Page 1 of 2

Cloaking device and Feudal States

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:54 pm
by tenorman1971
I recently downloaded the Feudal States OXP. When taking part in challenges at the Royal Hunting Lodge, hi-tec devices such as the cloaking device are disabled. Mine now appears to be permanently gone, and since I can't buy a new one, I wondered if there was any way of getting one back. Just tried installing the Cloak Repair OXP, since a few bits of kit were damaged in a particularly heavy fire-fight, but the cloak wasn't listed on them, and isn't available for repair/exchange at a TL15 planet -so I'm guessing that mine is somehow "stripped". Anyone else had this happen?

Re: Cloaking device and Feudal States

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 9:08 am
by Eric Walch
The easiest way would be to add a "asp-cloaked" to the system with the command:

Code: Select all

system.addShips("asp-cloaked", 1);
And than start searching him and start a fight.. :lol:

Re: Cloaking device and Feudal States

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:03 pm
by Malacandra
Eric Walch wrote:
The easiest way would be to add a "asp-cloaked" to the system with the command:

Code: Select all

system.addShips("asp-cloaked", 1);
And than start searching him and start a fight.. :lol:
[noob question]How do you do that?[/noob question]

Re: Cloaking device and Feudal States

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:22 pm
by Smivs
Malacandra wrote:
Eric Walch wrote:
The easiest way would be to add a "asp-cloaked" to the system with the command:

Code: Select all

system.addShips("asp-cloaked", 1);
And than start searching him and start a fight.. :lol:
[noob question]How do you do that?[/noob question]
You'll need to add a small script to your game. Copy the following code and save it as 'script.js' (without the quote marks).

Code: Select all

// Standard attributes 
this.name           = "Cloaked Asp spawning script"; 
this.author         = "Smivs"; 
this.copyright      = "This script is hereby placed in the public domain."; 
this.version        = "1.0"; 
this.description    = "Script to add a cloaked Asp near player after a jump." 



this.shipWillExitWitchspace = function() 
{
         
    system.addShips("asp-cloaked", 1, player.ship.position, 25000);
    
};
then add it to your AddOns folder. Just to be on the safe side, hold down the shift key when starting Oolite to clear the cache. Next time you jump, a cloaked Asp should appear at the edge of your scanner range.
Don't forget to remove the script once you are done :wink:

Re: Cloaking device and Feudal States

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:32 pm
by Dr.Tripsa
Malacandra wrote:
Eric Walch wrote:
The easiest way would be to add a "asp-cloaked" to the system with the command:

Code: Select all

system.addShips("asp-cloaked", 1);
And than start searching him and start a fight.. :lol:
[noob question]How do you do that?[/noob question]

Short answer:
install this oxp, when you have recovered the Cloak.. remove this oxp

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9855374/CloakAdderFix.oxp.zip

Re: Cloaking device and Feudal States

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:33 pm
by Dr.Tripsa
Ha, you beat me to it Smivs!

Re: Cloaking device and Feudal States

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 5:46 pm
by Malacandra
Thanks! (Checking my commander's savefile, I see I "completed" the Cloaking mission without knowing it :headdesk: )

Re: Cloaking device and Feudal States

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 6:20 pm
by Smivs
Malacandra wrote:
...I see I "completed" the Cloaking mission without knowing it...
Ah, this will be because you have already completed the mission (got the device before). It prevents the mission being triggered again, but should not affect your/our 'hack' to re-acquire one.

Re: Cloaking device and Feudal States

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 7:08 pm
by Eric Walch
Smivs wrote:
Malacandra wrote:
...I see I "completed" the Cloaking mission without knowing it...
Ah, this will be because you have already completed the mission (got the device before).
Not quite: "Completed" means you shot the cloaked asp and the asp dropped the cloak. It does not mean you actually scooped the cloak. :mrgreen:

Re: Cloaking device and Feudal States

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 8:11 pm
by Commander McLane
Quick-fix scripts aside, there still seems to be a bug in Feudal States OXP. It shouldn't remove the cloaking device without returning it at some point.

Re: Cloaking device and Feudal States

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 8:28 pm
by CommRLock78
Commander McLane wrote:
Quick-fix scripts aside, there still seems to be a bug in Feudal States OXP. It shouldn't remove the cloaking device without returning it at some point.
I wonder about that - it sounds as though Malacandra didn't have a cloaking device to begin with. As Eric pointed out, "completed" doesn't mean the device was actually picked up.

Re: Cloaking device and Feudal States

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 9:10 pm
by Commander McLane
CommRLock78 wrote:
Commander McLane wrote:
Quick-fix scripts aside, there still seems to be a bug in Feudal States OXP. It shouldn't remove the cloaking device without returning it at some point.
I wonder about that - it sounds as though Malacandra didn't have a cloaking device to begin with. As Eric pointed out, "completed" doesn't mean the device was actually picked up.
Perhaps not Malacandra, but the original post is not by him:
tenorman1971 wrote:
I recently downloaded the Feudal States OXP. When taking part in challenges at the Royal Hunting Lodge, hi-tec devices such as the cloaking device are disabled. Mine now appears to be permanently gone, and since I can't buy a new one, I wondered if there was any way of getting one back.
This seems to indicate that tenorman1971 did have a cloaking device before taking part in challenges at a Royal Hunting lodge, and didn't have it anymore afterwards.

Re: Cloaking device and Feudal States

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 10:11 pm
by CommRLock78
Commander McLane wrote:
This seems to indicate that tenorman1971 did have a cloaking device before taking part in challenges at a Royal Hunting lodge, and didn't have it anymore afterwards.
My apologies - I didn't realize that Malacandra wasn't the OP :).

Re: Cloaking device and Feudal States

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 10:42 pm
by Eric Walch
Commander McLane wrote:
Quick-fix scripts aside, there still seems to be a bug in Feudal States OXP. It shouldn't remove the cloaking device without returning it at some point.
The problem is that Feudal states defines a replacement equipment for the cloak and awards it to the player. But that equipment has:

Code: Select all

		<dict>
			<key>available_to_all</key>
			<false/>
		</dict>
False means not available to the player. In the past this was ignored on awarding by script. Oolite 1.77now follows the the defined limits more strict. I know, as UPS-Courier.oxp had the same bug, but that is fixed in the latest release.
So, false should be replaced by true at several places.

Re: Cloaking device and Feudal States

Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 9:51 am
by Malacandra
Yep, the OP's problem is nothing to do with me - I must have blown the original cloaked Asp out of the sky without noticing anything odd about it. The script fix has done the business; I tried the cloaked_adder OXP but, ahem, couldn't see the Adder anywhere :oops: although the message popped up to tell me it was in the system.

Next time a Commander of mine reaches galaxy 5, I'll have to keep a closer eye out for Asps that drop "unusual cargo container"s. 8)