Join us at the Oolite Anniversary Party -- London, 7th July 2024, 1pm
More details in this thread.

Updating Thargoid gates

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

jackiebean
Dangerous
Dangerous

Updating Thargoid gates

Post by jackiebean »

OK, i know i have been guilty of thread necromancy about this before, and maybe it has not gotten noticed due to it being an older thread. I have chosen this OXP first because it is the most ready to complete. the models and textures are done, all the way. texture variants can be added later.

The issue i know will become paramount is the difference in the configuration of the new models compared to the old models. especially the alien gate. since they may have more subentities, it will be very important to have help figuring out the best way to import the new models to an older OXP template.

since i have no experience at all in editing the scripts related to such an OXP, i will probably need some intensive help getting it all tested and working.

any takers?
Rustem
Deadly
Deadly

Re: Updating Thargoid gates

Post by Rustem »

Hi, seen the code of the scripts for this OXP. I think that if you
- will replaced only the models and textures of gates (saving for gates shipdata, placement, size and orientation);
- want to save the spawning rules and behavior of the previous version;
- also the subentities do not contain active functions.

Then scripts changes are not required for new version.
montana05
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Post by montana05 »

if nobody currently maintaining this OXP a quick shipdata-overrides.plist will do. Since the code doesn't need any modifications (I certainly trust Rustem on that) only a replacement of the models and textures is required.
Scars remind us where we've been. They don't have to dictate where we're going.
jackiebean
Dangerous
Dangerous

Post by jackiebean »