plannets.oxp - is it still working?
Moderators: winston, another_commander
@Lestradae, Yes it is, but only in the Lave system at the moment.
@Ahruman, can we use shaders for planets too? **heads off to Wiki to investigate*
@Ahruman, can we use shaders for planets too? **heads off to Wiki to investigate*
Download Fighter HUD, Stingray and System Redux from the EliteWiki
Hi Kaks, it was my fault! I didn't realise system.mainPlanet.radius was a string.Kaks wrote:Hmmm, nice
Phew, not that bad then!1 down, 1791 to go.
Weird about the radius difference. I'll see if I can find a simple formula to go from shipdata to script radius...
4116 + 1 = 41161 instead of 4117
Code: Select all
var radius = system.mainPlanet.radius + 1;
Download Fighter HUD, Stingray and System Redux from the EliteWiki
- Lestradae
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 3095
- Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:30 pm
- Location: Vienna, Austria
Does this mean ...
Does this mean ...
Would you ... can I have it, best, yesterday?
L
... that it is now possible to texture all the planets in the game again with a simple oxp?Hi Kaks, it was my fault! I didn't realise system.mainPlanet.radius was a string.
4116 + 1 = 41161 instead of 4117
Code: Select all
var radius = system.mainPlanet.radius + 1;
Would you ... can I have it, best, yesterday?
L
- JensAyton
- Grand Admiral Emeritus
- Posts: 6657
- Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Contact:
Eh? *looks*CaptKev wrote:Hi Kaks, it was my fault! I didn't realise system.mainPlanet.radius was a string. :?
It’s not, you know. However, the radius in planetentity.plist is in tens of metres, while the JavaScript property is in metres. (Or, more precisely, the value in planetentity.plist is in nominal km, but this is scaled down by a factor of 100.) You could verify this by, say, logging the value before you add anything to it. :-)
E-mail: [email protected]
- Captain Hesperus
- Grand High Clock-Tower Poobah
- Posts: 2310
- Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 1:10 pm
- Location: Anywhere I can sell Trumbles.....
Hear, hear! And what's more, we aren't even jealous because we know it benefits the whole community!TGHC wrote:Oh boy, I love this game, and you creative guys are awesome.
Captain Hesperus
The truth, revealed!!
Re: Does this mean ...
I don't know about a simple OXP (then again, it is me doing it!) because it will still require a large number on entries in the planetinfo.plistLestradae wrote:Does this mean ...
... that it is now possible to texture all the planets in the game again with a simple oxp?
L
Download Fighter HUD, Stingray and System Redux from the EliteWiki
- JensAyton
- Grand Admiral Emeritus
- Posts: 6657
- Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Contact:
It appears that naturally-occurring planets have radii of the from (x + 11) * 2560 metres, where x is a number from 0 to 15. Only 16 variants to deal with, in other words. Sythetic additives may cause planets of semi-arbitrary size.CaptKev wrote:Thanks for the info Ahruman, don't suppose there's a list of planet radii anywhere? :lol:
E-mail: [email protected]
That's fantastic news Ahruman (I was expecting every planet to have a different size), thanks very much for looking this information up for me.
Download Fighter HUD, Stingray and System Redux from the EliteWiki
- Lestradae
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 3095
- Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:30 pm
- Location: Vienna, Austria
Question
Just asking if I understand this.
So, a planet texturing oxp would actually have to do the following three steps:
1. Change the position of the (main) planet from position = "pwm X Y Z" to position = "pwm 0 0 0".
2. Read out which of the 16 radius variants the given main planet has.
3. Have 16 different planet textures ready (for variety, and the "variation seed" is already there via the 16 possible radii) and create the planet surface via second planet which is, say, 50 metres bigger in diameter than the system-specific (x + 11) * 2560 metres (x=0 to 15)
Done.
Am I right?
L
PS: Two further questions.
* Will the atmosphere stay on after the second planet was put onto the first?
* And, most importantly, will all system-specific objects still be in valid positions after moving the planet to position = "pwm 0 0 0"?
So, a planet texturing oxp would actually have to do the following three steps:
1. Change the position of the (main) planet from position = "pwm X Y Z" to position = "pwm 0 0 0".
2. Read out which of the 16 radius variants the given main planet has.
3. Have 16 different planet textures ready (for variety, and the "variation seed" is already there via the 16 possible radii) and create the planet surface via second planet which is, say, 50 metres bigger in diameter than the system-specific (x + 11) * 2560 metres (x=0 to 15)
Done.
Am I right?
L
PS: Two further questions.
* Will the atmosphere stay on after the second planet was put onto the first?
* And, most importantly, will all system-specific objects still be in valid positions after moving the planet to position = "pwm 0 0 0"?
Hi Lestradae, as far as I can tell the planet position is already at 'pwm 0 0 0'.
I have it working using the Earth.png with 16 different radius variants. Rather than just randomly selecting what texture gets used for each planet I would prefer to try and match it to how the 'textured planet' branch worked.
I did get it working with the atmosphere but the clouds looked a bit silly (and square) against the textured planet.
If you want to do this OXP instead of me, go right ahead (I'm sure your do a better job of it than I ever could!).
I have it working using the Earth.png with 16 different radius variants. Rather than just randomly selecting what texture gets used for each planet I would prefer to try and match it to how the 'textured planet' branch worked.
I did get it working with the atmosphere but the clouds looked a bit silly (and square) against the textured planet.
If you want to do this OXP instead of me, go right ahead (I'm sure your do a better job of it than I ever could!).
Download Fighter HUD, Stingray and System Redux from the EliteWiki
Re: Question
Err, a bit of a misunderstanding there. The definition of pwm is that the planet is at "pwm 0 0 0" no need to move planets around.Lestradae wrote:Just asking if I understand this.
1. Change the position of the (main) planet from position = "pwm X Y Z" to position = "pwm 0 0 0".
and for each texture you need to have 16 variations, all identical planets, apart from the radius.
If you're happy for all the planets in the ooniverse to look like earth, all you need is 1 texture. Of course it would be nice to have 4-5 different earthlike textures, to relieve the monotony.
Alles klar Kumpel? (sorry, couldn't resist a bit of german.)
edit: beaten by Capt. Kev, must type faster!
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)
- Lestradae
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 3095
- Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:30 pm
- Location: Vienna, Austria
Erm ...
Hye!
But I digress. As is usual with me
No, please, by all means, do it. My nudging comments are more to the point that I would REALLY like nicely textured planets. For me (and, I think, many other players of Oolite) them being in or not raises or lowers the atmosphere factor by, well, about five.
So, bottom line, PLEASE just go ahead, and if you do, I will cheer you all the way and be the first to congratulate afterwards
Hoping for textured planets still
L
EDIT: Ah, yes, @Kaks: Guten Morgen!
Eh ... no. It`s not that I wouldn`t like to, but I can`t. There is a future idea that is spinning in my head, but for that, I`ll need help from the harald.ist.org guy who helped me create my Realistic Shipyards OXP`s additional ships and a friend of ours who works professionally as a graphics man and a few months time. The Solar Systems OXP. But I don`t know yet if I´ll really try.If you want to do this OXP instead of me, go right ahead (I'm sure your do a better job of it than I ever could!).
But I digress. As is usual with me
No, please, by all means, do it. My nudging comments are more to the point that I would REALLY like nicely textured planets. For me (and, I think, many other players of Oolite) them being in or not raises or lowers the atmosphere factor by, well, about five.
So, bottom line, PLEASE just go ahead, and if you do, I will cheer you all the way and be the first to congratulate afterwards
Hoping for textured planets still
L
EDIT: Ah, yes, @Kaks: Guten Morgen!
- Lestradae
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 3095
- Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:30 pm
- Location: Vienna, Austria
plannnnnnets
As I said, I would like to, but that is currently far beyond my skills.I was hoping you were going to say, Yes
Very, very cool!Here's the texture for the second version of Earth:
Hm, are you going to make it? Because, it doesn`t seem so complicated if one knows how to script that, is it?
I mean, take the system information, alter the coordinate system, create an accordingly shaped planetary condom (TM), accumulate 16 textures and let Oolite add this new "planet" over the old one into the system. Which of the sixteen, just let the radius info decide. Done.
Is that so?
If I knew how to do it, I`ll get right on to it ... but I can`t
Hopeful greetings
L