Matching Planets?
Moderators: winston, another_commander
- Cody
- Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
- Posts: 16081
- Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
- Location: The Lizard's Claw
- Contact:
Matching Planets?
I use the System Redux OXP because it’s just so…decorative. You cruise in to a planet, admiring the view. Lovely.
Then you dock and look at the F7 screen. Oolite’s own planets are pretty good as well, and I use them if I take Trunk out for a spin.
But sometimes I wish that the F7 image would match the System Redux image.
Last night I was in the Divees system (G5) using System Redux:
First pic is approaching Divees.
Second pic is docked at Divees.
I was struck by the similarity. Anyone else seen anything as close to a match as this?
Then you dock and look at the F7 screen. Oolite’s own planets are pretty good as well, and I use them if I take Trunk out for a spin.
But sometimes I wish that the F7 image would match the System Redux image.
Last night I was in the Divees system (G5) using System Redux:
First pic is approaching Divees.
Second pic is docked at Divees.
I was struck by the similarity. Anyone else seen anything as close to a match as this?
I would advise stilts for the quagmires, and camels for the snowy hills
And any survivors, their debts I will certainly pay. There's always a way!
And any survivors, their debts I will certainly pay. There's always a way!
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6683
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
- Cmd. Cheyd
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 934
- Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:52 pm
- Location: Deep Horizon Industries Manufacturing & Research Site somewhere in G8...
Believe that is new as of the 1.73.x releases.
Find my OXP's at:
Deep Horizon Industries - Your Planet Our Design
Deep Horizon Industries - Your Planet Our Design
Yep. One other thing: if you define a distant planet's texture using:
- or its plist equivalent, you will be able to see 'newtexture.png' around that distant planet too.
It's no longer only for the local planet anymore!
Code: Select all
system.infoForSystem(0,211).texture = 'newtexture.png'
It's no longer only for the local planet anymore!
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)
- Cmd. Cheyd
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 934
- Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:52 pm
- Location: Deep Horizon Industries Manufacturing & Research Site somewhere in G8...
Hmm... Going to have to work out how I can manage to access / leverage that inside SR2 without pre-loading 2048 (or even 256) system.infoForSystem(x,x)'s.
Find my OXP's at:
Deep Horizon Industries - Your Planet Our Design
Deep Horizon Industries - Your Planet Our Design
Yep. planetinfo.plist is where you can put the data. Unfortunately the whole pretty planets on F7 thing is disabled on the mac until we find a solution for some nasty mac only crashes that kept happening with the procedural textures on...
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)
- Cmd. Cheyd
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 934
- Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:52 pm
- Location: Deep Horizon Industries Manufacturing & Research Site somewhere in G8...
Need a JS method for catching the request for the sysinfo so we can feed it back stats or a texture via JS. Or if there's a way to do this now, I'm not really sure what it'd be.
@L - Look at the API I published for SR2. You might like the concept. It's lays out a bit of a model for which OXP's can inter-operate when it comes to textures, sysInfo, etc...
@L - Look at the API I published for SR2. You might like the concept. It's lays out a bit of a model for which OXP's can inter-operate when it comes to textures, sysInfo, etc...
Find my OXP's at:
Deep Horizon Industries - Your Planet Our Design
Deep Horizon Industries - Your Planet Our Design
CC: you can check if system.info.texture is set already with 1.73.4, but it might or might not have been applied, depending on users settings / OS used. The automagical texture thing, (and the pretty F7 planet) depends on the procedural planets being turned on, which you can't currently do on a mac.
I'm thinking of a way of enabling system.info.texture regardless of user settings, but there were/are ...err... complications... with the underlying planet rendering code, so I definitely wouldn't hold my breath there.
In trunk you can test using system.mainPlanet.texture directly. if it's not null, you've got an already retextured planet.
Does this help?
I'm thinking of a way of enabling system.info.texture regardless of user settings, but there were/are ...err... complications... with the underlying planet rendering code, so I definitely wouldn't hold my breath there.
In trunk you can test using system.mainPlanet.texture directly. if it's not null, you've got an already retextured planet.
Does this help?
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)
- Cmd. Cheyd
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 934
- Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:52 pm
- Location: Deep Horizon Industries Manufacturing & Research Site somewhere in G8...
Kaks: Unfortunately, no. I can currently detect the player is on the system info screen via:
The problem is I can't determine WHICH system they are viewing. System.info.texture will only return for the CURRENT system I'm in. If I could somehow find out WHAT the systemID is for the GUI_SCREEN_SYSTEM_DATA, it'd make this EASY. Also, system.info.texture = 'foo.png' doesn't seem to take immediate effect on the SYSTEM_DATA window. It does take effect immediately on the forward view though. So even once I can capture the systemID, if I try to directly test for a texture, it returns false, and I apply one - It still won't be visible.
However, thank you for helping me to realize I need to texture the main planet on startup, in addition to shipWillLaunchFromStation and shipWillExitWitchspace.
Code: Select all
this.guiScreenChanged = function(to, from) {
if (to == "GUI_SCREEN_SYSTEM_DATA") {
<Foo>
}
}
However, thank you for helping me to realize I need to texture the main planet on startup, in addition to shipWillLaunchFromStation and shipWillExitWitchspace.
Find my OXP's at:
Deep Horizon Industries - Your Planet Our Design
Deep Horizon Industries - Your Planet Our Design