Help - how to specify escort ships in shipdata.plist

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

Post Reply
DGill
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 292
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 9:45 am

Help - how to specify escort ships in shipdata.plist

Post by DGill »

I'm trying to spawn an anaconda with my specified escorts. I'm using Oolite v 1.80

If I use in shipdata (below) a like_ship as a constrictor, for example, I correctly spawn a constrictor with 2 kraits.
however if I change the like_ship to anaconda - instead of 2 kraits I get varying numbers of other types of ship as escorts.

Is there a command I can add that forces the anaconda to have the escort ships I want?

{
"dgship" =
{
"ai_type" = "route1traderAI.plist";
// like_ship = "oolite_template_constrictor";
like_ship = "oolite_template_anaconda";
beacon = "dgship";
escort-ship = "krait";
escorts = 2;
name = "dgship";
roles = "dgship";

};

}
User avatar
cim
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 4072
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:19 pm

Re: Help - how to specify escort ships in shipdata.plist

Post by cim »

There are a few different ways to specify an escort list. In 1.80, with standard escorts being split into light, medium and heavy classes, the standard freighters use the "escort_roles" property. If you like_ship a freighter, that copies the escort_roles property of the original, which overrides any "escort_role" or "escort_ship" you specify.

So, if you use "escort_roles" instead to specify the escorts, it should work.

Code: Select all

escort_roles = (
  { role = "[krait]"; min = 2; max = 2; }
);
Putting the ship name in square brackets like that means you can use a specific ship type in situations which are looking for a ship role.
DGill
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 292
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 9:45 am

Re: Help - how to specify escort ships in shipdata.plist

Post by DGill »

Thanks cim, that works fine
Post Reply