Page 1 of 4

Third Plea For Help

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 3:07 pm
by mandoman
I'm currently running Oolite 1.75.3 for 64 bit systems, on Ubuntu 10.10. I have a dual core 64 bit system, with a 2.3 ghz processor.

I have a bit of a list of problems that are not getting resolved, even with help from knowledgeable Ooliters.

First is an old one. The game still shuts down on random missile launches. This has happened with every ship I've pilioted, not just the oxps I myself have written.

Second, I am unable to get the aft laser to position correctly on a couple of my ships. I don't mean that I can't do it, I mean that no matter what coordinates I put in, the laser always fires from the exhaust port, instead of the laser. Once again, this is a random occurrence, happening on only a couple of my ships.

Third, test scripts are not running for me. I have tried script.plists, script.js', and test_script.js', to no avail. Some of those I have tried were written slightly differently than another, but worked for someone else, and NOT for me.

PLEASE, someone help me with this, I beg you. I would offer you my first born, but I warn you, he is 16 years old, and eats food nearly faster than it can be put before him. :mrgreen:

Re: Third Plea For Help

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 3:38 pm
by RyanHoots
I'm sorry help has not come to you yet, but at least I'll try.
mandoman wrote:
Third, test scripts are not running for me. I have tried script.plists, script.js', and test_script.js', to no avail. Some of those I have tried were written slightly differently than another, but worked for someone else, and NOT for me.
Hmm... could you post a copy of your script here? I may be an idiot when it comes to JS, but I may be able to spot some of the more obvious problems.

I while back, when I was just starting my Borg OXP, I had a LOT of problems with the script. You're not alone...

Re: Third Plea For Help

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 3:54 pm
by another_commander
mandoman, does it still crash if you use the latest nightly builds?

Re: Third Plea For Help

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:11 pm
by mandoman
another_commander wrote:
mandoman, does it still crash if you use the latest nightly builds?
I've always been confused about the "nightly builds". There is a warning that they could cause problems, and I've got enough of that to solve before inviting more. Should I be on the nightly builds? I'll get right on it if you think it will help. :oops:

Re: Third Plea For Help

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:16 pm
by mandoman
RyanHoots wrote:
I'm sorry help has not come to you yet, but at least I'll try.
mandoman wrote:
Third, test scripts are not running for me. I have tried script.plists, script.js', and test_script.js', to no avail. Some of those I have tried were written slightly differently than another, but worked for someone else, and NOT for me.
Hmm... could you post a copy of your script here? I may be an idiot when it comes to JS, but I may be able to spot some of the more obvious problems.

I while back, when I was just starting my Borg OXP, I had a LOT of problems with the script. You're not alone...
Sure I can, and hopefully you will catch something.

script.plist

{
"mandoman_test_ship" = (
{
conditions = (
"status_string equal STATUS_LAUNCHING"
);
do = (
"addSystemShips: genesis 1 1.0"
);
}
);
}


test_script.js

// Standard attributes
this.name = "Genesis-test_script";
this.author = "Fatleaf";
this.copyright = "This script is hereby placed in the public domain.";
this.version = "1.0";
this.description = "Script to add a Genesis on launch."

// Configuration
this.role1 = "Genesis";
this.count1 = 1;




this.shipWillLaunchFromStation = function()
{
system.addShips(this.role1, this.count1, player.ship.position, 20000)
};




The first one I listed as "script.plist" has also been named "script.js", and put into a Scripts folder, with a "world-scripts.plist" in the Config folder. Hope you can find something. Thanks. :)

Re: Third Plea For Help

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:28 pm
by RyanHoots
mandoman wrote:

test_script.js

// Standard attributes
this.name = "Genesis-test_script";
this.author = "Fatleaf";
this.copyright = "This script is hereby placed in the public domain.";
this.version = "1.0";
this.description = "Script to add a Genesis on launch."

// Configuration
this.role1 = "Genesis";
this.count1 = 1;




this.shipWillLaunchFromStation = function()
{
system.addShips(this.role1, this.count1, player.ship.position, 20000)
};
Well, for starters, there's a missing semicolon after this.description. I modified the script to spawn a Thargoid rather than a Genesis, but even with the new semicolon the new ship would not sawn. I may need to figure out how to do a world scripts .plist file.

Here's my modified script:

Code: Select all

// Standard attributes
this.name = "Genesis-test_script";
this.author = "Fatleaf";
this.copyright = "This script is hereby placed in the public domain.";
this.version = "1.0";
this.description = "Script to add a Genesis on launch.";

// Configuration
this.role1 = "thargoid";
this.count1 = 1;




this.shipWillLaunchFromStation = function()
{
system.addShips(this.role1, this.count1, player.ship.position, 20000)
};

Re: Third Plea For Help

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:46 pm
by mandoman
RyanHoots wrote:
mandoman wrote:

test_script.js

// Standard attributes
this.name = "Genesis-test_script";
this.author = "Fatleaf";
this.copyright = "This script is hereby placed in the public domain.";
this.version = "1.0";
this.description = "Script to add a Genesis on launch."

// Configuration
this.role1 = "Genesis";
this.count1 = 1;




this.shipWillLaunchFromStation = function()
{
system.addShips(this.role1, this.count1, player.ship.position, 20000)
};
Well, for starters, there's a missing semicolon after this.description. I modified the script to spawn a Thargoid rather than a Genesis, but even with the new semicolon the new ship would not sawn. I may need to figure out how to do a world scripts .plist file.

Here's my modified script:

Code: Select all

// Standard attributes
this.name = "Genesis-test_script";
this.author = "Fatleaf";
this.copyright = "This script is hereby placed in the public domain.";
this.version = "1.0";
this.description = "Script to add a Genesis on launch.";

// Configuration
this.role1 = "thargoid";
this.count1 = 1;




this.shipWillLaunchFromStation = function()
{
system.addShips(this.role1, this.count1, player.ship.position, 20000)
};
This is all I have in a world-script.plist,
/*

Genesis-devs

*/

(



test_script.js

)

Re: Third Plea For Help

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 5:00 pm
by RyanHoots
mandoman wrote:

This is all I have in a world-script.plist,
/*

Genesis-devs

*/

(



test_script.js

)
Hmm... I'm not sure, but I suspect that the file should be called world-scripts.plist, not world-script.plist. A quick forum and wiki search gives me no insight into this. Using the above file as world-script.plist fails to spawn a 'Goid, same with world-scripts.plist. My latest.log does not include the test script in the list of world scripts.

Edit: I checked ~/GNUstep/Applications/Oolite-trunk/oolite.app/Resources, and in the Config folder is a file called world-scrips.plist. This file's syntax seems to be the same as yours, Mandoman.

Edit #2: After a closer look, and I feel stupid for not seeing this right away, the core game's world scripts file has quotes around the script names. Fixing this still fails to add your script to the list of world scrips. I'm going to try removing your comment in the script, that may be it.

Re: Third Plea For Help

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 5:21 pm
by mandoman
RyanHoots wrote:
mandoman wrote:

This is all I have in a world-script.plist,
/*

Genesis-devs

*/

(



test_script.js

)
Hmm... I'm not sure, but I suspect that the file should be called world-scripts.plist, not world-script.plist. A quick forum and wiki search gives me no insight into this. Using the above file as world-script.plist fails to spawn a 'Goid, same with world-scripts.plist. My latest.log does not include the test script in the list of world scripts.

Edit: I checked ~/GNUstep/Applications/Oolite-trunk/oolite.app/Resources, and in the Config folder is a file called world-scrips.plist. This file's syntax seems to be the same as yours, Mandoman.

Edit #2: After a closer look, and I feel stupid for not seeing this right away, the core game's world scripts file has quotes around the script names. Fixing this still fails to add your script to the list of world scrips. I'm going to try removing your comment in the script, that may be it.
Yeah, I tried the change to, after reading your post, and I took out the devs comment as well, but no changes in the game yet.

Re: Third Plea For Help

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 5:45 pm
by RyanHoots
Well, I figured it out. The script needs to be in the folder Scripts, instead of Config.
I've uploaded a copy of my test OXP to Box.com. It's all public domain, so feel free to snoop around and change what you want. by default, it adds a Thargoid warship 2km away from you, which is alarmingly close. :twisted:

http://www.box.com/s/h19quji226jhr7gfp2cr

Re: Third Plea For Help

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 5:52 pm
by mandoman
RyanHoots wrote:
Well, I figured it out. The script needs to be in the folder Scripts, instead of Config.
I've uploaded a copy of my test OXP to Box.com. It's all public domain, so feel free to snoop around and change what you want. by default, it adds a Thargoid warship 2km away from you, which is alarmingly close. :twisted:

http://www.box.com/s/h19quji226jhr7gfp2cr
I hope that works.....however, I have just discovered that the ship in question (at least the Genesis) is not being reported in Latest.log as being loaded, even though I have it in my AddOns folder. Now I'm really puzzled. I get no errors, it just isn't loading. Any thoughts on that one? :o

Re: Third Plea For Help

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 5:57 pm
by RyanHoots
mandoman wrote:
I hope that works.....however, I have just discovered that the ship in question (at least the Genesis) is not being reported in Latest.log as being loaded, even though I have it in my AddOns folder. Now I'm really puzzled. I get no errors, it just isn't loading. Any thoughts on that one? :o
I have to ask, just to make sure:
Do you have the .oxp folder in AddOns, or a folder without the .oxp extension?

If you have a .oxp folder in AddOns, are you sure that it's .oxp, not ,oxp or .ocp or anything like that?

If you're sure there are no typos in the OXP folder, try restarting, making certain to hold the shift key. I've had problems with this a lot.

If none of the above are relevant, could I please have a look at your latest.log? Even if there's nothing there, it still may shed some light on the situation.

Re: Third Plea For Help

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 6:32 pm
by mandoman
RyanHoots wrote:
mandoman wrote:
I hope that works.....however, I have just discovered that the ship in question (at least the Genesis) is not being reported in Latest.log as being loaded, even though I have it in my AddOns folder. Now I'm really puzzled. I get no errors, it just isn't loading. Any thoughts on that one? :o
I have to ask, just to make sure:
Do you have the .oxp folder in AddOns, or a folder without the .oxp extension?

If you have a .oxp folder in AddOns, are you sure that it's .oxp, not ,oxp or .ocp or anything like that?

If you're sure there are no typos in the OXP folder, try restarting, making certain to hold the shift key. I've had problems with this a lot.

If none of the above are relevant, could I please have a look at your latest.log? Even if there's nothing there, it still may shed some light on the situation.
I can't believe it. :shock:

Do you know how long it has been since I pulled that one? Good call. I'll try it now and get back to you. :oops:

Re: Third Plea For Help

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 6:44 pm
by mandoman
Well, the Genesis is now loading as a ship entity into the game, but it still doesn't appear outside the Station. This has GOT to be a problem between Ubuntu, and Oolite. :?

Re: Third Plea For Help

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 6:51 pm
by RyanHoots
Hmm... could you PM me a copy of what you have so far of your Genesis OXP? I may not be an Oolite genius, but I may be able to spot the problem. I'm using Ubuntu, also (10.10 Maverick).