Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec
Moderators: winston, another_commander
- RyanHoots
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 958
- Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 8:10 pm
- Location: Nowhere
- Contact:
Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec
I would like to write an OXP that makes all main stations Dodecs. I such an OXP would involve the planetinfo.plist file, right? I think Dodecahedron stations are cooler then Coriolis or Icosahedron stations. Thanks,
- DaddyHoggy
- Intergalactic Spam Assassin
- Posts: 8515
- Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
- Location: Newbury, UK
- Contact:
Re: Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec
But the station types are related to Tech level, estimated trade and GDP of the planet - old Coriolis stations at the poorer smaller systems, Dodecs and Isos at the bigger, richer, more advanced systems.
Why on earth would you want bland uniformity? (Especially given how cool some of the Coriolis station textures are) - and it would also make the finale of Cataclysm stick out like a sore thumb...
And my favourite "Main Station" is the Trader Station - a downgraded (read less advertising) version of the Constore.
Why on earth would you want bland uniformity? (Especially given how cool some of the Coriolis station textures are) - and it would also make the finale of Cataclysm stick out like a sore thumb...
And my favourite "Main Station" is the Trader Station - a downgraded (read less advertising) version of the Constore.
Oolite Life is now revealed hereSelezen wrote:Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
- RyanHoots
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 958
- Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 8:10 pm
- Location: Nowhere
- Contact:
Re: Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec
So every planet would need a high tech level. No fun. I see what you mean about bland uniformity, never thought about that.DaddyHoggy wrote:But the station types are related to Tech level, estimated trade and GDP of the planet - old Coriolis stations at the poorer smaller systems, Dodecs and Isos at the bigger, richer, more advanced systems.
Why on earth would you want bland uniformity? (Especially given how cool some of the Coriolis station textures are) - and it would also make the finale of Cataclysm stick out like a sore thumb...
And my favourite "Main Station" is the Trader Station - a downgraded (read less advertising) version of the Constore.
Re: Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec
My favorite station is the SuperHub -- it's so large you can dock while something is coming out and not need to worry about ramming each other. You can also dock from 2 different sides.
- RyanHoots
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 958
- Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 8:10 pm
- Location: Nowhere
- Contact:
Re: Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec
Cool!Switeck wrote:My favorite station is the SuperHub -- it's so large you can dock while something is coming out and not need to worry about ramming each other. You can also dock from 2 different sides.
- Cody
- Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
- Posts: 16081
- Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
- Location: The Lizard's Claw
- Contact:
Re: Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec
The Torus station is pretty cool as well.
I would advise stilts for the quagmires, and camels for the snowy hills
And any survivors, their debts I will certainly pay. There's always a way!
And any survivors, their debts I will certainly pay. There's always a way!
- DaddyHoggy
- Intergalactic Spam Assassin
- Posts: 8515
- Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
- Location: Newbury, UK
- Contact:
Re: Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec
Well no, not quite, but you'd have to change the plist for every system that didn't already have a dodec as its main station. I'm sure some of the zen masters of Oolite could explain how Oolite determines which systems have which stations. I'm just saying that some things in Oolite are like they are for a reason - and knowing visually that you're docking with a rich, high tech system because it has an Iso gives me a nice immersive glow...RyanHoots wrote:So every planet would need a high tech level. No fun. I see what you mean about bland uniformity, never thought about that.DaddyHoggy wrote:But the station types are related to Tech level, estimated trade and GDP of the planet - old Coriolis stations at the poorer smaller systems, Dodecs and Isos at the bigger, richer, more advanced systems.
Why on earth would you want bland uniformity? (Especially given how cool some of the Coriolis station textures are) - and it would also make the finale of Cataclysm stick out like a sore thumb...
And my favourite "Main Station" is the Trader Station - a downgraded (read less advertising) version of the Constore.
Oolite Life is now revealed hereSelezen wrote:Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
- JensAyton
- Grand Admiral Emeritus
- Posts: 6657
- Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Contact:
Re: Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec
The easiest way would be a shipdata.plist along these lines:
and a shipdata-overrides.plist like this:
Code: Select all
{
// Clone dodo station with “coriolis” role.
"ryanhoots–dodo" =
{
like_ship = "dodecahedron-station";
roles = "coriolis station";
};
}
Code: Select all
{
// Disable standard Coriolis.
"coriolis-station" =
{
roles = "unused";
};
}
E-mail: [email protected]
- RyanHoots
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 958
- Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 8:10 pm
- Location: Nowhere
- Contact:
Re: Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec
ThanksAhruman wrote:The easiest way would be a shipdata.plist along these lines:and a shipdata-overrides.plist like this:Code: Select all
{ // Clone dodo station with “coriolis” role. "ryanhoots–dodo" = { like_ship = "dodecahedron-station"; roles = "coriolis station"; }; }
Code: Select all
{ // Disable standard Coriolis. "coriolis-station" = { roles = "unused"; }; }