Page 1 of 1

Unable to start the Deposed mission

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 12:44 am
by jls
Hi All,

I am running 1.65 on Linux with a number of oxps installed and the deposed mission is trying to start, trouble is as soon as the initial message flashes up I can only launch or swap between the two options as to whether to go to Bien or not, if I try to select 'No I'm busy' it swaps back to 'I'm on my way' but nothing I press gets it to accept that answer. Can I edit the save file as a work around?

The relevant lines appear to be:
<key>mission_depask</key>
<string>BIEN</string>
<key>mission_depbien</key>
<string>OKAY</string>
<key>mission_deposed_started</key>
<string>YES</string>

Any help would be appreciated,
Steve

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:07 am
by Commander McLane
Hi, jls, and welcome to the boards and of course to this great game! :D

Sorry for your troubles!

First it would be helpful to know which version of Deposed you have got installed. When you downloaded it, it came with a ReadMe-file, the first line of which tells you the version number. Or, if it's version 1.3, the name of the zip-file will tell you so.

If you've got an earlier version than 1.3 I would suggest you update to 1.3. It's available from the OXP-page of the Elite-Wiki.

The problem you have stumbled upon is that in pre-1.3 versions of the OXP there was the option to accept or decline the initial offer, but there was no code to handle a choice of "no". I think the author simply forgot to implement it. So you could end up stuck. (I think the author didn't anticipate that a player could not want to play.)

And yes, you've already found the relevant lines in your save-file. If you delete exactly these lines you can get a fresh start on the mission. But install Deposed 1.3 first.

Version 1.3 was recently re-edited, in order to make it proof against a bug that will hinder you to run it together with other OXPs, and to address the problem you've run into. So please report here if you come into any trouble using version 1.3 (just in case we overlooked a bug or two). Note: If you want to play the mission you should take the initial offer the first time. If you choose to say "no", you will not get it offered again.

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:15 pm
by jls
Thanks for the welcome and quick reply, used to play Elite on the old BBC b so was chuffed to bits to find Oolite as a Linux port. Unfortunately I am running 1.3, looks like it could be a bit of a bug then? Not sure if its relevant but I'm running Ubuntu 7.04 and as you are probably aware some of the files don't seem to get added in the normal places, ie the AddOns folder has to be created and the save file gets saved outside of the oolite-saves folder. Just wonder if there are other issues specific to an Ubuntu installation?

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 10:06 pm
by Eric Walch
jls wrote:
I am running 1.65 on Linux with a number of oxps installed and the deposed mission is trying to start, trouble is as soon as the initial message flashes up I can only launch or swap between the two options as to whether to go to Bien or not, if I try to select 'No I'm busy' it swaps back to 'I'm on my way' but nothing I press gets it to accept that answer. Can I edit the save file as a work around?
Hi to this board. This is a bug in version 1.3 that I introduced. Sorry for that. I moved a lot but this is the only part I did some deletions. (one to much). The starting lines:

Code: Select all

{
    conditions = ("mission_deposed undefined"); 
    do = (
        {
            conditions = (
                "score_number greaterthan 1693", 
                "gui_screen_string oneof GUI_SCREEN_STATUS, GUI_SCREEN_EQUIP_SHIP, GUI_SCREEN_SHORT_RANGE_CHART"
            ); 
            do = (
                "setMissionMusic: none", 
                "setMissionImage: none", 
                setGuiToMissionScreen, 
                "addMissionText: deposed_teaser", 
                "setMissionChoices: deposed_bien", 
                "set: mission_depbien OKAY", 
                "set: mission_depask BIEN", 
                "set: mission_deposed_started YES"
            ); 
        }
    ); 
}, 
should be:

Code: Select all

{
    conditions = ("mission_deposed undefined"); 
    do = (
        {
            conditions = (
                "score_number greaterthan 1693", "mission_deposed_started undefined",
                "gui_screen_string oneof GUI_SCREEN_STATUS, GUI_SCREEN_EQUIP_SHIP, GUI_SCREEN_SHORT_RANGE_CHART"
            ); 
            do = (
                "setMissionMusic: none", 
                "setMissionImage: none", 
                setGuiToMissionScreen, 
                "addMissionText: deposed_teaser", 
                "setMissionChoices: deposed_bien", 
                "set: mission_depbien OKAY", 
                "set: mission_depask BIEN", 
                "set: mission_deposed_started YES"
            ); 
        }
    ); 
}, 
Note the addition of "mission_deposed_started undefined". You are right that it now is repeating in a loop. You can add this line in the script.plist.

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 11:00 pm
by jls
Thanks for that, I have added the line and removed the lines from my saved folder, do I need to be back at the station where the mission was originally triggered to initiate it or will it start at any station? TIA

<edit> Belay my last, mission just started properly!! Woot woot! Thanks for the help

Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
by Commander McLane
@Eric: Thanks for the bugfix!

Implemented and uploaded v.1.3.1 to the wiki.