Page 1 of 1
Load from anywhere
Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 2:41 am
by Nemoricus
Many, many times I've wanted to reload an old save in mid-flight, but have found myself unable to do so. While I know that closing out Oolite will let you get to the load screen, it takes time for Oolite to start up again.
Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 6:05 am
by another_commander
It is a bit complicated loading a game mid-flight. However, from the next version onwards you will be able to restart a game mid-flight, so it will be possible to load your game as soon as you reappear at Lave.
Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 10:07 am
by Nemoricus
Ah, thank you. This was just something that was annoying me.
Glad to know it's already being worked on.
Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 9:01 pm
by Eric Walch
another_commander wrote:It is a bit complicated loading a game mid-flight. However, from the next version onwards you will be able to restart a game mid-flight, so it will be possible to load your game as soon as you reappear at Lave.
Great. The fasted solution I sometime use is just kill myself by flying into a heavy object.
Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 9:12 pm
by Thargoid
Personally I find player.ship.explode() or player.ship.remove() on the JS console is quite quick and effective, if not quite so satisfying.
And yes, I have been occasionally known to type one or other by accident by omitting a strategic .target from the middle of them
Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 9:56 pm
by Eric Walch
Thargoid wrote:And yes, I have been occasionally known to type one or other by accident by omitting a strategic .target from the middle of them
Thargoid, a hint. Define a macro in your console by typing:
Code: Select all
:setM kill = player.ship.target.explode()
After that you only need to type:
and the macro will be executed. No risk of fatal typos.
Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 5:08 am
by Thargoid
My system never seems to save such macros from session to session. How should you get them to be saved, and where are they recorded?
Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 7:45 am
by Eric Walch
Thargoid wrote:My system never seems to save such macros from session to session. How should you get them to be saved, and where are they recorded?
Hmm, maybe it is a mac-only feature. On mac they are stored in the personal library area.
Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 8:10 am
by another_commander
In the Debug.oxp/Config folder, open in an editor the file debugConfig.plist. Inside the section named
macros add this
Code: Select all
"killTarget" = "player.ship.target.explode()";
Save, start debug console, start Oolite with Shift, select target and type
in the console.
Boom.
Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 8:16 am
by Thargoid
Thanks. It's the one thing I'd never figured out with the console, how to save the macros when defined.
Would it be possible for the next version to either have defined macros saved automatically, or to have a command to do so in the JS console?
Just for those who are maybe less adept at config hacking. Plus I guess this info (with perhaps a different example macro) might be worth adding into the wiki somewhere?
Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 8:35 am
by Cmdr James
Isnt it better to have the macros defined in a file which you control, rather than to have the console decide what to save?
Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 8:42 am
by another_commander
Cmdr James wrote:better would be to have a file with them defined in, then you can decide what macros you want, and work on them easily
Which is pretty much what debugConfig.plist does, right? Or are you referring to something more dedicated to the task?
Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 8:54 am
by Thargoid
I was meaning to have a debug console command to save macros that are currently created. At the moment it's less than obvious that you need to edit the file to "save" your commands permanently, and whilst you can create macros on the fly in the console when you close down they are lost. That for me wouldn't be expected behaviour, I would expect either the console to automatically update the plist to reflect what has been created, or for there to be a "save macro" command to trigger such an update perhaps.
Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 9:25 am
by Eric Walch
Thargoid wrote:I was meaning to have a debug console command to save macros that are currently created. At the moment it's less than obvious that you need to edit the file to "save" your commands permanently.....
It was probably intended to save them as on the mac I just define them and they are available on the next startup. Probably implementation on the windows side is more problematic or just overlooked as the first console release was mac only.
EDIT:
With me on the mac it is written out into oolites cache file, were also all other oolite stuff is automatically cached on quitting. Data Cache.plist--> Root --> caches --> dictionaries --> 51 --> key: Config/debugConfig.plist merge:basic