Page 1 of 1

spyhunter and UPS clash

Posted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 4:46 pm
by Hoopy
I've playing UPS and spyhunter at the same time. It looks like they suffer from the problem of both of them trying to show me a message at the same time. Is there a new version of either with the cunning fix to prevent this problem?

(I got round the problem by reading missiontext.plist to see what i'd missed)

Posted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 5:00 pm
by Eric Walch
I've playing UPS and spyhunter at the same time. It looks like they suffer from the problem of both of them trying to show me a message at the same time. Is there a new version of either with the cunning fix to prevent this problem?
In UPS I did all that is possible to avoid writing over others. But I can not prevent others to write over my messages. The spyhunter I have is from 2005. It just needs 5 lines changed.

In this case it is just so short that I include the complete added code below. Replace the current content of spript.plist with the code below. This adds the checks. But I like authors to change their own code. Hopefully the original gets updated soon.

Code: Select all

{ 
	"spy_hunter" = ( 
		{ 
			conditions = ("galaxy_number equal 0"); 
			do = ( 
				{ 
					conditions = ("dockedAtMainStation_bool equal YES"); 
					do = ( 
						{ 
							conditions = ("mission_spyhunter undefined", "planet_number equal 158", "score_number greaterthan 512", "gui_screen_string oneof GUI_SCREEN_STATUS, GUI_SCREEN_EQUIP_SHIP", "mission_offering undefined"); 
							do = ( 
								"setMissionMusic: none", 
								setGuiToMissionScreen, 
								"addMissionText: spy_hunter_Inines_orders", 
								"set: mission_spyhunter STAGE1", 
								"setMissionDescription: em1_sh_header1" 
							); 
						}, 
						{ 
							conditions = ("mission_spyhunter equal STAGE1", "planet_number equal 164", "gui_screen_string oneof GUI_SCREEN_STATUS, GUI_SCREEN_EQUIP_SHIP", "mission_offering undefined" ); 
							do = ( 
								"setMissionMusic: none", 
								setGuiToMissionScreen, 
								"addMissionText: spy_hunter_Ribilebi_briefing", 
								"awardCredits: 1000", 
								"set: mission_spyhunter STAGE2", 
								"setMissionDescription: em1_sh_header2" 
							); 
						}, 
						{ 
							conditions = ("mission_spyhunter equal STAGE2", "planet_number equal 51", "gui_screen_string oneof GUI_SCREEN_STATUS, GUI_SCREEN_EQUIP_SHIP", "mission_offering undefined"); 
							do = ( 
								"setMissionMusic: none", 
								setGuiToMissionScreen, 
								"addMissionText: spy_hunter_Alaza_briefing", 
								"set: mission_spyhunter STAGE3", 
								"setMissionDescription: em1_sh_header3" 
							); 
						}, 
						{ 
							conditions = ("mission_spyhunter equal STAGE3", "planet_number equal 102", "gui_screen_string oneof GUI_SCREEN_STATUS, GUI_SCREEN_EQUIP_SHIP", "mission_offering undefined"); 
							do = ( 
								"setMissionMusic: none", 
								setGuiToMissionScreen, 
								"addMissionText: spy_hunter_Beraanxe_briefing", 
								"set: mission_spyhunter STAGE4", 
								"setMissionDescription: em1_sh_header4" 
							); 
						}, 
						{ 
							conditions = ("mission_spyhunter equal STAGE5", "planet_number equal 126", "gui_screen_string oneof GUI_SCREEN_STATUS, GUI_SCREEN_EQUIP_SHIP", "mission_offering undefined"); 
							do = ( 
								"setMissionMusic: none", 
								setGuiToMissionScreen, 
								"addMissionText: spy_hunter_Anerbe_briefing", 
								"awardCredits: 4000", 
								"setMissionImage: none", 
								"set: mission_spyhunter MISSION_COMPLETE", 
								clearMissionDescription 
							); 
						}, 
					); 
				}, 
				{ 
					conditions = ( 
						"mission_spyhunter equal STAGE4", 
						"planet_number equal 126", 
						"status_string equal STATUS_EXITING_WITCHSPACE" 
					); 
					do = ( "checkForShips: icour", 
						{ conditions = ( "shipsFound_number equal 0" ); 
						do = ( "addSystemShips: icour 1 0.1" ); 
						}, 
					); 
				}, 
			); 
		} 
	); 
}


Posted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 8:55 pm
by Selezen
Now that I know there's a conflict I'll get right on it!

Now, where's that memory stick...?

Posted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 8:09 am
by Hoopy
Interestingly a bit further on in Spyhunter I got a UPS message and the spyhunter message and I don't think they clashed...

Is the fix just that you check that the current screen is one of the normal docked screens before displaying the messge? Rather than just displaying it as soon as you dock.

Posted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 8:45 am
by TGHC
I also had a problem with spyhunter some while back, can't remember what it was but I uninstalled it, so a fix would be good.

Posted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 8:48 pm
by Eric Walch
Is the fix just that you check that the current screen is one of the normal docked screens before displaying the messge? Rather than just displaying it as soon as you dock.
Something like that, yes. The fix is nothing more than checking if the missionscreen is in use for display before putting on its own text. If it is in use, it just waits.
UPS always test if it is in use and will not overwrite the other briefings. Spyhunter is not checking so it just outputs its screen, even when there was already one in display.

Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:05 am
by Commander McLane
Which means that you will randomly get the problem or not. If UPS was faster displaying a screen, then Spyhunter will overwrite it. If Spyhunter was faster, UPS will wait. And which OXP is faster in the first place is completely random.