Page 1 of 1
default planet texture resolution
Posted: Wed Sep 02, 2020 7:58 pm
by cbr
Tionisla
So the default planet texture is rendered on the fly when one exits the station or hyperjumped.
Some I like, like Lave, but for Tionisla the land edge are pixelized.
Which are mostly visible in the center, less at the edges of the planet.
Is it possible to have these default textures rendered at a higher resolution on the fly?
Re: default planet texture resolution
Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2020 1:29 am
by vaxon
Is it possible to have these default textures rendered at a higher resolution on the fly?
I don't think there is. I've tried playing with planet colors in planetinfo.plist to make such things less visible. Some planets look a bit better than others, but still not good enough. Eventually, I've switched to PovRay Planets OXP.
Re: default planet texture resolution
Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2020 8:26 am
by another_commander
The current planet texture resolution is a compromise between acceptable generation times and texture quality. When in the highest detail mode, the standard generated textures are of 2048x1024 resolution.
A core code change is the only way to increase the planet textures resolution. If you are willing to give it a try, then find src/Core/Materials/OOPlanetTextureGenerator.m and find this block starting at line 133:
Code: Select all
enum
{
kPlanetScale256x256 = 1,
kPlanetScale512x512,
kPlanetScale1024x1024,
kPlanetScale2048x2048,
kPlanetScale4096x4096,
kPlanetScaleReducedDetail = kPlanetScale512x512,
kPlanetScaleFullDetail = kPlanetScale1024x1024,
kPlanetScaleExtraDetail = kPlanetScale2048x2048
};
Then change the line that reads
Code: Select all
kPlanetScaleExtraDetail = kPlanetScale2048x2048
to
Code: Select all
kPlanetScaleExtraDetail = kPlanetScale4096x4096
This
will increase the time needed to pepare the texture. A 4096x2048 texture is four times bigger than a 2048x1024.