Join us at the Oolite Anniversary Party -- London, 7th July 2024, 1pm
More details in this thread.

Is it just me or did some of the voices disappear?

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

ChazFox
Above Average
Above Average

Is it just me or did some of the voices disappear?

Post by ChazFox »

After upgrading from 1.74.2 or so to 1.75.2, I noticed something rather disconcerting. It appears that not all of the Spoken Message voice options that were present in previous versions are in this version. In particular, I'm a little saddened that the "en-scottish" voice option isn't in here, because I used to always use that voice option. As a Scottish pilot, I was always glad to be accompanied by a Scottish ship computer, after all!

Will any of these voices return? (At the very least, are there OXPs that have Spoken Message voices similar to en-scottish? :P)
Food - Fuel - Fuzzy Aliens
Why not pay us a visit?
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Re: Is it just me or did some of the voices disappear?

Post by another_commander »

Many voices were removed in 1.75 because they were designated as "test" by the eSpeak developer(s), or were incomplete or simply buggy. We left only a subset that we felt comfortable using and supporting. If you want the Scottish voice, you can find it here. Just download it and save it inside your <OoliteInstallDir>\oolite.app\Resources\espeak-data\voices\en. You will then be able to select it normally from the Options screen.
ChazFox
Above Average
Above Average

Post by ChazFox »

Awesome, thanks a bunch!
Why not pay us a visit?
drew
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Post by drew »

Does it say 'Och, I cannae get any more power, Cap'n!' instead of 'Energy Low!' ? 8)

Cheers,

Drew.
Drew is an author of SF and Fantasy Novels
WebsiteFacebookTwitter
ChazFox
Above Average
Above Average

Post by ChazFox »