Join us at the Oolite Anniversary Party -- London, 7th July 2024, 1pm
More details in this thread.

newbie here...

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

alexxxm
Poor
Poor

newbie here...

Post by alexxxm »

so many years after Frontier...

I'd like to return to this world that made me dream so much!

Unfortunately I'm a bit stuck - can you help me to start?

I'm having troubles finding the stations!
I selected my 1st destination (Disio) & went there. Following a good advice I removed myself a bit from the straight line to the planet to avoid pirates,
then I tried to follow the guide http://wiki.alioth.net/index.php/How_to_Dock
Unfortunately I'm never able to find any station, even touring around the planet (lucky me I found out the shift-f trick to compress time!)
I only find random ships, some police, & at the end some pirates that find and finish me off.
Where, oh where is that damn station?

thank you1

alessandro
Davidtq
Deadly
Deadly

Re: newbie here...

Post by Davidtq »

Hello and welcome

I dont think shift-F does compress time? as far as I can see it appears at least on my set up to bring up the frame rate counter?

as for finding the station it might be best, until you get the advanced space compass its visual scanning for the station, It might best for your first run to instead of heading to diso to head to leesti which is at least relatively safe (and a better planet to trade with from Lave where you start) Leesti station is most likely visible as soon as you arrive in system, looking like a slightly larger star than the others a short distance from the planet itself. I tend to rotate the ship so the station is pointing north (sitting above the top of the planet) and then aim the ship well above that point before activating the torus drive to avoid the traffic.