Page 25 of 63

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:38 pm
by Screet
Diziet Sma wrote:
There's always F9 and F10.. if you can convince the devs.. :?:
Actually, I was thinking that I should suggest this:

use 1-0 as currently
use f1-f12 to activate the corresponding missile slot (instead of unarming, then moving to the slot, then activating). That would make multi targeting much more fun and allow to target different ships with different missiles without requiring them to be released instantly. A second press of that key for an already targeted missile then could launch it.

...and I don't even use missiles, although my ship is fully equipped :oops:

Screet

..

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:38 pm
by Lestradae
OK, guys, I am quite careful to not call it a day (yet), but I think pmw57's marathon has yielded a big step forward for OSE! :D

There is a way to transfer the last bit of plist to js: Making 192 single js scripts, one for each station :(

No idea if that would still be faster than the last "playerstation.plist" that does the same as one big 192 scripts - list - one per potential station.

I will still playtest all of this extensively, and take into account Eric's suggestion about some ship-related java scripts updated for their original oxps, etc. ... thanks everyone involved in the discussion, and especially pmw57 for his fine work! 8)

Cheers

L

Re: ...

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:41 pm
by pmw57
Screet wrote:
pmw57 wrote:
I've currently have 6 mission texts shown without OSE - and I had even more in the past. It seems like most OXPs just trigger at about the same time, thus causing multiple missions to be running...
Instead of the equipment / mission thing, the player could be notified when he receives his money as a bill of lading, from a UPS agent.
Your station income for the week of 04-10-2009
Galaxy 1 Teaatis: Rock Hermit Station - 4056Cr
Galaxy 1 Usanat: Fuel Station - 7723Cr
Galaxy 1 Aesbion: HoOpy Casino - 13782Cr
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bill_of_lading

The weekly reports appear often enough as it is, to remind you of the stations you own.

Re: ...

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:44 pm
by Lestradae
pmw57 wrote:
The weekly reports appear often enough as it is, to remind you of the stations you own.
Good idea, but the reason why I want it to be a list that is always readable is that you can actually visit your stations ingame! That means that you should always know where it is should you want to pay a visit and/or enjoy the privileges this confers ...

:idea:

L

Re: ..

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:45 pm
by pmw57
Lestradae wrote:
I will still playtest all of this extensively, and take into account Eric's suggestion about some ship-related java scripts updated for their original oxps, etc. ... thanks everyone involved in the discussion, and especially pmw57 for his fine work! 8)
Hold up! Please change in the player income section random() to Math.random() Cheers! :D
http://www.box.net/shared/dodzb27djm

Re: ...

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:46 pm
by pmw57
Lestradae wrote:
pmw57 wrote:
The weekly reports appear often enough as it is, to remind you of the stations you own.
Good idea, but the reason why I want it to be a list that is always readable is that you can actually visit your stations ingame! That means that you should always know where it is should you want to pay a visit and/or enjoy the privileges this confers ...
This is where the placement of a map marker becomes useful, does it not?

Edit: ...

After all, it is very easy to place a marker on a star system.

Code: Select all

mission.markSystem(station1, station2, station3);
It's incredibly low on cpu usage. Mark them 1 by 1 when buying, and all together as a group when you jump to a new galaxy.

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:48 pm
by pmw57
Diziet Sma wrote:
There's always F9 and F10.. if you can convince the devs.. :?:
F4 isn't being used right now :twisted:

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:53 pm
by Screet
Just thinking....

would it be a possible abuse to the f3 screen to add "show owned stations" there, for a price of 0 Cr.?

Screet

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 2:11 pm
by Kaks
Well, all .plists are always run at all times, so there's always some lag in that respect. LittleBear and Commander McLane have a lot of experience on optimising the .plists so that the minimal amount of testing is done while in flight, etc. Either of them might be able to help, if it's not already optimised.

F9 & F10 (& F11 & F12) are used by default by osx at all times, so no can do.


You can always detect a GUI screen change in javascript, so you could alwayis override F5 to F8 to display your mission screen when switching to F5, instead of the normal Oolite display. A bit of creative programming could help in making that override work seamlessly with the rest of oolite! :)

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 2:14 pm
by pmw57
Kaks wrote:
Well, all .plists are always run at all times, so there's always some lag in that respect. LittleBear and Commander McLane have a lot of experience on optimising the .plists so that the minimal amount of testing is done while in flight, etc. Either of them might be able to help, if it's not already optimised.
What feedback would you have on scrapping the whole mission thing, and letting people know the locations via a bill of lading, and map markers?

Then the only performance hits would be when:
  • buying a station - place a map marker, easy
  • going to a new galaxy - place all galaxy map markers, easy

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 2:19 pm
by Kaks
pwm57, how would you avoid conflicts with other oxps that use map markers?

Btw, I haven't really done much in that area, so there probably is a very good answer to this question already... :)

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 2:27 pm
by pmw57
Kaks wrote:
If an oxp removes a map marker when a mission is complete, that might be a map marker for the same system that we still have an interest in. So, we can add the player station map markers whenever someone visits the galactic view page.
The game though really does need a way of managing multiple interests.

Perhaps a feature request is in order, for mark and unmark

Code: Select all

currentGalaxy.systems[4].mark('player_stations');
And removing:

Code: Select all

currentGalaxy.systems[4].unmark('player_stations');
If another oxp uses some other technique to mark and unmark the system, that could trigger a compatibility layer to mark for that oxp the system itself.

mission.markSystem(123, [oxp name])

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 2:33 pm
by Kaks
This still leaves a bit of a problem if the other oxp says something like: 'just go to laleque, it's the planet marked on the map, and when they look at the map there's 10 marked systems? (is there a planet called laleque?)

Hmm, I suppose Dubya's school of diplomacy could come in handy to convince other oxps not to put such vague descriptions in their mission screens.... :P

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 2:42 pm
by pmw57
Kaks wrote:
This still leaves a bit of a problem if the other oxp says something like: 'just go to laleque, it's the planet marked on the map, and when they look at the map there's 10 marked systems? (is there a planet called laleque?)
And, people can type laleque on the galactic screen to have yet another way to find that system.

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:14 pm
by Kaks
Did you try the new exciting way to find planets in trunk? El Viejo seemed quite pleased with it!