Join us at the Oolite Anniversary Party -- London, 7th July 2024, 1pm
More details in this thread.

Newbie - Questions on Scope of Mods/OXPs

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

viberunner
Poor
Poor

Newbie - Questions on Scope of Mods/OXPs

Post by viberunner »

Hello

I'm a coder with some free time next year and am looking for a game to mod, Oolite is a candidate. I'm interested in creating a single, story-driven sandbox, immersive experience.

Some questions on the limitations of the module engine:

Can you change the starting variables such as starting planet and ship?

Can you force a change of ship on the player? Full change of stats e.g. credits, police status, etc.?

Can I make a series of modules for an open-world sandbox storyline. For example, if there are two basic breed of module, side-module and story-module, the game starts with the story-module mission, you do that and it triggers any number of side missions, when a number of them are done the second story-module is started.

How much control over the creation of factions? For example could I set a gang of half a dozen Vipers (paramilitaries) to warp in and attack every hour or two?

So you can see my kind of thinking - can anyone give me a basic overview of engine scripting limitation.
Svengali
Commander
Commander

Re: Newbie - Questions on Scope of Mods/OXPs

Post by Svengali »

Welcome viberunner,

the engine supports a lot of things in your wishlist, but no scriptable ship switch for the player - bounty and a few other things can be set though. Story driven OXPs are absolutely possible, scripts can communicate with each other, the JS engine uses SpiderMonkey ECMAv5 (https://developer.mozilla.org/en/JavaScript/Reference), spawning NPCs is everytime possible, Timers and Framecallbacks are supported.