Page 1 of 1

How do I make a certain ship appear?

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:01 pm
by DaddyHoggy
I want to test a ship I've been playing with - what's the quickest/easiest way to make it appear as I leave the space station so I can fly around it and have a look? Some kind of quick and dirty oxp?

I'm on Windows/PC so no Dry Dock!

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:10 pm
by LittleBear

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict> 
   
<key>testship</key> 
   <array> 
      <dict> 
         <key>conditions</key> 
         <array> 
            <string>status_string equal STATUS_LAUNCHING</string> 
         </array> 
         <key>do</key> 
         <array> 
	   <string>addSystemShips: test 1 1.0</string	
         </array> 
      </dict> 
   </array>


Give your ship the role test and they'll be one by the station everytime you launch. C&P the code and save it as a script.plist

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:28 pm
by DaddyHoggy
Cheers LB - that would make a good sticky (any admin lurking?)

Just to double check I put this in a file called script.plist and I put that file in a directory called (for example) test_ship.oxp and put that folder in AddOns just like I would with any other oxp?

Do I put my ship in the same oxp?

Sorry for the nooby-numpty questions - this oxp lark is still a teeny-bit scary :wink:

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 10:02 pm
by DaddyHoggy
:? LB it's not working - I confess the ship I'm playing with is Doc's OO-Hauler. I've copied his oxp into one of my own naming. changed his script.plist to have yours in it. And changed the role of the ship from "trader oohauler" to "test" in shipdata.plist - but it doesn't appear outside the station. What am I doing wrong?

TIA

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 10:21 pm
by LittleBear
Odd!

Download the testship.oxp from this link

http://www.box.net/public/5s71vp2d2e

Unzip and put it in AddOns.

You'll then need to change the ship being added in the testship.oxp from monkbranch (the one I've been testing) to your ship's role.

Think the testship.oxp is OK as I've just been using it to test the Monks Station, so if your ship still don't come up, it could be a problem with your ship! :wink:

BTW Black Monks is finished and can be downloaded under the Black Monks thread in Expansion packs.

Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 10:55 pm
by DaddyHoggy
Thanks - I'll have a play (but not tonight - it's getting late and I've got a big all day meeting tomorrow and a long drive their and back) :(

Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:40 am
by Dr. Nil
If you're working from another oxp then you can start out by making a copy of that oxp's folder and renaming it to your new name (+.oxp). That way you're sure to have the right files in the right subdirectories. If found this way the easiest for my first work. It should also help limit case sensitivity problems that affects Linux players.

Go through the files in your new folder renaming textures, references to textures (find and replace in the model - .dat - files), references to model, roles, entity names etc.

To test the ship model only. Move all oxps except the one you're working on to the folder AddOns/out/ and test if the model is alright first with demoship.plist If you want to fly around it, use the script LB supplied. But don't put it at the top of your expansion. It needs to go into daddyhoggysnewship.oxp/Config

Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:16 am
by Ramirez
Just another tip, for what it's worth: Having put a working OXP together, when it comes to adding in a ship appearance script, you can just drop the script.plist into a separate Config folder within the AddOns folder - the one where an alternative keyconfig might go. This script can call on any OXP that's in the AddOns folder - to turn it off I just drag it out of the folder and leave it on the desktop. Because it's not in an OXP package it's easier to get to quickly, plus it's a little easier to differentiate it from all the other OXP scripts, which obviously have the exact same filename.

Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 6:56 pm
by DaddyHoggy
Thanks for the tips guys - I'll try and give it a whirl tonight (my weekend is now screwed - my "we can't deliver for 35 days" wardrobes are coming on Wednesday (10 days after I ordered them) - so some serious bedroom thrashing will be going on in DaddyHoggy world...

Real life really does get in the way sometimes! :lol:

Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:46 pm
by DaddyHoggy
Hmmm, bedroom thrashing? Perhaps I meant trashing... The other implies something completely different... :shock: