Anyone here who wants to guide a total noob?

News and discussion of the PC port of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

MaxPushups
Harmless
Harmless

Anyone here who wants to guide a total noob?

Post by MaxPushups »

hi! im new to this awesome game but ive had quite a hard start getting things done, to cut to the chase i'm basically looking for someone who can basically mentor me on how to play this game properly and progress, i'm available on discord : MaxPushups#9661
Cholmondely
Archivist
Archivist
Location: The Delightful Domains of His Most Britannic Majesty (industrial? agricultural? mainly anything?)

Re: Anyone here who wants to guide a total noob?

Post by Cholmondely »

MaxPushups wrote: Sat Sep 18, 2021 3:45 pm
hi! im new to this awesome game but ive had quite a hard start getting things done, to cut to the chase i'm basically looking for someone who can basically mentor me on how to play this game properly and progress, i'm available on discord : MaxPushups#9661
Never heard of discord, sorry!

Welcome to the merry throng!

Tips:

1) Tutorial. This is good (although would be interested if you had any criticisms)
2) OoliteRS.pdf which comes as part of the game download (search for it). I printed it out when I started with Oolite a year and a half ago and found it invaluable.
3) Mr Gimlet - also part of the game download - advice for just qualified pilots!
4) Wiki help pages: docking, combat, pirates, trading etc

Why not see what you think of those, and tell us what you're trying to do and then we can come up with more suggestions.
Last edited by Cholmondely on Sat Sep 18, 2021 8:50 pm, edited 6 times in total.
Comments wanted:
Missing OXPs? What do you think is missing?
Lore: The economics of ship building How many built for Aronar?
Lore: The Space Traders Flight Training Manual: Cowell & MgRath Do you agree with Redspear?
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin

Post by Cody »

Cholmondely wrote: Sat Sep 18, 2021 7:13 pm
Never heard of discord...