Page 1 of 1

Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec

Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 8:53 pm
by RyanHoots
I would like to write an OXP that makes all main stations Dodecs. I such an OXP would involve the planetinfo.plist file, right? I think Dodecahedron stations are cooler then Coriolis or Icosahedron stations. Thanks,

Re: Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec

Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:02 pm
by DaddyHoggy
But the station types are related to Tech level, estimated trade and GDP of the planet - old Coriolis stations at the poorer smaller systems, Dodecs and Isos at the bigger, richer, more advanced systems.

Why on earth would you want bland uniformity? (Especially given how cool some of the Coriolis station textures are) - and it would also make the finale of Cataclysm stick out like a sore thumb...

And my favourite "Main Station" is the Trader Station - a downgraded (read less advertising) version of the Constore.

Re: Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec

Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:07 pm
by RyanHoots
DaddyHoggy wrote:
But the station types are related to Tech level, estimated trade and GDP of the planet - old Coriolis stations at the poorer smaller systems, Dodecs and Isos at the bigger, richer, more advanced systems.

Why on earth would you want bland uniformity? (Especially given how cool some of the Coriolis station textures are) - and it would also make the finale of Cataclysm stick out like a sore thumb...

And my favourite "Main Station" is the Trader Station - a downgraded (read less advertising) version of the Constore.
So every planet would need a high tech level. No fun. I see what you mean about bland uniformity, never thought about that.

Re: Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec

Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:10 pm
by Switeck
My favorite station is the SuperHub -- it's so large you can dock while something is coming out and not need to worry about ramming each other. You can also dock from 2 different sides.

Re: Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec

Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:13 pm
by RyanHoots
Switeck wrote:
My favorite station is the SuperHub -- it's so large you can dock while something is coming out and not need to worry about ramming each other. You can also dock from 2 different sides.
Cool!

Re: Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec

Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:17 pm
by Cody
The Torus station is pretty cool as well.

Re: Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec

Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:22 pm
by DaddyHoggy
RyanHoots wrote:
DaddyHoggy wrote:
But the station types are related to Tech level, estimated trade and GDP of the planet - old Coriolis stations at the poorer smaller systems, Dodecs and Isos at the bigger, richer, more advanced systems.

Why on earth would you want bland uniformity? (Especially given how cool some of the Coriolis station textures are) - and it would also make the finale of Cataclysm stick out like a sore thumb...

And my favourite "Main Station" is the Trader Station - a downgraded (read less advertising) version of the Constore.
So every planet would need a high tech level. No fun. I see what you mean about bland uniformity, never thought about that.
Well no, not quite, but you'd have to change the plist for every system that didn't already have a dodec as its main station. I'm sure some of the zen masters of Oolite could explain how Oolite determines which systems have which stations. I'm just saying that some things in Oolite are like they are for a reason - and knowing visually that you're docking with a rich, high tech system because it has an Iso gives me a nice immersive glow...

Re: Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec

Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:55 pm
by JensAyton
The easiest way would be a shipdata.plist along these lines:

Code: Select all

{
    // Clone dodo station with “coriolis” role.
    "ryanhoots–dodo" =
    {
        like_ship = "dodecahedron-station";
        roles = "coriolis station";
    };
}
and a shipdata-overrides.plist like this:

Code: Select all

{
    // Disable standard Coriolis.
    "coriolis-station" =
    {
        roles = "unused";
    };
}

Re: Does anyone know how to replace all stations with Dodec

Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 10:31 pm
by RyanHoots
Ahruman wrote:
The easiest way would be a shipdata.plist along these lines:

Code: Select all

{
    // Clone dodo station with “coriolis” role.
    "ryanhoots–dodo" =
    {
        like_ship = "dodecahedron-station";
        roles = "coriolis station";
    };
}
and a shipdata-overrides.plist like this:

Code: Select all

{
    // Disable standard Coriolis.
    "coriolis-station" =
    {
        roles = "unused";
    };
}
Thanks