Separate Volume Controls
Moderators: winston, another_commander
Separate Volume Controls
Someone might have to school me -- it's been a while since I've checked out Oolite. I'm running the development version with the Background Set. I also have Speech Messages: Comm Only turned on in settings. Is there a configuration file somewhere where we can modify sound effects, music and speech message volumes separately? It would be great if there were three separate volume settings in the options menu or is that something that can be OXP'd?
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6681
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Re: Separate Volume Controls
I don't know about OXPs, but in the core we have only the master volume control in Options. Making three sliders just for sound volume would mean that we would run out of space and require a redesign of the Game Options screen. I am not fully convinced that it's worth the hassle, at least not for v1.82.
- Wildeblood
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2453
- Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 6:07 am
- Location: Western Australia
- Contact:
Re: Separate Volume Controls
Unless you made every individual sound sample independently settable, it wouldn't solve the problem of the trading bell being too loud compared to the others. Best leave this can of worms alone.
- Smivs
- Retired Assassin
- Posts: 8408
- Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
- Location: Lost in space
- Contact:
Re: Separate Volume Controls
Agreed. There are probably far more important aspects of the game that the Devs could be working on.another_commander wrote:I am not fully convinced that it's worth the hassle, at least not for v1.82.
Personally my cockpit is a quiet and peaceful place - I really don't like noise-clutter so I just use the default sound effects, set to a low volume. I find spoken messages are an irritating distraction, and although music plays a huge part in my 'real' life, there is no place for it on my ship.
This is not a functionality I (and probably many others) would ever want. Much better would be a way to selectively disable default sounds. Apart from ECM, lasers and hull-hits, what else do you really need?
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.
- spud42
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 1576
- Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 10:11 am
- Location: Brisbane,Australia
Re: Separate Volume Controls
couldn't you use audacity or similar to reduce the volume of the oog files that are too loud?
Arthur: OK. Leave this to me. I'm British. I know how to queue.
OR i could go with
Arthur Dent: I always said there was something fundamentally wrong with the universe.
or simply
42
OR i could go with
Arthur Dent: I always said there was something fundamentally wrong with the universe.
or simply
42
Re: Separate Volume Controls
The BlueDanube sound is WAAAY too load compared to the voice mesages. I replaced the ogg file in /opt/Oolite/oolite.app/Resources/Music with some other file but it looks like the music is hardwired into oolite. The software doesn't read that file at all.another_commander wrote:I don't know about OXPs, but in the core we have only the master volume control in Options. Making three sliders just for sound volume would mean that we would run out of space and require a redesign of the Game Options screen. I am not fully convinced that it's worth the hassle, at least not for v1.82.
How about allowing to replace the ogg with another music that is less loud?
~~~~
washuu_de
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6681
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Re: Separate Volume Controls
After you replaced the ogg, did you try Shift-restart?
Re: Separate Volume Controls
Would it be possible to allow volume control for
Sound.playMusic()
?- Diziet Sma
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 6312
- Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
- Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"
Re: Separate Volume Controls
Gets my vote..Svengali wrote:Would it be possible to allow volume control forSound.playMusic()
?
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6681
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Re: Separate Volume Controls
I have already something in the works for this. Some more testing needed. Wish me luck, if all OK, we may have it into tonight's nightly.Diziet Sma wrote:Gets my vote..Svengali wrote:Would it be possible to allow volume control forSound.playMusic()
?
Re: Separate Volume Controls
That would be awesome, a_c!another_commander wrote:I have already something in the works for this. Some more testing needed. Wish me luck, if all OK, we may have it into tonight's nightly.
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6681
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Re: Separate Volume Controls
... aaaand here we go. Commit 74bb815 should enable an optional third parameter in the JS Sound class function
playMusic
, representing the desired volume of the music to play. The parameter is a float capped between 0.0 and 1.0 and is relative to the master gain, which means that a value of 1.0 gives it its full gain at the current master volume setting. Feel free to test and let us know what you think.Re: Separate Volume Controls
Yes. But that doesn't change a thing.another_commander wrote:After you replaced the ogg, did you try Shift-restart?
Re: Separate Volume Controls
Hmm. There are OXP/OXZs which are replacing the main theme or docking music. Please try without any AddOn and let us know.washuu_de wrote:Yes. But that doesn't change a thing.another_commander wrote:After you replaced the ogg, did you try Shift-restart?
Re: Separate Volume Controls
I installed RandomDockingMusic.oxp and without removing the addons it worked right away.Svengali wrote:Hmm. There are OXP/OXZs which are replacing the main theme or docking music. Please try without any AddOn and let us know.washuu_de wrote:Yes. But that doesn't change a thing.another_commander wrote:After you replaced the ogg, did you try Shift-restart?
So... Thank you very much for the hint.
One other thing, though...
Because my test sound file is rather short I thought i could set it to repeat.
So I changed
Code: Select all
Sound.load(track)
Sound.playMusic(track)
this.OneSecTimer.stop()
Code: Select all
Sound.load(track)
Sound.playMusic(track, true)
this.OneSecTimer.stop()
Code: Select all
Sound.load(track)
Sound.playMusic(track, "yes")
this.OneSecTimer.stop()
I read some documentation and it says:
Code: Select all
[b]playMusic[/b]
function [b]playMusic[/b](soundFile : String [, loop: Boolean])
Play the specified music file, optionally looped. This may have no effect depending on the player’s music settings.
~~~~