Little idea: SpaceZoo

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

pagroove
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Little idea: SpaceZoo

Post by pagroove »

Hi,

I am enjoying this game since version 1.62 ( I believe) I've played Elite on the Acorn Electron back in the 80's, then on the PC in the 90's. I must say I enjoy Oolite very much and especially the expansions makes it very addicting. So compliments to all oxp-programmers and of course Gilles.

As I am no programmer and I cannot at the moment program OXP's for myself here is an idea of me. So feel free to use this idea or not :wink:

Spacezoo.oxp---> Orbiting Zoo's around high-tech agricultural worlds. They export zoo-animals to low-tech agricultural worlds to do the hard work. These animals are not needed on the rich agri-worlds because they use machines.

Ships that could be made for this OXP are:

-- Zoo shuttle (for transporting the animals from the planet surface to the zoo)
-- Zoo transport normal (Intra-system transport)
-- Zoo transport Aqua (Intra-system transport for marina animals)
-- Zoo-Station
-- Animal container normal
-- Animal container Aqua
-- Trumble transport (for safe transport of trumbles) 8)

- If a player docks you could get a mission to transport certain animals to another planet.
- Is it possible to have an animal market?

What do you think of it?
*cat
Dangerous
Dangerous

Welcome to the forum!

Post by *cat »

It's a great game isn't it!
Interesting idea... makes me wonder if it's possible to have different kinds of stations with an entirely different set of trading items.
I'm sure someone can tell me whether the trading stuff is part of the core code, or whether OXPs can alter it.
All the stations I've seen have the full set of standard trade items listed.
I guess a zoo could use the "alien items" category for the animals.
Or it could work a bit like the oo-haul oxp.

*cat
Helvellyn
Dangerous