Join us at the Oolite Anniversary Party -- London, 7th July 2024, 1pm
More details in this thread.

Porting to C++ Request (Please read)

Information, contacts and source code for ports to Linux, Windows, etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

CMDR_JohnJameson
Average
Average

Porting to C++ Request (Please read)

Post by CMDR_JohnJameson »

Hello! I LOVE Elite and Oolite and I am trying to learn C++ and want to make a space game like Oolite!
I am a beginner (and a kid) and know nothing about porting a game or anything.
I would like if someone can make Oolite only in C++ and make a video tutorial explaining EVERYTHING like the code so I can learn how make a space game in C++ myself and change small parts to make it my own special game! (with proper credit to Oolite) I do not plan to do anything with this program but play it on my own computer.

Sorry if I don't make any sense, I am a stup*d kid that knows nothing trying to learn how to code C++ for a good job and to impress my other space game loving friends.
If you have any questions I will try to look when I am not in class.
tsoj
Deadly
Deadly

Re: Porting to C++ Request (Please read)

Post by tsoj »

Porting Objective-C (which is the language Oolite is mainly written in) to C++ is not a trivial task. That starts with the issue that C++ has not 100% the same functionality as Objective-C.

Even if it doesn't seem like at the first glance, Oolite has quite a lot of code. So the C++ porting project would take really long (for a single person at least).

If you want to modify a C++ space game you could take a look at Pioneerspacesim. However, if you're just learning how to code in C++ I would suggest you start by writing your own projects, because understanding the code that other people wrote is arguably the hardest part of mastering a programming language.