Regular crashes are back with 1.73.4 :(
Moderators: winston, another_commander, Getafix
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6814
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Hmmm.
Wish I had my nice development environment...gdb even does write error messages and warnings on top of each other, making it pretty unreadable
I just did make a debug run and let the pilot fly cloaked without any further interaction. Before the energy was drained from the cloak, the game crashed as expected.
Inmidst the "assigning non-constant to 'const float'" there's this on the output (with the missing character!):
I can't see much from this.
Screet
Wish I had my nice development environment...gdb even does write error messages and warnings on top of each other, making it pretty unreadable

I just did make a debug run and let the pilot fly cloaked without any further interaction. Before the energy was drained from the cloak, the game crashed as expected.
Inmidst the "assigning non-constant to 'const float'" there's this on the output (with the missing character!):
Code: Select all
warning: ERROR:
warnin
Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0x63d0d80a in _libws2_32_a_iname ()
(gdb) g: compilation errors. No code generated.
warning: ERROR:
warning 1:12
warning: :
warning: '=' assigning non-constant to 'const float'
warning: ERROR:
warning: compilation errors. No code generated.
warning: WARNING:
warning: built-in varying gl_TexCoord [0] has mismatched access semantics between the vertex and fragment shader
Screet
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6814
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
The assigning float to const float etc. messages, together with the gl_TexCoord[0] one are errors in shaders (can't tell you which ones with the information shown here). The crash message itself does not reveal anything, because the crash happens outside of the executable, in one of the support libraries. Usually this means that the support library has received bogus data from the executable. To be able to see something useful, next time it crashes type bt (backtrace) in the gdb command line and post the stack frame dump here.
It's ALL in that lib.another_commander wrote:To be able to see something useful, next time it crashes type bt (backtrace) in the gdb command line and post the stack frame dump here.
Several times _libws2_32_a_iname () is listed, the other times just ?? ()
Is there a way to expand the backtrace beyond 24 lines?
Screet
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6814
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Oolite is at 657K, task manager reports that in total half of the machines 2 GiB are being used by all programs together.another_commander wrote:The backtrace by default is shown from crash point to start up at main. What is the size in KB of the exe you are using? Are you doing this on Vista64 or 32 bit?
Both #0 and #23 in bt are reporting _libws2_32_a_iname ()
I have to use that old XP machine with 32bit OS as these tools do not like Vista64.
Screet
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6814
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Me being almost asleep..M not K. Slightly over half a gigabyte of RAM being used.another_commander wrote:Are you sure it's 657K and not 6570K or similar? If it is indeed 657K, then you are using a (very) stripped executable, which does not contain debug info and is expected to not show anything under gdb. For reference, on my system, a stripped exe is around 2300K, non-stripped 9598K.
If you talk about the executable, I've shut down the machine, but IIRC it was slightly below 10 megabytes.
Screet
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6814
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
That library is called internally. There is no way we can add checks to trap what is happening with it when called. Plus, we would not be able to do anything about it even if we were able to add checks. Since your executable behaves exactly like a stripped one, the best thing that can be done is to change strategy, i.e. forget debugging it, remove all oxps and try to find a way to reproduce the crash reliably instead.
There is a reliable way to reproduce the crash: Launch, witchspace and then leave the computer alone. Cloak the ship to increase survival chances...the crash typically happens much faster than the cloak can drain the energy.another_commander wrote:That library is called internally. There is no way we can add checks to trap what is happening with it when called. Plus, we would not be able to do anything about it even if we were able to add checks. Since your executable behaves exactly like a stripped one, the best thing that can be done is to change strategy, i.e. forget debugging it, remove all oxps and try to find a way to reproduce the crash reliably instead.
The crash does not require any user interaction. It's simply happening after a brief amount of time, typically way before the ship could reach the planet.
EDIT: Maybe it requires the ship to be in a star system. The reason is that I do not remember any crashes while being in interstallar space for a long time (thargoid hive from cataclysm). Might have been luck, though. However, the game crashed several times before I could dock after I jumped to a system when the mission was finished. The crash also occurs without that oxp...and as someone wrote already, without any oxps.
Screet
-
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 332
- Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:12 pm
- Location: Uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm
If it doesn't happen in Witchspace... dare I ask... could it be return of the dreaded textured planet weirdness?
Screet - what graphics chipset you on? I had a situation on mine where my graphics stack was falling over with oolite and wasn't falling over with a couple of other 3d games, so I think oolite might be quite good at knocking over otherwise happy graphics stacks! ( I was using an alpha-quality release of the graphics drivers, but the point is oolite and only oolite managed to knock them over.)
Screet - what graphics chipset you on? I had a situation on mine where my graphics stack was falling over with oolite and wasn't falling over with a couple of other 3d games, so I think oolite might be quite good at knocking over otherwise happy graphics stacks! ( I was using an alpha-quality release of the graphics drivers, but the point is oolite and only oolite managed to knock them over.)
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6814
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
I cannot reproduce any crash the way you describe. That is after leaving the game running for more than about twenty minutes and jumping through two or three systems, both with trunk and 1.73.4.Screet wrote:There is a reliable way to reproduce the crash: Launch, witchspace and then leave the computer alone. Cloak the ship to increase survival chances...the crash typically happens much faster than the cloak can drain the energy.