localhero oxp ALPHA

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

User avatar
Svengali
Commander
Commander
Posts: 2370
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:52 pm

Post by Svengali »

If you are using the console you can enable the logging everytime

Code: Select all

worldScripts.localhero.logging = true;  // For the next version
or

Code: Select all

worldScripts.localhero.oxpLogging = true; // For the current version
The next version will also support the OXPConfig.oxp - so players can set this and some other settings from within the game, even if they don't use the console. And the system dump can be done (default keys):
  • Press 'p' (pause) and then 0 (zero)
This will write all system entities to your logfile. I'll add it to the readme for the next version.

EDIT: Added the coming version
Last edited by Svengali on Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Thargoid
Thargoid
Thargoid
Posts: 5525
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm

Post by Thargoid »

Does OXPConfig.oxp actually exist yet, or is it still a work in progress? Just out of curiosity to add support where appropriate in my various ones too...
User avatar
Svengali
Commander
Commander
Posts: 2370
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:52 pm

Post by Svengali »

Thargoid wrote:
Does OXPConfig.oxp actually exist yet, or is it still a work in progress? Just out of curiosity to add support where appropriate in my various ones too...
Even in this pre-alpha version it is already running. As testoxps I've used the latest Hyperradio v1.10 (supported) and Localhero (current released version 1.05 not supported = a good test). I haven't got any message that other scripters wants to join, so I'll use it for my own oxps. And if the next Hyperradio version is done, I'll finish OxpConfig.

One reason is -I think- that legacy scripts don't have properties. I can check if a specific oxp is installed, but I don't know how to set debugOn for legacy scripts from within another script. So no legacy script-support. And a lot -maybe even most- mission oxps are still legacy-scripts.

https://bb.oolite.space/viewtopic.php?t=4908
OXPConfig0.01 (8KB)
User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

Svengali wrote:
One reason is -I think- that legacy scripts don't have properties. I can check if a specific oxp is installed, but I don't know how to set debugOn for legacy scripts from within another script. So no legacy script-support. And a lot -maybe even most- mission oxps are still legacy-scripts.
You can’t; debugOn and debugOff are global in scope. In 1.72, it will be possible to recreate their effect in JavaScript if there is a debug console:

Code: Select all

// debugOn
if (debugConsole)  debugConsole.setDisplayMessagesInClass("$scriptDebugOn", true);
// debugOff
if (debugConsole)  debugConsole.setDisplayMessagesInClass("$scriptDebugOn", false);
(This was added to support debugOn/debugOff in the script translator, but works for any log message class or metaclass. I consider it a feature, not a bug, that the translated version will only work if there’s a console.)
CmdrLUke
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 3:23 pm

Post by CmdrLUke »

CmdrLUke wrote:
If it happens agan I'll put aside the save file and enable logging as you suggested.

thanks!
Well I encountered another Harkov attack. I found one figthter, but no others after several trips back and forth between the beacons. So under the advice I read here I docked once, then went out again, and then found enough Harkovs to finish the mission.

Perhaps the "dock to create more Harkovs" should be extended beyond just 2 dockings. Or perhaps the OXP could see that the player has not fired upon any Harkovs since his last visit to the station and then offer to "give more intelligence" to the player about where the Harkovs are located (which really just creates more Harkovs).

It's very frustrating to fly back and forth repeatedly and never encounter any Harkovs. I hope that "failing" missions because no Harkovs could be found doesn't hurt the player's mission standing, that wouldn't be fair to players who really try to find the opponent but they never show up.

Other than that it's a great OXP and I like encountering the missions.
User avatar
Svengali
Commander
Commander
Posts: 2370
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:52 pm

Post by Svengali »

CmdrLUke wrote:
Perhaps the "dock to create more Harkovs" should be extended beyond just 2 dockings. Or perhaps the OXP could see that the player has not fired upon any Harkovs since his last visit to the station and then offer to "give more intelligence" to the player about where the Harkovs are located (which really just creates more Harkovs).
The next version (already started to rescript it) has some new implemented code to help the player. One is a function that checks the status of the player and will reposition Harkovs to players position (outside scanner range). The other thing is equipment that will be offered after a few successful missions to find Harkovs ships. I knew that this could be a problem, because all Harkovs will attack other ships too and don't wait for the player. I thought about a third option, but to implement it I'll have to do more tests.

It was not so easy to understand JS - it was totally new for me and I've had to become familiar with the language. This has changed a little bit.
I hope that "failing" missions because no Harkovs could be found doesn't hurt the player's mission standing, that wouldn't be fair to players who really try to find the opponent but they never show up.
No. Whatever happens, there is no reputation check or failed mission counter or any other restriction - and I don't want to implement anything like this - except the time check between mission. And the next version doesn't have the docked counter, but it will check the time when docked. If a player stays longer at the station than 48, 96, 144 seconds, the player will get a message. After more than 192 seconds the mission will be aborted.
Other than that it's a great OXP and I like encountering the missions.
Glad to hear that and thanks for you suggestions. :-)
CmdrLUke
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 3:23 pm

Post by CmdrLUke »

Svengali wrote:
The next version (already started to rescript it) has some new implemented code to help the player. One is a function that checks the status of the player and will reposition Harkovs to players position (outside scanner range). The other thing is equipment that will be offered after a few successful missions to find Harkovs ships.
Yes, Yes, YES! This will make the missions ever much more fun. I especially would love the Harkov detector: "Hah, now watch while I break all YOUR 'Teet'"!
And the next version doesn't have the docked counter, but it will check the time when docked. If a player stays longer at the station than 48, 96, 144 seconds, the player will get a message. After more than 192 seconds the mission will be aborted.
Great idea, makes it much more realistic. It takes a lot of fuel and ammo to deal with the huge crowds of Harkovs in the latter missions. A quick resupply dock should not be punished.
User avatar
Svengali
Commander
Commander
Posts: 2370
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:52 pm

Post by Svengali »

A lot of other things will change too :-)

1. There will be a musicpack that can be installed separately (similiar to Hyperradio), but here without a script (because it only changes entries in descriptions.plist). So you will get different game music for a few different events and missionscreens (fight, enemy detected, accomplished, failed, offer, docking while mission, campaign over, missionstart) that can be configured via OxpConfig (switch for Inflight music and mission screen music). I've prepared it for a voicepack, so maybe in a later version I'll create mission briefings, debriefings and some other Inflight messages.

2. All screens will get new and different background pics (50% finished).

3. More different missions splitted (in later missions) into primary and secondary goals. The story stays linear.

4. It will be more difficult, so I'm currently thinking about the starting conditions. The first mission will stay easy, but for the later missions you will need all your 'buyable' equipment and the offered oxp-equipment (4 types, 75% done) to handle the new weapons (100% done) and to do some (mostly secondary) mission goals. The script also checks for your equipment and only offers the next mission if player is ready to do it.

5. More different Harkovs ships (20% done).

6. Some secrets (like in the escort mission if you stay close to the shuttle when it docks your bonus will be higher :-) )

7. The time between two missions is not fixed anymore (depends on accomplished, aborted, ... )

and a lot of other things too. My list is long and it will take some time to do it...
Dynamo Nath
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 5:25 pm

local hero not starting...

Post by Dynamo Nath »

hi everyone,

this is my first post after only finding out about this wonderful remake of my favourite game about a week ago!!

I'm having problems getting this mission pack to start up. I'm docked at a TechLvl 14 Confederacy planet in Galaxy 1. The commander pops up and introduces the mission then says go to the System Status Screen and wait. On pressing F7 nothing happens. Have tried leaving and re-docking but to no avail. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Oh, am running the latest version of Oolite 1.71.2 and the latest version of Local Hero.

thx,

Nathan
User avatar
DaddyHoggy
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 8501
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:43 pm
Location: Newbury, UK
Contact:

Post by DaddyHoggy »

Can't help with the mission - but just wanted to welcome you to the Forums - somebody who can help will be along in a moment!
Selezen wrote:
Apparently I was having a DaddyHoggy moment.
Oolite Life is now revealed here
Screet
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 3:02 am
Location: Bremen, Germany

Re: local hero not starting...

Post by Screet »

Dynamo Nath wrote:
Oh, am running the latest version of Oolite 1.71.2 and the latest version of Local Hero.
That's a conflict between the current versions of oolite and the oxp. It doesn't work anymore, as I sadly found out, too.

I hope someone will fix this problem soon...seems I've to run through all those galaxies anyway and more missions will be more fun.

Screet
Dynamo Nath
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 5:25 pm

Post by Dynamo Nath »

Thanks for the welcome.

Ok, well fingers crossed for a fix. :)
User avatar
Svengali
Commander
Commander
Posts: 2370
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:52 pm

Re: local hero not starting...

Post by Svengali »

Hello Nathan,
Dynamo Nath wrote:
I'm having problems getting this mission pack to start up.Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Oh, am running the latest version of Oolite 1.71.2 and the latest version of Local Hero.
If you are still using Oolite v1.71.x it should work on your computer. v1.72 and later versions have changed a lot and Localhero 1.05 won't work. Lestradae has reported the same problem in v1.71.x, but on my and some other peoples systems it is working, so can you tell me a little bit what you have done (e.g. scooped some escapepods before or saved and reloaded the savedgame, another mission running, denied the mission) and what kind of system you are using (maybe a Vista problem?). Lestradae has even sent me the missionVariables of his savedgame, but it was working on my computer too. Some Vista users have had trouble with the playSounds method, so it's possible that this has something to do with the problem.

The best is to update Oolite to v1.72.1 and wait till the new Localhero version is ready. The first missions are already working on my computer again, but there is still a lot of work to do, because I'm rescripting it from scratch. This was necessary, because of the closed structure of the script and implementing the new stuff was not possible (at least not possible without getting into big trouble). When a Beta-stadium is reached, I'll post it here.

Cheerio
Dynamo Nath
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 5:25 pm

Post by Dynamo Nath »

Hi,

I'm using v1.72 so will wait for a new release. Am still running Win XP on this PC. Good luck with the re-scripting :)
Post Reply