Page 1 of 1
tiny suggestion
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:47 am
by ramon
okay, probably a silly suggestion but is it possible to have a version number appear on the startup of the game, so we know which version we're playing. Battlefield 2142 does this too, and it's more useful than you'd think.
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:45 pm
by another_commander
The option is already there, but is somewhat hidden, at least for the PC version. You need to edit your RunOolite.bat as follows (never mind the paths shown here, these should correspond to your installation folders):
Code: Select all
@echo off
set GNUSTEP_PATH_HANDLING=windows
set GNUSTEP_LOCAL_ROOT=D:\oosvn\trunk\oolite.app
set GNUSTEP_NETWORK_ROOT=D:\oosvn\trunk\oolite.app
set GNUSTEP_SYSTEM_ROOT=D:\oosvn\trunk\oolite.app
set HOMEDRIVE=D:
set HOMEPATH=D:\oosvn\trunk\oolite.app
oolite.app\oolite.exe %1 %2
See the %1 and %2 at the end? These allow you to start the game with arguments. Start a console (or modify your shortcut to RunOolite.bat) to execute the file as "RunOolite.bat -showversion" and you are set. This leaves you also one more "slot" for command line aqrgument to use.
This will give you the game version in magenta characters on the rotating Cobra screen.
Posted: Tue May 01, 2007 7:02 pm
by davcefai
oolite -showversion
works for Linux.