Trading Computer
Moderators: winston, another_commander
- Commander McLane
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 9520
- Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
- Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
- Contact:
Re price averages: The averages on the Trading Chart are calculated as (max + min)/2, max and min being the lowest and the highest price theoretically possible according to the price calculating algorithm. It might be that the theoretical range isn't actually fully used in-game, due to the distribution of economy and random (which are the two factors contributing to prices). Or it may just take a very long while until you actually see the very minimum or maximum price of any given commodity.
And, perhaps even more important: The averages are valid for official GalCop-pricing, in other words, for main stations only. Other dockable entities may alter the price range for each commodity at will. Therefore, if you put their prices in your average, you will alter it.
And, perhaps even more important: The averages are valid for official GalCop-pricing, in other words, for main stations only. Other dockable entities may alter the price range for each commodity at will. Therefore, if you put their prices in your average, you will alter it.
This is indeed the case. For The Traders Almanach I ran a complete simulation over all the possible prices an economy can have, so I have the real min, max, and average (over the range of the random number generator) prices. If you are interested I could mail you my findings, just drop me a PM.Commander McLane wrote:Re price averages: The averages on the Trading Chart are calculated as (max + min)/2, max and min being the lowest and the highest price theoretically possible according to the price calculating algorithm. It might be that the theoretical range isn't actually fully used in-game, due to the distribution of economy and random (which are the two factors contributing to prices).
Yours, Christian Treczoks
- Commander McLane
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 9520
- Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
- Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
- Contact:
-
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 332
- Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:12 pm
- Location: Uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm
Frontier allowed you to look at prices before docking via the F4 comms stuff...
...didn't it?
In terms of the "how would you know" backstory, you could argue that a Jameson would do his research before getting his pilot's license, and would have a copy of an almanac with last year's prices in. (Or more likely, would have the iGroan app installed with same.)
Or you could make a piece of equipment available that logs prices as you visit systems and then does the math for you... "Trading Computer" or some such. That way you won't have some kind of eldritch knowledge outside the Ooniverse, you'd only be using data you yourself had gathered.
...didn't it?
In terms of the "how would you know" backstory, you could argue that a Jameson would do his research before getting his pilot's license, and would have a copy of an almanac with last year's prices in. (Or more likely, would have the iGroan app installed with same.)
Or you could make a piece of equipment available that logs prices as you visit systems and then does the math for you... "Trading Computer" or some such. That way you won't have some kind of eldritch knowledge outside the Ooniverse, you'd only be using data you yourself had gathered.
-
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 389
- Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 2:14 pm
- Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Do the station prices change after you've docked? No? Then perhaps your ship obtained those prices beforehand, when it entered the system itself.zevans wrote:In terms of the "how would you know" backstory, you could argue that a Jameson would do his research before getting his pilot's license, and would have a copy of an almanac with last year's prices in. (Or more likely, would have the iGroan app installed with same.)
I would think that the witchspace beacon automatically repeats such base system data that your ship picks up on when it enters the system.
This then neatly explains how and why all ships have that data available.
A trumble a day keeps the doctor away, and the tax man;
even the Grim Reaper keeps his distance.
-- Paul Wilkins
even the Grim Reaper keeps his distance.
-- Paul Wilkins
- Commander McLane
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 9520
- Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
- Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
- Contact:
-
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 389
- Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 2:14 pm
- Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
I should mention here that I am developing a trading computer for purchase, which will record the main station prices as you enter a system and let you know of best profits available from the historical data of nearby systems that you have traveled.zevans wrote:Or you could make a piece of equipment available that logs prices as you visit systems and then does the math for you... "Trading Computer" or some such. That way you won't have some kind of eldritch knowledge outside the Ooniverse, you'd only be using data you yourself had gathered.
Such an OXP isn't treading on anyone's toes, is it?
A trumble a day keeps the doctor away, and the tax man;
even the Grim Reaper keeps his distance.
-- Paul Wilkins
even the Grim Reaper keeps his distance.
-- Paul Wilkins
- Eric Walch
- Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
- Posts: 5536
- Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
- Location: Netherlands
I think that random number that generates the price variations is generated when entering the system. Its base is also stored in some way in the saved game (found_system_seed ?) so even after loading an old game the prices stay the same. Only jumping out and back in should change them.Commander McLane wrote:Interesting.
This would suggest that MARKET_RND isn't as random as it should be. But it also does not seem to be always the same in the same system
UPS-Courier & DeepSpacePirates & others at the box and some older versions
- Commander McLane
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 9520
- Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
- Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
- Contact:
Eric Walch wrote:I think that random number that generates the price variations is generated when entering the system. Its base is also stored in some way in the saved game (found_system_seed ?)
Code: Select all
<key>market_rnd</key>
<integer>85</integer>