I made myself a hud
Moderators: winston, another_commander
- lave
- Deadly
- Posts: 141
- Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 12:21 am
- Location: Deep in Leesti space mining asteroids for a living.
- Contact:
I made myself a hud
Hi.
I was bored today so I thought I'd have a go at making a hud for myself.
It is nothing special but I think it looks quite good.
I was bored today so I thought I'd have a go at making a hud for myself.
It is nothing special but I think it looks quite good.
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6683
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
- Killer Wolf
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 2279
- Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:38 pm
- Smivs
- Retired Assassin
- Posts: 8408
- Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
- Location: Lost in space
- Contact:
That's really nice! Is the 'cross' the pitch and roll indicator? What happens if you're doing both simultaneously?
I don't do HUDs myself (note to self "do a HUD sometime"), and haven't looked into them, but I was just wondering about those indicator lights on the left panel. Can they be used as the 'Status' light?
Good work...and it is worth packaging up and releasing as an OXP.
I don't do HUDs myself (note to self "do a HUD sometime"), and haven't looked into them, but I was just wondering about those indicator lights on the left panel. Can they be used as the 'Status' light?
Good work...and it is worth packaging up and releasing as an OXP.
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.
- lave
- Deadly
- Posts: 141
- Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 12:21 am
- Location: Deep in Leesti space mining asteroids for a living.
- Contact:
I'm not sure how to package it for download. If someone with access to the Wiki wishes me to email it to them for inclusion then I will.another_commander wrote:Looks very nice. So... where do we download it from?
The blue background looks darker in game than it does in the images. But I could make it a bit darker.Micha wrote:I would probably make the blue background a bit darker so that the green stands out better
Yes.Smivs wrote:Is the 'cross' the pitch and roll indicator?
Then both yellow dots will move together.Smivs wrote:What happens if you're doing both simultaneously?
Well those lights are just there for decor and as far as I know a HUD image can't be changed depending on Status.Smivs wrote:I was just wondering about those indicator lights on the left panel. Can they be used as the 'Status' light?
I was going to put the status light there actually, but it wouldn't have had the 'glow' around it like the other lights have.
- Smivs
- Retired Assassin
- Posts: 8408
- Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
- Location: Lost in space
- Contact:
Ah, I didn't realise there were two dots, that makes a lot more sense. There's plenty of info on the Wiki about making OXPs here, and we are always happy to answer questions.lave wrote:Yes.Smivs wrote:Is the 'cross' the pitch and roll indicator?
Then both yellow dots will move together.Smivs wrote:What happens if you're doing both simultaneously?
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6683
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
You can always make four HUD plists (let's call them greenhud.plist, yellowhud.plist, redhud.plist and dockedhud.plist), which are basically copies of the same HUD, with the exception that the greenhud.plist main image has a green light drawn on it, the yellowhud.plist image has a yellow one, the redhud.plist image has a red one and the dockedhud.plist image has no light drawn. The four images should reside inside your OXP's Images folder. Then, you can put this inside a file called script.js inside the Config folder of your OXP:lave wrote:Well those lights are just there for decor and as far as I know a HUD image can't be changed depending on Status.Smivs wrote:I was just wondering about those indicator lights on the left panel. Can they be used as the 'Status' light?
I was going to put the status light there actually, but it wouldn't have had the 'glow' around it like the other lights have.
Code: Select all
this.alertConditionChanged = function(currentAlertCondition, previousAlertCondition)
{
var hudToDisplay;
switch (player.alertCondition)
{
case 1:
hudToDisplay = "greenhud.plist";
break;
case 2:
hudToDisplay = "yellowhud.plist";
break;
case 3:
hudToDisplay = "redhud.plist";
break;
default:
hudToDisplay = "dockedhud.plist";
};
player.ship.hud = hudToDisplay;
}
this.startUp = function()
{
player.ship.hud = "dockedhud.plist";
}
Just an idea, as I said, I did not test it and maybe there are more efficient ways of doing it, but I believe it should do the job.
- Cody
- Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
- Posts: 16081
- Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
- Location: The Lizard's Claw
- Contact:
If that's what you can do when you're bored, I'd like to see what you can do if you really set your mind to it... nice one, lave.
Some basic instructions on how to package an oxp, license it, host it, and make it available, might be a good idea for the Wiki ‘OXP - how to’ page, preferably written by someone who knows how to express it succinctly.lave wrote:I'm not sure how to package it for download.
I would advise stilts for the quagmires, and camels for the snowy hills
And any survivors, their debts I will certainly pay. There's always a way!
And any survivors, their debts I will certainly pay. There's always a way!
- maik
- Wiki Wizard
- Posts: 2028
- Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 12:30 pm
- Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia (mainly industrial, feudal, TL12)
Nice one! Seeing that you added the Shift-F info in the Ship DATA box brings me to this idea: how about using it for the comms log? It might need more lines though...
Sure, send it my way if you don't want to host it yourself. I would put it up for download on my box.net account.lave wrote:I'm not sure how to package it for download. If someone with access to the Wiki wishes me to email it to them for inclusion then I will.
In 1.74.2 the comms log overrides were largely untested, and ever so slightly buggy.maik wrote:how about using it for the comms log? It might need more lines though...
They're perfectly ok in trunk, though...
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)
- lave
- Deadly
- Posts: 141
- Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 12:21 am
- Location: Deep in Leesti space mining asteroids for a living.
- Contact:
I'd like to try that however I have no idea how to write a Java Script file with the .js extention.another_commander wrote:You can always make four HUD plists ..........
The above has not been tested at all, but I hope it would do the trick.Code: Select all
this.alertConditionChanged = function(currentAlertCondition, previousAlertCondition) { var hudToDisplay; switch (player.alertCondition) { case 1: hudToDisplay = "greenhud.plist"; break; case 2: hudToDisplay = "yellowhud.plist"; break; case 3: hudToDisplay = "redhud.plist"; break; default: hudToDisplay = "dockedhud.plist"; }; player.ship.hud = hudToDisplay; } this.startUp = function() { player.ship.hud = "dockedhud.plist"; }
If someone could do it for me, with the above script, then I will try it out and see if it works.
-
- Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
- Posts: 6683
- Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
- pagroove
- ---- E L I T E ----
- Posts: 3035
- Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:52 pm
- Location: On a famous planet
Very good looking! You should be bored more often
For P.A. Groove's music check
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
https://bb.oolite.space/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
https://bb.oolite.space/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709
- lave
- Deadly
- Posts: 141
- Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 12:21 am
- Location: Deep in Leesti space mining asteroids for a living.
- Contact:
Oh OK thanks.another_commander wrote:You only need to copy the contents of the Code: box and paste them as they are in an empty file in the text editor of your choice. Save that file with the filename script.js inside the Config folder of your HUD OXP and that's pretty much it.
I will try that now and see what happens.
EDIT !!!!
I tried it and it only bloody worked lol.
The change in hud image when your condition changes is instant too.
This is so cool. It now means that I can do away with the 'status indicator' and instead have some sort of light or other indicator on the hud itself.
I can also give the blue screens a slight red colour too during a red alert.
I will do this tomorrow as it's late now, but I will post an update once it's done.
Thanks again.