Laser overheat

An area for discussing new ideas and additions to Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

CommanderAnt
Harmless
Harmless

Laser overheat

Post by CommanderAnt »

When in a battle with 4+ offenders which is the sort of mess I keep getting myself into (must be my charm), my military laser overheats too quick. Can someone who is a better programmer than me (I am just starting to learn) devise an OXP that cools down the laser quicker.

I just feel it a cheat to use an Energy Bomb rather than taking them down indiviually.

Let me at em!!!
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin

Post by DaddyHoggy »

A laser cooler is one of those things that will not happen - buy a rear firing Mil laser and shoot as you run away - lasers have different temp scales so as the rear heats up the forward will cool.

Oh, and welcome to friendliest board this side of Riedquat(tm)
Selezen wrote:
Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here
Chrisfs
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Post by Chrisfs »

Missles will distract some of them for a bit if not take them out. People who don't like energy bombs seem to be ok with Q mines, if you have injectors you may want to try one of them.
Disembodied
Jedi Spam Assassin
Jedi Spam Assassin

Post by Disembodied »

Faster laser cooling is one of those things that's just not going to happen, I'm afraid!

DaddyHoggy's tip about the rear laser is a key one. Mastering this tactic, known variously as "Parthian shooting" or "Monty-Pythoning", is crucial, especially if you don't like energy bombs. If you find a fleet of badass pirates coming your way, turn and run and snipe them with the rear laser. Apart from anything else it'll help string them out as the slower ships get left behind. Pick off (or at least drive away) the nastier ones, like Cats and Iguanas on your way out, then turn around and slice back down a nice long queue of Cobras, Morays, Mambas and Pythons!