Page 1 of 1

Oolite on FreeBSD

Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 1:53 pm
by Charon102
Hello

I succefully installed oolite on my freebsd 6.2 box. But could find any binary to start the game.
Where is the binary located?

Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 3:50 pm
by davcefai
It should start with

Code: Select all

openapp oolite
in a terminal.

Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 5:51 pm
by Charon102
It doesn`t :?

bash cannot find openapp and oolite binaries, but I installed it on my system
/var/db/pkg/oolite exist

Posted: Mon Nov 26, 2007 4:58 am
by davcefai
I have to ask: Did you install Gnustep?

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 10:02 pm
by Charon102
have to ask: Did you install Gnustep?
Yep, is installed and run`s. I tried it again with FreeBSD 7.0 (RC1) and have the same problem.
I could not find any binary to start the game

No openapp or oolite binaries.

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 10:05 pm
by davcefai
It could be that oolite is not executable. Try ro set the executeable flag for all users.

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:36 pm
by Charon102
It could be that oolite is not executable. Try ro set the executeable flag for all users.
O.k I found the oolite binary. Understand, I never worked with GNUstep und normaly all FreeBSD binaries are located in /usr/local/bin or /usr/X11R6/bin, so that`s new for me.

The oolite binary is in:
/usr/local/GNUstep/Local/Applications/oolite.app

I try to start it with:
./oolite

And then I get this message:

/libexec/ld-elf.so.1: Shared object "libgnustep-base.so.1.13" not found, required by "oolite"

Hmmm.....
But the library is in:
/usr/ports/lang/gnustep-base/work/gnustep.base-1.13.1/Source/obj/libgnustep.base.so.1.13

What`s next?

Posted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:13 am
by davcefai
Please understand that I have never used FreeBSD and am writing from a Linux standpoint, assuming some similarities.

It seems that you are missing the oolite loader which should be in /usr/bin, or at least in a directory on your path.

This is a shell script:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
OOLITE_ROOT=/usr/lib
TOPLEVEL=/Oolite
#
# Oolite Run Script
# This is to run Oolite with the standalone Dependencies Pack.
#
# Usage: ./oolite
# Dylan Smith, 2005-09-03
#
if [ ! $OOLITE_ROOT ]
then
   echo "Oops, OOLITE_ROOT was not set. This is very bad, it meant the install"
   echo "package didn't do its job. Please report this!"
   exit
fi

if [ ! -f ~/.oolite-run ]
then
   touch ~/.oolite-run
   cat $OOLITE_ROOT/$TOPLEVEL/doc/README-PREAMBLE.TXT \
        $OOLITE_ROOT/$TOPLEVEL/doc/README.TXT | more
fi

# Oolite fails with a black message box with no text with the title
# 'Critical' if this doesn't exist.
mkdir -p $HOME/GNUstep/Library

# Set GNUstep environment.
export GNUSTEP_FLATTENED=yes
export GNUSTEP_HOST=i686-pc-linux-gnu
export GNUSTEP_HOST_CPU=ix86
export GNUSTEP_HOST_OS=linux-gnu
export GNUSTEP_HOST_VENDOR=pc
export GNUSTEP_ROOT=$OOLITE_ROOT/$TOPLEVEL/oolite-deps/GNUstep
export GNUSTEP_PATHLIST=$OOLITE_ROOT/$TOPLEVEL/oolite-deps/GNUstep:$OOLITE_ROOT/$TOPLEVEL/oolite-deps/GNUstep/Local:$OOLITE_ROOT/$TOPLEVEL/oolite-deps/GNUstep/System
export GNUSTEP_USER_ROOT=$OOLITE_ROOT/$TOPLEVEL/oolite-deps/GNUstep
export GNUSTEP_SYSTEM_ROOT=$OOLITE_ROOT/$TOPLEVEL/oolite-deps/GNUstep/System
export GNUSTEP_NETWORK_ROOT=$OOLITE_ROOT/$TOPLEVEL/oolite-deps/GNUstep/Local
export GNUSTEP_LOCAL_ROOT=$OOLITE_ROOT/$TOPLEVEL/oolite-deps/GNUstep/Local
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$OOLITE_ROOT/$TOPLEVEL/oolite-deps/lib
cd $OOLITE_ROOT/$TOPLEVEL/oolite.app
./oolite
if [ $? != 0 ]
then
   echo
   echo "Erk. It looks like Oolite died with an error. When making an error"
   echo "report, please copy + paste the log above into the report."
   echo
   echo "(Press Ctrl-C to continue)"
   cat
fi
You will see that it sets some environment variables which will enable Oolite to find the GNUstep libraries. Note that this particular file will probably not work on your system as the locations may be different.

You could try starting Oolite with

Code: Select all

openapp oolite
which _might_ help.

Try to find the oolite loader and if you do, check that it is executable.

How did you install oolite? did you try reinstalling?