Page 1 of 1

I made an oopsie

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 2:49 pm
by JazHaz
Yesterday I picked up a contract to deliver firearms. I saved and launched and then wondered why I was a fugitive. Oops!

Unfortunately I've not made a backup.

I suppose I could still deliver the contract by scooping from the sun etc. But I'd rather edit my save file and get rid of the contract.

Can anyone advise me what to do?

To create backups in future I've added a copy command to my Win7 batch file, that I use to run the debug console at the same time as running Oolite. So now it'll copy all saves into a backups folder before starting Oolite.

Here's the batch file code if you're interested:

Code: Select all

copy C:\Oolite\oolite.app\oolite-saves\*.oolite-save C:\Oolite\oolite.app\oolite-saves\Backups
start C:\Oolite\oolite.app\oodebugconsole.exe
start C:\Oolite\oolite.app\oolite.exe -nosplash -fullscreen -load "c:/oolite/oolite.app/oolite-saves/Poseidon.oolite-save"
exit

Re: I made an oopsie

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 2:59 pm
by cim
If you're not too attached to your current galaxy and want an in-game solution, a galactic jump will remove the contract, and also the Fugitive status.

Otherwise, safer than editing the file would be to use the debug console. Oddly it seems to be missing from the documentation, but

Code: Select all

player.ship.removeContract("firearms",37);
should remove the contract (replace 37 with the system ID of the contract's destination) without needing to edit your savefile directly.

Re: I made an oopsie

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 6:09 pm
by JazHaz
Cool, an actual use for the debug console other than spawning ships! ;)

Re: I made an oopsie

Posted: Sat Jun 22, 2013 2:32 pm
by JazHaz
cim wrote:
Otherwise, safer than editing the file would be to use the debug console. Oddly it seems to be missing from the documentation, but

Code: Select all

player.ship.removeContract("firearms",37);
should remove the contract (replace 37 with the system ID of the contract's destination) without needing to edit your savefile directly.
I can confirm that worked.

Code: Select all

> player.ship.removeContract("firearms",244);
true
Thanks cim!