Page 1 of 1

about Figther HUD

Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 8:43 pm
by pucara
Hello all, im was download the Figther HUD but donĀ“t work, i see the hud graphic in center of screen. i have installed Oolite V1.65.

Thanks for your fast reply, and sorry for my english :P

Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:32 pm
by Jar
I see the same. It's centered in the screen. And I'm running 1.65 as well.

Jar
Shoot first, scoop later!

Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:39 pm
by Cmdr. Maegil
You may need to open the file, look for the positioning and tweak until you get it right. I think there was some work done on that on a latter version, but I'm not sure.

BTW, if you have a wide screen, the HUD won't go all the way to the side edges

Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:43 pm
by Jar
I usually run OOlite in a window and not full screen. I thought that maybe that had something to do with it. But I did not pursue that...

Jar

Posted: Thu May 01, 2008 7:23 am
by CaptKev
@pucara, are you using the Fighter HUD Mk II? (from my signature)

Are you using the correct hud.plist for your display resolution?

to adjust where the image is displayed;
Start WordPad, then pick File/Open, change file types to 'All Documents' then open hud.plist in the Oolite/AddOns/FighterHUD.oxp/Config folder. locate the line <string>hud.png</string>, eight lines below this contains the line you need to change (try -165).

Posted: Thu May 01, 2008 2:45 pm
by pucara
CaptKev wrote:
@pucara, are you using the Fighter HUD Mk II? (from my signature)

Are you using the correct hud.plist for your display resolution?

to adjust where the image is displayed;
Start WordPad, then pick File/Open, change file types to 'All Documents' then open hud.plist in the Oolite/AddOns/FighterHUD.oxp/Config folder. locate the line <string>hud.png</string>, eight lines below this contains the line you need to change (try -165).
*****
Ill try that, thanks you.

Posted: Thu May 01, 2008 3:02 pm
by pucara
Problem solved, but the correct value is -160 ,that part of the code should read as follows:

<key>image</key>
<string>hud.png</string>
<key>width</key>
<real>640</real>
<key>height</key>
<real>480</real>
<key>x</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>y</key>
<integer>-160</integer>
<key>alpha</key>
<real>1.00</real>

This work perfectly in 1024x768 fullscreen.
Thanks again.

Posted: Thu May 01, 2008 3:22 pm
by CaptKev
Glad you were able to get it sorted. :D

Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:39 pm
by kermit
I've got a different problem with FighterHUD

I've just downgraded to a Cobra Mk1 but the HUD has changed to the default Oolite version

I quit Oolite & restarted - FighterHUD shows up on main screen - but when I try to load in my commander file - it reverts back to the Oolite version

Is there a fix ??

Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 4:00 pm
by Thargoid
The Cobbie 1 by default comes with it's own HUD. From the shipdata.plist trunk file (under oolite.app/resources/config):

Code: Select all

"cobramk1-player" =
	{
		aft_eject_position = "0.0 7.5 -21.0";
		energy_recharge_rate = 2.5;
		exhaust = ("8.2 0.0 -27.5 6.0 4.0 4.0", "-8.2 0.0 -27.5 6.0 4.0 4.0");
		forward_weapon_type = "WEAPON_PULSE_LASER";
		hud = "hud-small.plist";  <------------ The HUD is set here
		max_cargo = 10;
		max_energy = 150;
		max_flight_pitch = 1.2;
		max_flight_roll = 2;
		max_flight_speed = 260;
		max_missiles = 1;
		missile_launch_position = "0.0 -2.0 14.0";
		missiles = 1;
		model = "cobra1_redux.dat";
		name = "Cobra Mark I";
		roles = "player";
		thrust = 25;
		view_position_aft = "0.0 3.75 -27.5";
		view_position_forward = "0.0 2.925 15.125";
		view_position_port = "-13.0 3.75 0.0";
		view_position_starboard = "13.0 3.75 0.0";
		weapon_position_aft = "0.0 0.0 -27.5";
		weapon_position_forward = "0.0 0.0 17.5";
		weapon_position_port = "-25.0 -1.0 0.5";
		weapon_position_starboard = "25.0 -1.0 0.5";
		custom_views =
		(
			{
				view_description = "Rear View";
				view_orientation = "1.0 0.0 0.0 0.0";
				view_position = "0.0 20.0 -150.0";
				weapon_facing = "FORWARD";
			},
			{
				view_description = "Rear Right View";
				view_orientation = "0.9239 0.0 0.3827 0.0";
				view_position = "106.06 20.0 -106.06";
				weapon_facing = "FORWARD";
			},
			{
				view_description = "Right View";
				view_orientation = "0.7071 0.0 0.7071 0.0";
				view_position = "150.0 20.0 0.0";
				weapon_facing = "FORWARD";
			},
			{
				view_description = "Front Right View";
				view_orientation = "0.3827 0.0 0.9239 0.0";
				view_position = "106.06 20.0 106.06";
				weapon_facing = "FORWARD";
			},
			{
				view_description = "Front View";
				view_orientation = "0.0 0.0 1.0 0.0";
				view_position = "0.0 20.0 150.0";
				weapon_facing = "FORWARD";
			},
			{
				view_description = "Front Left View";
				view_orientation = "0.3827 0.0 -0.9239 0.0";
				view_position = "-106.06 20.0 106.06";
				weapon_facing = "FORWARD";
			},
			{
				view_description = "Left View";
				view_orientation = "0.7071 0.0 -0.7071 0.0";
				view_position = "-150.0 20.0 0.0";
				weapon_facing = "FORWARD";
			},
			{
				view_description = "Rear Left View";
				view_orientation = "0.9239 0.0 -0.3827 0.0";
				view_position = "-106.06 20.0 -106.06";
				weapon_facing = "FORWARD";
			},
			{
				view_description = "Top View";
				view_orientation = "-0.7071 0.7071 0.0 0.0";
				view_position = "0.0 150.0 -10.0";
				weapon_facing = "FORWARD";
			},
			{
				view_description = "Bottom View";
				view_orientation = "0.0 0.0 0.7071 0.7071";
				view_position = "0.0 -150.0 -10.0";
				weapon_facing = "FORWARD";
			}
		);
	};
The line I've highlighted with the arrow is the one that's over-riding and resetting the HUD back to the default one (hud-small.plist in this case).

To overcome it, either rename the fighter HUD's plist file to hud-small.plist, or if you're feeling more brave make a back-up of the main shipdata.plist file (the one I quoted code from above), and then change the hud-small.plist file to fighterhud.plist (or whatever it's called) or just remove that line completely.

Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 6:12 pm
by kermit
Thanks for that tip Thargoid except the only 'shipdata.plist' file I can find is in 'oolite.app\Contents\Resources\Config' so I guess that's the one

The layout in this file is different as well (is this because I'm running v1.65 ??)

Code: Select all

<key>cobramk1-player</key>
	<dict>
		<key>aft_eject_position</key>
		<string>0.0 7.5 -21.0</string>
		<key>energy_recharge_rate</key>
		<real>2.5</real>
		<key>exhaust</key>
		<array>
			<string>8.2 0.0 -27.5 6.0 4.0 4.0</string>
			<string>-8.2 0.0 -27.5 6.0 4.0 4.0</string>
		</array>
		<key>forward_weapon_type</key>
		<string>WEAPON_PULSE_LASER</string>
		<key>hud</key>
		<string>hud-small.plist</string>
I'm not that brave in editing this file especially if it meant having to change ALL ships that used 'hud-small.plist' file

Also I didn't want to rename the fighterHUD file (It's called 'hud.plist' by the way) just in case I lose the HUD on other craft that also used 'Hud.plist'

- so what I did was open 'Hud.plist' (In 'Addon' > 'FighterHud' > 'Config' folder) & then 'SAVED AS' > 'hud-small.plist'. This seems to of worked (so far)

Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 7:40 pm
by Thargoid
Yes on both of your first questions (or maybe if you're on Linux or Mac too, I'm PC based). That is the file and entry I meant, or your equivalent of it anyway.

You only need to change that one key entry, as it's only the cobra Mk1 you're flying (at the moment). You can leave all the others as they are. It's only the player versions of the ships that might have a hud entry (NPC ships don't need one), and it's optional even for player ships (they default to hud.plist normally, unless a key entry like this one or an OXP changes it).

Essentially all you need to do is make your file the one that Oolite sees. Your way of doing it is just as good as mine, so if it works for you then everyone's happy ;)