2. Will he aim at your enemy?
- Cantra yos'Phelium
User avatar
TGHC
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2157
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 4:16 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK

Post by TGHC »

sory if I'm stating the obvious, but do you have a passenger berth?
The Grey Haired Commander has spoken!
OK so I'm a PC user - "you know whats scary? Out of billions of sperm I was the fastest"
User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

#1 is by design – each cargo pod weighs 1t until you make port and repack.
#2 is a known, unresolved bug which only happens on some Windows systems. You can shut it up by creating a file called “logcontrol.plist” in your AddOns directory, containing the following:

Code: Select all

{
    rendering.opengl.error = no;
}
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 6627
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander »

The invalid enumerant errors appear to be related to ATI Radeon cards. Am I correct in assuming that this is what you have?
User avatar
SgtSchultz
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 7:52 am
Location: Left Coast, USA
Contact:

Post by SgtSchultz »

sory if I'm stating the obvious, but do you have a passenger berth?
No need to be sorry, it's a reasonable question, the answer to which is NO.
#1 is by design – each cargo pod weighs 1t until you make port and repack.
Ok, I don't necessarily buy into that philosophy, but I'm not the one coding it, so I'll only grumble a bit. In any event, question #1 is answered, thanks for the info.
#2 is a known, unresolved bug which only happens on some Windows systems. You can shut it up by creating a file called “logcontrol.plist” in your AddOns directory, containing the following:
Done.
Is there anywhere I can go where I might find out what other debugging options are available?
The invalid enumerant errors appear to be related to ATI Radeon cards. Am I correct in assuming that this is what you have?
Yep, ATI Radeon X800.

Thanks to all who helped.
In an ally, considerations of house, clan, planet, race are insignificant besides two prime questions, which are:
1. Can he shoot?
2. Will he aim at your enemy?
- Cantra yos'Phelium
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 6627
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander »

SgtSchultz wrote:
Is there anywhere I can go where I might find out what other debugging options are available?
In your oolite.app/Resources/Config folder, there is a file called logcontrol.plist. You can open it with any text editor. It controls what kind of messages go in the game log during execution. These messages can be switched on and off by setting their appropriate values to yes or no. There are some other options you can use as well, but for end-user debugging purposes, I believe yes and no should be enough.

Feel free to experiment, but be aware that some of the options will generate very large log files and this can impact game performance. As you may have noticed with the problem you mention above, writing on a text file several times per frame can cause framerate drops and "hickups" during runtime.
User avatar
Captain Hesperus
Grand High Clock-Tower Poobah
Grand High Clock-Tower Poobah
Posts: 2310
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 1:10 pm
Location: Anywhere I can sell Trumbles.....

Post by Captain Hesperus »

@SgtSchultz - You haven't perchance bought Trumbles? Or is one of the OXPs you use x-ships.oxp? The aforementioned OXP creates Trumble containers to be dropped by hapless victims careless pilots, giving you a lovely, cute and fluffy travelling companion.....

<_<

>_>

If you don't have a Trumble, would you like to buy one? Just Cr30 and he's yours.....:wink:

Captain Hesperus
The truth, revealed!!
Image
User avatar
SgtSchultz
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 7:52 am
Location: Left Coast, USA
Contact:

Post by SgtSchultz »

You haven't perchance bought Trumbles? Or is one of the OXPs you use x-ships.oxp? The aforementioned OXP creates Trumble containers to be dropped by hapless victims careless pilots, giving you a lovely, cute and fluffy travelling companion.....
Sure, I've bought loads. I'm particularly fond of the Laveian Fried variety, which I usually pick up at the local Pi-42 on my way insystem.

"Do you recall the old Laveian proverb that trumbles are a dish best served hot?"
In an ally, considerations of house, clan, planet, race are insignificant besides two prime questions, which are:
1. Can he shoot?
2. Will he aim at your enemy?
- Cantra yos'Phelium
User avatar
Captain Hesperus
Grand High Clock-Tower Poobah
Grand High Clock-Tower Poobah
Posts: 2310
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 1:10 pm
Location: Anywhere I can sell Trumbles.....

Post by Captain Hesperus »

SgtSchultz wrote:
Sure, I've bought loads. I'm particularly fond of the Laveian Fried variety, which I usually pick up at the local Pi-42 on my way insystem.

"Do you recall the old Laveian proverb that trumbles are a dish best served hot?"
Philistine! <scowl>

:wink:

Captain Hesperus
The truth, revealed!!
Image
Post Reply