Page 1 of 2
Docked HUDs OXP
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 7:41 pm
by Wildeblood
As I
described a fortnight ago, here is my Docked HUDs OXP for anyone who might be interested.
http://wiki.alioth.net/img_auth.php/7/7 ... Ds_1.1.oxz
These are scripted HUDs only for use when docked, so you need to use them judiciously:
- If you don't have any HUD OXP and only use Oolite's default HUD, they'll just work without further ado.
- If you have a completely unscripted HUD, using a customized hud.plist file, they'll just work.
- If you have a HUD file with a name other than hud.plist then it must use a script, so you'll need to do some editing...
The relevant variable is
worldScripts.Docked_HUDs.$flightHUD = "hud.plist"
and there are two plausible ways to proceed: if you want Docked HUDs OXP to do the switching (when you launch your ship and need the in-flight HUD), set the name of your HUD file:-
Code: Select all
worldScripts.Docked_HUDs.$flightHUD = "MyReallyFancyHUD.plist"
-alternatively, if you want your script to do the switching, set it empty or null:-
Code: Select all
worldScripts.Docked_HUDs.$flightHUD = ""
(That is
not reversible after the first launch, because the shipWillLaunchFromStation handler gets deleted if $flightHUD is empty.)
If you don't understand those instructions, I'm notoriously grouchy and that fellow over there looks eager to help.
Re: Docked HUDs OXP
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 11:27 pm
by Smivs
Wildeblood wrote:
If you don't understand those instructions, I'm notoriously grouchy and that fellow over there looks eager to help.
Re: Docked HUDs OXP
Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 5:25 am
by Wildeblood
Just to clarify, I consider the above instructions to be a heads-up and fair warning to the makers of HUD OXZs. I will, in due course*, add Docked HUDs to the OXZ manager and then the complaints will start to come in.
* "In due course" being a coy way of saying, "Why isn't the comm log showing up!?"
Addendum: new in version 1.1, I added eight (8) MFDs, so it doesn't switch off your MFDs and make you have to reset them after each launch, which version 1.0 was doing.
Re: Docked HUDs OXP
Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2020 9:54 am
by Cholmondely
Can anybody explain - in English - what this OXP is supposed to do?
And is it still relevant for Oolite v.1.90?
Re: Docked HUDs OXP
Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2020 10:33 am
by Reval
I used to have Docked HUD installed, but find I no longer need it with GETTER HUD, whose colour scheme is far less obtrusive than the standard one.
Essentially, Docked HUD suppresses most of the HUD's elements while docked.
Re: Docked HUDs OXP
Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2020 12:54 pm
by commander_STyx2909
And it is 1.90 compatible. I use it.
Re: Docked HUDs OXP
Posted: Fri May 28, 2021 11:34 am
by Cholmondely
Re: Docked HUDs OXP
Posted: Sun May 30, 2021 10:58 am
by Cholmondely
Warning: this OXP may interfere with other OXPs which remember your MFD choices!
Re: Docked HUDs OXP
Posted: Mon Sep 02, 2024 12:19 pm
by Wildeblood
Cholmondely wrote: ↑Sun May 30, 2021 10:58 am
Warning: this OXP may interfere with other OXPs which remember your MFD choices!
Only if you use more than eight (8) MFDs, in which case I suggest you take a good, hard look at yourself.
Oh, what the heck is this? An attachment, by Jove!
This one, Cholmondely.
Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2024 3:06 am
by Wildeblood
That-a-one. ^^^
Re: This one, Cholmondely.
Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2024 7:06 am
by Cholmondely
Got it!
Will get back to you about it.
But, vis-a-vis your comment on the MFDs above, I usually have 12.
I find the excess of information more "realistic" and thus immersive.
With my ghastly combat skills the occlusion of the panoramic view makes little difference to my game. But I am hoping that Mr Flibble's work on MQTT will allow external monitors to be used, which would be even more "realistic".
Re: This one, Cholmondely.
Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2024 2:21 pm
by MrFlibble
Cholmondely wrote: ↑Wed Nov 13, 2024 7:06 am
But, vis-a-vis your comment on the MFDs above, I usually have 12.
I find the excess of information more "realistic" and thus immersive.
With my ghastly combat skills the occlusion of the panoramic view makes little difference to my game. But I am hoping that Mr Flibble's work on MQTT will allow external monitors to be used, which would be even more "realistic".
I too wish to see ALL the MFDs. AFAIK they're not available via MQTT (yet), and I don't know of a way to get to their output via debug.
For the MQTT case, I'd hope to find a way to list MFDs via debug commands, allowing them to be selected individually or as a list/array (up to ALL) for continuous emission, rather than have them ALL constantly spewing to MQTT server where not required.
Re: This one, Cholmondely.
Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2024 5:20 pm
by hiran
MrFlibble wrote: ↑Wed Nov 13, 2024 2:21 pm
Cholmondely wrote: ↑Wed Nov 13, 2024 7:06 am
I am hoping that Mr Flibble's work on MQTT will allow external monitors to be used, which would be even more "realistic".
I too wish to see ALL the MFDs. AFAIK they're not available via MQTT (yet), and I don't know of a way to get to their output via debug.
For the MQTT case, I'd hope to find a way to list MFDs via debug commands, allowing them to be selected individually or as a list/array (up to ALL) for continuous emission, rather than have them ALL constantly spewing to MQTT server where not required.
Let's do that together. It would help if we had a list of data to be displayed, then add information how to retrieve that data.
That would be a new wiki page I presume.
And the information we need should be present in the HUD scripts, should it not?
Re: This one, Cholmondely.
Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2024 6:40 pm
by MrFlibble
hiran wrote: ↑Wed Nov 13, 2024 5:20 pm
And the information we need should be present in the HUD scripts, should it not?
I'd have thought so. That's a rabbit hole I've yet to stumble into.
My assumption is that MFD data are limited length text updates, perhaps with a fixed title, but otherwise working within a fixed number of characters, allowing scrolling or whole 'page' update.
Concept ramble follows:
Another thing which might be worth investigating is why the "Primable Equipment" MFD needs the player to toggle round all primeables to get the list. Surely there's a better way, perhaps in debug? This may be good to understand if one wanted to create e.g. a GUI panel of buttons to jump to specific primeables without having to manually add keymap stuff, and kludge any such GUI to send key events.
If such a button panel could automatically fill itself with labelled buttons for all available primeables (as I'd like an MFD panel to auto fill itself with all available MFDs at the startup), the user could mask/move them around, and subsequent loads could load any new items into the bottom of the panel for the user to juggle as they see fit.
Re: This one, Cholmondely.
Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2024 8:11 pm
by Wildeblood
Cholmondely wrote: ↑Wed Nov 13, 2024 7:06 am
But, vis-a-vis your comment on the MFDs above, I usually have 12.
You will not be receiving a Christmas card.
If you are motivated to "fix" Docked HUDs,
go into each of the HUD files (if memory serves me correctly (
) there are four, up from three in prior versions),
and add four more MFD definitions. This is a 20 second edit: look for the block of MFD definitions, highlight the central four, press copy, press paste twice, save the file. N.B.:-
1. There is no need to worry about all the MFDs overlapping on screen, they're not visible when docked, and only there to preserve the ordering for people like you who like MFDs.
2. Copy & paste in the centre of the block, not at the end, thus avoiding semi-colon related complications.
But I am hoping that Mr Flibble's work on MQTT will allow external monitors to be used, which would be even more "realistic".
I just want it to connect to the Tuya SmartLife system, and display the temperature of my real-world kettle on the Oolite HUD. Is that really too much to ask?