Page 1 of 1

Config saga, part 2: Coming back for 1.73.4

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 6:44 pm
by Zanasj
Hi again! I installed the newest Oolite (PC) for my new rig today, plus a huge load of OXPs. Thoughts (and questions) so far:

Configuring hud:

The hud.plist is in wonderful format! It's easily edited with e.g. notepad. I edited it a bit to change colours, sizes and locations of some of the default instruments, and added a custom test reticule image:

Code: Select all

{    // Custom image
		image		= reti.png;
		width		= 64;
		height		= 64;
		x		= -1;
		y		= -1;
		alpha 		= 1.0;
},
Screenie:
http://i36.tinypic.com/16ibjvr.png

Now, the reti.png is a 64x64 image with a simple mask, so that only the red dot is shown. The x and y are, of course, small adjustments. The dot itself is 2x2 in size, with near-black edges to make it appear smoother. However, I'm asking, is this the best way to add a custom crosshair? As you can see, the builtin crosshair lines aren't "blurred" at all. Should I "draw" something with the hud.plist options, e.g. the draw_surround?
Btw, I'm using screen resolution of 1152 x 864. (I'll have to adjust the clock position a bit...)

On my old computer, I had a custom reticule .png that I (almost) copied from a screenshot I saw here earlier; it was a "christmas tree" - type crosshair, with horizontal lines that helped aiming at targets at varying distances. This really helped with aiming in the Python Class Cruiser. The bottom horizontal lines were for closer targets etc. :

Code: Select all

  _|_
  _|_
 __|__
___|___
Misc mumblings:

Some of the .plist files shouldn't be opened with notepad, however. Wordpad seems to display .plists which have different tabs(?) correctly. I've also tried the iPodRobot plistedit, but it has a wonderful feature that it fails in saving .plists that are small in size - resulting in a 0kb file!

Since I'm using hyperradio, I've found that some songs at http://www.elite-games.ru fit Oolite quite well.

The various sound packs are awesome too. I like to mix it a bit: the base set I'm using is custsounds.oxp, with some sounds replaced/added from some other sets, especially the amiga sound set. :)

Also, I've noticed that some posts here deal with keyboard configs. Well, with my new Saitek ST290, I don't have to bind that many functions to fancy buttons now :) Since it has a Z-axis, I can use it for rolling.

The logfile has complaints about some OXPs. I haven't flown around that much yet, hopefully no big problems arise.
http://zanasji.googlepages.com/Previous.log

Stuff (to be) tested:
- Tried autodocking at a convenience store and a hoopy casino - didn't work. Intentional or not?
- Must test buying hyperradio from a planetfall(OXP) location and to see if that works... there was some problems on the previous version. Same for extended hyperradio license bought at a planet.
- PAGroove, Gritty Coriolis and other stations... do I get to see them all, or will they conflict with each other?
- Must try to buy Morrigan... or at least FIND one for sale. Had some problems in previous versions despite reaching an ultra high tech level station. Also, AI Morrigans didn't move.
- Fly around in Galaxy 1 with various eyecandy oxps installed. Famous planets, Neolite ships etc. etc. :D

All in all, it's good to know that new (test) versions keep popping up. It's clear that much of Oolite's charm comes from the various customization options, of which the various OXPs are the most readily available treats for a new player. There's a bit of frustration involved, too... but not too much imho! For example, I'm having a hard time flushing my cache, e.g. for those small hud adjustments. Oh well, back to running booze to rock hermits!

Re: Config saga, part 2: Coming back for 1.73.4

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 7:13 pm
by Screet
Zanasj wrote:
On my old computer, I had a custom reticule .png that I (almost) copied from a screenshot I saw here earlier; it was a "christmas tree" - type crosshair, with horizontal lines that helped aiming at targets at varying distances. This really helped with aiming in the Python Class Cruiser.
Sound nice, however such misaiming is also the result of a poorly adjusted view and weapons positioning.
Zanasj wrote:
Some of the .plist files shouldn't be opened with notepad, however. Wordpad seems to display .plists which have different tabs(?) correctly. I've also tried the iPodRobot plistedit, but it has a wonderful feature that it fails in saving .plists that are small in size - resulting in a 0kb file!
I suggest to use this one:
http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net/uk/site.htm

Zanasj wrote:
The logfile has complaints about some OXPs. I haven't flown around that much yet, hopefully no big problems arise.

Code: Select all

[script.debug.syntax.badComparison]: ***** SCRIPT ERROR: in assassins, unknown comparison operator 'less', will return NO.
This is a typo, IIRC the proper spelling is lessthan

Code: Select all

"../AddOns/Cargo_wrecks_teaser 1.5.1.oxp"
At least with trunk that one gave me trouble. Sometimes scooping a single container did result in a filled cargohold :shock:
Zanasj wrote:
- Tried autodocking at a convenience store and a hoopy casino - didn't work. Intentional or not?
How did you try? Target it and then shift-c?

Screet

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 7:48 pm
by Kaks
Shift-D ('immedate' docking) only works with main stations, and it's the expected behaviour. All other stations, you you should still be able to use shift-C, as Screet said.

However, this might change with future versions of Oolite.

Re: Config saga, part 2: Coming back for 1.73.4

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:45 pm
by Svengali
Zanasj wrote:
- Must test buying hyperradio from a planetfall(OXP) location and to see if that works... there was some problems on the previous version. Same for extended hyperradio license bought at a planet.
Hyperradio + PF? Hmm, don't see a reason why it shouldn't work. When tested give us a note, please.

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:06 pm
by Thargoid
Nope, nor do I (as long as the planet's tech level is high enough). So that covers both sides of the OXP writing, and we're both interested in the feedback ;)

Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 10:59 am
by Commander McLane
Just one remark on top of Sreet's suggestion about Notepad+:

Don't open anything with Notepad. Notepad is evil! On saving it adds unwanted characters, and it may save with an additional unwanted ".txt". Both makes the plists completely unusable.

So use Wordpad instead, or a third-party application.

Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:41 am
by Screet
Commander McLane wrote:
Just one remark on top of Sreet's suggestion about Notepad+:

Don't open anything with Notepad. Notepad is evil! On saving it adds unwanted characters, and it may save with an additional unwanted ".txt". Both makes the plists completely unusable.

So use Wordpad instead, or a third-party application.
That notepad++ is entirely different from notepad! Have a look yourself!

Screet

Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:51 am
by Svengali
Screet wrote:
That notepad++ is entirely different from notepad! Have a look yourself!
Yupp. It's a very useful tool for all kinds of scripting jobs. Like a few other tools like jEdit it offers a lot features and works like a charm. Even helps in correcting UTF-8 bugs introduced by Windows own tool.

Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 10:10 pm
by Zanasj
Thanks for replies, everyone!
How did you try? Target it and then shift-c?
Oh... right. Forgot about that one! I only tried with shift-d...
Notepad is evil! On saving it adds unwanted characters,
Suppose that's a result of saving a file in completely wrong format somehow... or is it something more sinister? Naturally, it sometimes can't handle tabs and/or linechanges properly...

Anyway, I'll try the said notepad+. And I'll make backups, too, as usual...


As for hyperradio, the license expired, and I bought new one at a planetfall location - capital city. Got the extra 20 days offer, too. Judging by this one test, it seems to work. I made a backup pilot, and I might try to buy hyperradio from any other possible sources of various oxp stations etc. in the future.

Noticed a minor glitch in RandomHits 1.3.6. I'm in Galaxy 5, and some of the ships that launch from Bar are piloted by e.g. "Hunter Oliver %X". In this case, my ship's sys says "Ident system locked onto Unidentified Commander." as I target them. This doesn't seem to happen with my other pilot, who's still in Galaxy 1.

Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 12:16 am
by Svengali
Zanasj wrote:
As for hyperradio, the license expired, and I bought new one at a planetfall location - capital city. Got the extra 20 days offer, too. Judging by this one test, it seems to work. I made a backup pilot, and I might try to buy hyperradio from any other possible sources of various oxp stations etc. in the future.
Thanks, Zanasj. Good to know that it works for you. And whatever you'll find someday - feel free to ..err.. cry .-)

Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 10:08 am
by Crush
If you want a really good, platform neutral editor - check out VIM.

Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 1:10 pm
by Micha
Crush wrote:
If you want a really good, platform neutral editor - check out VIM.
While I would heartily agree with you there (it's my main editor), I would be rather reluctant to recommend it to the uninitiated. Multi-mode editors have pretty much gone the way of the Dodo..

I don't know too many newcomers who prefer to have to learn to type in ":%s/foo/bar/g" instead of Mouse-Clicky-search-replace. :)

Well, actually, gvim's menu bar does support the latter as well - guess I just never looked at it before!