Page 2 of 3

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 7:35 am
by aegidian
Murgh wrote:
wonder if its possible 'from the outside' to add various small custom HUD icons for the different pylon weapons..
Yes. The icon for the hardened missile is done in this way. In descriptions.plist you'll find an array of numbers representing coordinate pairs across a zero-centered 8x8 grid used for drawing the icon - like this:

Code: Select all

	<!-- icons for the hud -->
	<key>EQ_HARDENED_MISSILE</key>
	<array>
		<integer>0</integer>	<integer>3</integer>
		<integer>2</integer>	<integer>1</integer>
		<integer>2</integer>	<integer>-3</integer>
		<integer>0</integer>	<integer>-1</integer>
		<integer>-2</integer>	<integer>-3</integer>
		<integer>-2</integer>	<integer>1</integer>
	</array>
Which will draw a shape using the coordinates: (0, 3) (2, 1) (2, -3) (0, -1) (-2, -3) (-2, 1) - the chevron of the EQ_HARDENED MISSILE icon.

You can use any number of coordinate pairs to draw the icon.

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 8:12 am
by Arexack_Heretic
thanks that is cool to know.

I may give up in exasperation soon.
Before I do though, I'm gonna split the weapons into seperate oxp and see if they work independently.


for now they can either not be bought (bloop sound) or they can be bought once per game and do not show up in the ship-roster.

Can't see where the fault lies with these things, I already corrected all the typo's and no debug errors to point out problems anymore.

If I give up, who wants to re-check my messy work? :oops:

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 9:31 am
by Murgh
aegidian wrote:
In descriptions.plist you'll find an array of numbers representing coordinate pairs across a zero-centered 8x8 grid used for drawing the icon..You can use any number of coordinate pairs to draw the icon.
that's a really neat solution! and from this it extracts both the green and smaller yellow 'highlight' version?
A_H wrote:
If I give up, who wants to re-check my messy work?
when you separate them into individual packages, it won't be messy, and a joy to re-check ;)

Posted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 11:28 am
by Arexack_Heretic
I uploaded a revised version, containing only the surplus missile on friday.

The missile is working like...an outdated surplus missile.

As it should. :)

Have to work on the bombs and torpedoes still, although the shipdata, equipment, descriptions and models are okay, they refuse to be installed in the ship. Very strange. :roll:

Posted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 7:20 pm
by thirdeye77
How about missiles equipped with Witchdrive Fuel Injectors? Let's see a Fer-de-Lance try and outrun an ECM-Hardened one of those!

It would take away that comfort zone of knowing you can outrun a missile with a quick boost of speed. Could make missiles a weapon to be feared again.

Posted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 8:27 pm
by Arexack_Heretic
I hd my torpedoes equiped with injectors,

as they should be longrange weapons.

They did not steer for the first seconds pof deployment, rather sprint on injectors.

They unfortunately don't work yet.

PS. Murgh:
I may have thought out what I did wrong in my alternative tracking AI: I forgot to renew the setDestinationToTarget, so the missile kept running rounds around the spot the target was at the time of launch.
-dumb missile indeed! I'll have them tracking in miles next!

Posted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 10:50 pm
by Murgh
;) adorably dumb.
so are you gonna make a torpedo with afterburners like Thirdeye suggests?

Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:27 am
by Odo987
thirdeye77 wrote:
Could make missiles a weapon to be feared again.
Nah, just pop the cloaking device online for half a second. The missile will lose interest and explode. Better than ECM.

Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:13 am
by Arexack_Heretic
I wonder what is causing the torpedoes to bug-out?!

Even copy-pasting a working-missile and changing the stats somewhat doesn't resolve it. :(

AIs-work.
models-work.
EQ-works.
Icon-does not show up, but works for surplus-missile.
deathactions-deleted, always causes malfunction.

Maybe a missile-type EQ needs role EQ_*_MISSILE?

The only other restriction I can imagine is a hardcoded restraint on weapon_energy or somesuch variable in the shipdata.plist.

Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 2:12 pm
by aegidian
Arexack_Heretic wrote:
Maybe a missile-type EQ needs role EQ_*_MISSILE?
Bingo.

And mines need EQ_something_MINE.

Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 3:39 pm
by Arexack_Heretic
Woot! :lol:

I feel like partying!

:D

Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 10:47 am
by Arexack_Heretic
Could the Q-bomb availability be restricted to anarchic systems somehow?

It is hard to find an anarchy with high techlevel, thus restricting availability of Q-bombs...more in line with the 'Status Quo' story.

8)

My torpedo's are not dealing damage as they should. :(
Is there an upper-limit to weapons_Energy?

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 2:38 am
by Cmdr Wyvern
I managed to make a nuclear torpedo. :) HUD icons, speed, blast, it all works perfect. Too slow and sluggish to be effective on fighters, but just quick enough and with enough bang to take out big cruisers like Anacondas with one shot, and heavily damage those Targoid heavies in Thargon Threat. (The Thargon heavies being the primary target for this ordinance.)

Currently it's set to cost 7500cr, at TL 8 and above.

Now I need to figure out to make it required for Behemoths, Thargon Threat, and Thargoid Carrier to be installed.

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 11:23 am
by Rxke
Great!

though too steep a price for my liking, heehee!

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 3:28 pm
by Dr. Nil
Cmdr Wyvern wrote:
I managed to make a nuclear torpedo. :) HUD icons, speed, blast, it all works perfect. Too slow and sluggish to be effective on fighters, but just quick enough and with enough bang to take out big cruisers like Anacondas with one shot, and heavily damage those Targoid heavies in Thargon Threat. (The Thargon heavies being the primary target for this ordinance.)
Ooh yeah. More weapons and equipment please :D

I've been thinking about more missile types too.

A Lawmaker missile which targets the worst offender within range (don't use it if it's yourself ;))

A Defender missile which targets primary aggressor against the mother (but I don't think that the player entity has the ability to be a mother and determine primary aggressor).

I did a little work on fitting some fuel lines from the pylons to allow the mounting of extra fuel pods in each pylon. Didn't work right away. I'll try to get some input on it in Expansion Packs.