Page 1 of 2

Multi Planet systems, moons and prettier backgrounds.

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 4:36 pm
by RustiSwordz
Hiya, im an Elite Vet and just discovered this game in the past week literally!

Thanks for all the hard work its brill.

Now i like the later Elite games (not the planet docking or real space physics forget those) But i like the idea of moons around planets and systems with up to two or three planets wit the occational moon around them, maybe even rings.

Perhaps this may not suit Oolite but it may be cool for an ex-pack. Whatcha think.

Also a few extra stars and more colourful backgrounds woulnt go amiss. :)

Keep up the cool work.

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:17 pm
by another_commander
It is already possible to add extra planets and moons in a system. Assassins is an example of an OXP that has this feature and there are also others around.

As for the more stars thing, your wish is already (partially) fulfilled. You can set the number of stars that will appear in interstellar space, but not in normal space. To do this, create an OXP folder in Addons containing a Config subfolder, e.g. AddOns\MyTooManyStarsInWitchspace.oxp\Config, copy the following and paste it into a file named planetinfo.plist, then put planetinfo.plist in the folder you created:

Code: Select all

{
	"interstellar space" =
	{
		sky_color_1 = (0, 1, 0.5);
		sky_color_2 = (0, 1, 0);
		sky_n_stars = 480;
		sky_n_blobs = 128;
	};
}
The sky_n_stars line is the one of interest. Adjust the 480 number to whatever you want, but be aware that the more stars you add, the more strain you put on the system, so you may experience framerate drop if you go too far. Test by executing a forced misjump (start hyperspace countdown, just before it reaches zero go to full pitch up). Maximum stars number that the game will see is 4800.

Oh, and remember, after each time you change the stars number, when you restart the game, hold down the Shift key to have Oolite regenerate the cache, or you may not notice any difference.

Edit: Modified path to use a Config subfolder.

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:59 pm
by RustiSwordz
Are there new planet textures, i read somewhere if you pause then press something the textures are changed?

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:13 pm
by JensAyton
another_commander wrote:
As for the more stars thing, your wish is already (partially) fulfilled. You can set the number of stars that will appear in interstellar space, but not in normal space.
Er, wanna bet? :-) sky_n_stars works for normal systems too. planetinfo.plist keys for normal systems take the form "<galaxynumber> <systemnumber>", so to remove all stars in Lave you’d do:

Code: Select all

{
	"0 7" = { sky_n_stars = 0; };
}
I believe this will work in 1.65 – although the "interstellar space" key will not.
RustiSwordz wrote:
Are there new planet textures, i read somewhere if you pause then press something the textures are changed?
These are currently disabled.

:)

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:50 pm
by Lestradae
These are currently disabled.
:twisted: Told you so :twisted:

*sneaks away*

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:37 am
by Commander McLane
Ahruman wrote:
another_commander wrote:
As for the more stars thing, your wish is already (partially) fulfilled. You can set the number of stars that will appear in interstellar space, but not in normal space.
Er, wanna bet? :-) sky_n_stars works for normal systems too. planetinfo.plist keys for normal systems take the form "<galaxynumber> <systemnumber>", so to remove all stars in Lave you’d do:

Code: Select all

{
	"0 7" = { sky_n_stars = 0; };
}
I believe this will work in 1.65 – although the "interstellar space" key will not.
Remember, though, that according to some testing I did and some conversation we had about it some time ago, sky_n_stars and sky_n_blurs interfere with each other in some weird, buggy way, producing unwanted results. As far a I recall, this hasn't been fixed yet.

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 11:55 am
by JensAyton
Really? I have no memory of that. Possibly I said “meh, I’ll not make that mistake in the new sky implementation.” The one that’s not being used because it has bugs I can’t remember. I should do something about this memory stuff. :-)

Memory stuff

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:21 pm
by Lestradae
I should do something about this memory stuff.
I heard too much Benulobiweed can do that to you :twisted: * sneaks away * :lol:

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:52 pm
by Commander McLane
Ahruman wrote:
Really? I have no memory of that. Possibly I said “meh, I’ll not make that mistake in the new sky implementation.” The one that’s not being used because it has bugs I can’t remember. I should do something about this memory stuff. :-)
About what...?

Anyway, it's here. Just for refreshing your memory. And it ended with you saying that you are going to re-write the whole sky-stuff anyway.

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:00 pm
by another_commander
I think I know what the buggy way they interfere with each other is. From SkyEntity.m, line 304 approx.:

Code: Select all

// Load star count
	n_stars = [systemInfo floatForKey:@"sky_n_stars" defaultValue:-1];
	if (0 <= n_stars)
	{
		n_stars = MIN(SKY_MAX_STARS, n_stars);
	}
	else
	{
		n_stars = SKY_MAX_STARS * 0.5 * randf() * randf();
	}
	
	// ...and sky count. (Note: simplifying this would change the appearance of stars/blobs.)
	n_blobs = [systemInfo floatForKey:@"sky_n_blurs" defaultValue:-1];
	if (0 <= n_blobs)
	{
		n_blobs = MIN(SKY_MAX_BLOBS, n_stars);
	}
	else
	{
		n_blobs = SKY_MAX_BLOBS * 0.5 * randf() * randf();
	}
The line n_blobs = MIN(SKY_MAX_BLOBS, n_stars);, should be
n_blobs = MIN(SKY_MAX_BLOBS, n_blobs);, right?

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:17 pm
by Kaks
Doh! Yep, it looks like a 'mistooked' cut'n'paste...

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:34 pm
by Captain Hesperus
Ahruman wrote:
I should do something about this memory stuff. :-)
What, for Oolite's or yours? ;)

Captain Hesperus

@RustiSwordz: Kindly have a look here

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 5:55 pm
by Lestradae
https://bb.oolite.space/viewtopic.ph ... ar+systems

Can you script this legacy thingy or better even, with Java Script? Then PM me ...

8)

L

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 8:16 pm
by JensAyton
another_commander wrote:
I think I know what the buggy way they interfere with each other is.
...
The line n_blobs = MIN(SKY_MAX_BLOBS, n_stars);, should be
n_blobs = MIN(SKY_MAX_BLOBS, n_blobs);, right?
D’oh. Imagine how many bugs I’d find if I looked for them in the obvious place…
Captain Hesperus wrote:
Ahruman wrote:
I should do something about this memory stuff. :-)
What, for Oolite's or yours? ;)
Yes.

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:04 pm
by TGHC
half past three!