Introduce Yourself.

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

SevenT

Introduce Yourself.

Post by SevenT »

I am only new to this BB and although I have been playing Elite since its inception I found this site fairly intimidating.... It's hard to get a conversation going on with so many Ooolite experts on this board. Not that I am, for one moment, critising them... Nay I bless them for keeping the concept alive....

It's just that - maybe - you could cut some of us older "Noobs" who haven't played the game since the Beeb original - some slack....

A gentle introduction "area" or "section" might make the rest of us "lurkers" more able to come out of the Hyperspace...

An "Introduce Yourself" thread would be there for new members to tell us a little about who you are, where you are from, why you came to this forum and why you like to play Oolite.
Just a thought....

SHOULD I START OFF?

Well I guess I had better start by setting a good example....

Back in 1985 I played this stupid game called "ELITE" on my boss's BBC Micro. It was crap.

In 1989 I played "ELITE" on my CPC6128 with a RAM DELTA joystick.... It was multiple-orgasms heaven...

In 1991 I played "ELITE" on my Amiga 500+.... It was crap....

In 2003 I played some other version of "ELITE" and it was crap.

In 2006 I played "Ooolite" but it was not a "serious" version as far as I was concerned.

In 2013 I played "Oolite 1.77" and it is everything I could expect and then some more...

My first home computer was a ZX81 which I built myself.

Second was the CPC6128.

Third was the Amiga 500+

These days I build my own PCs...

Anyone else out there who is an old "ELITE" but suddenly a "Newbie" to this board?
Last edited by SevenT on Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:11 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin

Re: Introduce Yourself.

Post by Smivs »

Hi SevenT, and welcome here - I know you've already found the chatroom :wink: