Joystick sensitivity toggle

An area for discussing new ideas and additions to Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

User avatar
cim
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 4072
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:19 pm

Re: Joystick sensitivity toggle

Post by cim »

Mad Hollander wrote:
To me oolite (like any game with joystick) requires features for calibrating the joystick or, at least, smoother change of sensitivity.
The build went okay, so please try downloading today's 1.79 build, and changing the parameter in your config file as above. (No in-game menu for it yet, but we can add one if it works)
User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 16081
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: The Lizard's Claw
Contact:

Re: Joystick sensitivity toggle

Post by Cody »

cim wrote:
For now to test it you need to put

Code: Select all

<key>JoystickNonlinear</key>
<real>X</real>
in your GNUStepDefaults file.
Hmm... when I put that into my GNUStepDefaults, it crashes Oolite every time. I've probably got something basic wrong... but what?
I don't think Oolite reads the GNUStepDefaults, as it doesn't launch in fullscreen as per normal.
I would advise stilts for the quagmires, and camels for the snowy hills
And any survivors, their debts I will certainly pay. There's always a way!
User avatar
cim
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 4072
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:19 pm

Re: Joystick sensitivity toggle

Post by cim »

Cody wrote:
cim wrote:
For now to test it you need to put

Code: Select all

<key>JoystickNonlinear</key>
<real>X</real>
in your GNUStepDefaults file.
Hmm... when I put that into my GNUStepDefaults, it crashes Oolite every time. I've probably got something basic wrong... but what?
I don't think Oolite reads the GNUStepDefaults, as it doesn't launch in fullscreen as per normal.
Okay, that's not supposed to happen...
Check 1: You did replace "X" with a number between 0 and 1.
Check 2: It starts up fine without that key.
User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 16081
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: The Lizard's Claw
Contact:

Re: Joystick sensitivity toggle

Post by Cody »

Yes to both. Is that key XML? Should it be OpenStep or something?
I would advise stilts for the quagmires, and camels for the snowy hills
And any survivors, their debts I will certainly pay. There's always a way!
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 6683
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Joystick sensitivity toggle

Post by another_commander »

Cody wrote:
cim wrote:
For now to test it you need to put

Code: Select all

<key>JoystickNonlinear</key>
<real>X</real>
in your GNUStepDefaults file.
Hmm... when I put that into my GNUStepDefaults, it crashes Oolite every time. I've probably got something basic wrong... but what?
I don't think Oolite reads the GNUStepDefaults, as it doesn't launch in fullscreen as per normal.
.GNUstepDefaults in Windows is OpenStep format, while on Linux it seems to be XML. Put this line in your .GNUstepDefaults and it should be OK:

Code: Select all

JoystickNonlinear = X;
where X is a float value from 0.0 to 1.0 and it should work.
User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 16081
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: The Lizard's Claw
Contact:

Re: Joystick sensitivity toggle

Post by Cody »

Yep, it's working fine now... thanks, Admiral. I did wonder about the XML... hey-ho!
I would advise stilts for the quagmires, and camels for the snowy hills
And any survivors, their debts I will certainly pay. There's always a way!
Mad Hollander
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 11:57 am

Re: Joystick sensitivity toggle

Post by Mad Hollander »

cim wrote:
Mad Hollander wrote:
To me oolite (like any game with joystick) requires features for calibrating the joystick or, at least, smoother change of sensitivity.
The build went okay, so please try downloading today's 1.79 build, and changing the parameter in your config file as above. (No in-game menu for it yet, but we can add one if it works)
I did and saw no difference, at least the same thing with the Adder.
Checked with Anaconda - all is ok, I can aim at distance even 30km.
Suppose the reason is high pitch value of the Adder and the same problem will be with any ship that has high pitch, 2 or more.
another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 6683
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Joystick sensitivity toggle

Post by another_commander »

Just bringing to the attention of the Windows port users interested in testing joystick non-linearity, that the nightly build of this morning failed to get published in time for Windows. It got published just a few hours ago. If your nightly's hex id on the watermark reads c2abd5c, then the non-linearity feature is not yet in. The nightly version that contains it has hex tag 65f3e2e.
User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 16081
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: The Lizard's Claw
Contact:

Re: Joystick sensitivity toggle

Post by Cody »

There I was, having just scoffed a whole apple strudel with cream, and settling-in for a long test session. Oh well... back to hunting errant Asps.
I would advise stilts for the quagmires, and camels for the snowy hills
And any survivors, their debts I will certainly pay. There's always a way!
User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Lost in space
Contact:

Re: Joystick sensitivity toggle

Post by Smivs »

Cody wrote:
There I was, having just scoffed a whole apple strudel with cream...
:D
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.
Mad Hollander
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 11:57 am

Re: Joystick sensitivity toggle

Post by Mad Hollander »

Mad Hollander wrote:
I did and saw no difference, at least the same thing with the Adder.
Checked with Anaconda - all is ok, I can aim at distance even 30km.
Suppose the reason is high pitch value of the Adder and the same problem will be with any ship that has high pitch, 2 or more.
Checked old version, 1.77 - the same thing, it is very difficult to aim Adder at a target that more than 10km and after 20 km I barely can hit the target
Mad Hollander
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 11:57 am

Re: Joystick sensitivity toggle

Post by Mad Hollander »

another_commander wrote:
Just bringing to the attention of the Windows port users interested in testing joystick non-linearity, that the nightly build of this morning failed to get published in time for Windows. It got published just a few hours ago. If your nightly's hex id on the watermark reads c2abd5c, then the non-linearity feature is not yet in. The nightly version that contains it has hex tag 65f3e2e.
Damn, I had been playing with the value of JoystickNonlinear hell knows how many hours and the watermark was c2abd5c :cry:

65f3e2e - looks like nonlinearity works a bit.
User avatar
Diziet Sma
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 6312
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"

Re: Joystick sensitivity toggle

Post by Diziet Sma »

Mad Hollander wrote:
65f3e2e - looks like nonlinearity works a bit.
Try playing with the value of 'X'..

I'm about to take it for a spin myself right now..


Just a thought here cim.. given that people will be playing with a variety of different ships, and given what a big difference the pitch-rate of a particular ship can make, it does sound as if a slider will be necessary to accommodate individual preferences.
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied
User avatar
cim
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 4072
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:19 pm

Re: Joystick sensitivity toggle

Post by cim »

Diziet Sma wrote:
Just a thought here cim.. given that people will be playing with a variety of different ships, and given what a big difference the pitch-rate of a particular ship can make, it does sound as if a slider will be necessary to accommodate individual preferences.
Probably, unless it turns out that regardless of ship turning it fully on gives best performance.
User avatar
Diziet Sma
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 6312
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"

Re: Joystick sensitivity toggle

Post by Diziet Sma »

Having had a quick play, I'm inclined to agree with Mad Hollander.. "a bit" pretty much sums it up.

In other words, it's nice, but the maximum setting is nowhere near maximum enough. In a standard CobbyMk3, with non-linearity at 1.0, more than the lightest touch of pressure causes the pitch up/down to still move too quickly. Roll is better, but the sensitive region is still only a few millimetres of stick movement. Yaw is slightly better again, but could still use improvement.

On a scale of 0.0 to 1.0, I'd like it to be set at around 2.0 or even more. If it topped out at 5.0 or even 10.0 would be nice. As it stands now, I'd definitely still need to use precision mode in conjunction with this.


I've discovered the non-linear effect is only operational in precision mode.. where it works reasonably well.. being able to set it about 1.5-2.0 times as high as it is currently might be nice, but not essential.
Last edited by Diziet Sma on Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied
Post Reply